We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but not the best”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #57 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not bad but not the best”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights for our 15th Wedding anniversary!
The staff on the door are fantastic... Whenever we needed a taxi they would run up the road and not come back without one!
Our room was a good size and bed extremely comfortable. Bathroom was awful... Every time we had a shower water went everywhere! Curtains around shower were useless! Also bedroom so hot... Window wouldn't open enough.
Also had a wakeup call at 8.30am on last morning??? Not requested by us! I think they wanted us to check out promptly!
Good location....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for writing such an honest review of your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were woken up on your final morning and please rest assured that it is definitely not the case that we want our guests to depart promptly! I was however delighted that you found the Concierge team to be so fantastic and the room so comfortable. Again please accept my apologises for the water in the bathroom and I would like to confirm that we do act on all comments made and are putting in additional seals to try and prevent this in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back next you are in London and hopefully showing you that we have addressed all the issues you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,172
    737
    166
    44
    16
See reviews for
416
1,533
163
552
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Good 4 star hotel within 10 min walk of all restaurants (famous ones are The Ivy and J Sheekey) and theatres around Covent Garden area. Only 100 yards from Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and 10 mins walk from Leicester Square tube station. Very professional experienced staff and smart modern room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMT-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the rooms and for posting such a positive review on the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a room only basis for the queens jubilee and my partners birthday. I had emailed the hotel ahead to inform them in was his birthday and had an email straight back from Michelle that they had added complimentary continental breakfast to our booking for both days!! On arrival was greeted by the concierge who were very welcoming, after a bit of confusion about payment at the reception we was shown to our room, big enough with beautiful decor and a very comfy bed!! The breakfast was buffet style with more than enough choice to satisfy everyone's needs. On the morning of my partners birthday we was greeted with a champagne breakfast complimentary of the hotel which should of cost £31 each!! This was beautiful and a wonderful gesture from them. The cleaners came to your room twice a day and changed towels both times if requested which was a lovely touch, nice to come back to the room with the curtains drawn and the dressing gowns on the bed ready for us!! Would definitely stay again and would recommend to everyone thinking of staying here!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcherry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review on the hotel and we are delighted that we could make your partner's birthday so special. It is always fabulous to hear when we meet the expectations of your guests and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Bloomsbury is in a great location, near to Covent Garden, Theatres and The British Museum. The hotel lobby is lovely, however, the rooms are small and very dark! Ladies there is not enough light in the rooms to even do your make up easily! The service in the hotel was very poor for example: there was only one dressing gown provided, yet two of us stayed in the room, our morning papers were not delivered, the hosue keeper knocked on twice prior to check out to see when we were leaving which was very rude, and the porter did not bring our bags up to the room, we had to go down and pick them up ourselves, only to arrive and they then offer to bring them up - bizarre!

When asked on check- out if everything was ok, we explained why the service was lacking , to be advised the Manager would give us a call to discuss our concerns further...still waiting for the call!

It isn't a bad hotel at all...just lots of room for improvement- especially for the price and the fact there is so much choice and you can easily stay somewhere else for the same price with better service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for posting such an honest review of your recent stay with us. Naturally we are very disappointed to read your comments regarding the Rooms team and please rest assured that we have discussed all the points raised with the team. I would also like to assure you that we are putting in additional procedures and training to ensure this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

London offers more hotel options than one can easily fathom. Everything from a budget hotel to near palaces fit, literally, for kings and queens. In between these extremes are hotels like The Bloomsbury. The service from everyone we encountered at the hotel was supurb. From the bellman to handled our extensive amount of luggage (my wife never travels lightly) from the cab to our room, to the people at the front desk who checked us in and endured our travel weary humor, to the maids who made sure our room was always clean and well appointed.

The hotel offers a very nice breakfast. It wasn't included in our room price and, if I have any complaint at all about the hotel, it would be the price of the breakfast. However, once you're eating it, the sting of the price fades away a bit. Our room was not overly large, but it was VERY comfortable.

The hotel is located in an area that is perfect for hitting nearly all of London's vast, interesting sites. We had intended on using the Underground to get around, but we found that our location allowed us to easily walk to most of what we wanted to see. We did "Tube" it to places like Tower Hill and Knightsbridge, but most everything else was a pleasant walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and we are all delighted to help make your stay so pleasant. It is always fabulous to hear when all the staff have been supurb and I am pleased that you found the hotel to be so well located and the room very comfortable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#74 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#55 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,279 - ₹ 28,903
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing