We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Luxurious Escape In London”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #54 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Luxurious Escape In London”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

London offers more hotel options than one can easily fathom. Everything from a budget hotel to near palaces fit, literally, for kings and queens. In between these extremes are hotels like The Bloomsbury. The service from everyone we encountered at the hotel was supurb. From the bellman to handled our extensive amount of luggage (my wife never travels lightly) from the cab to our room, to the people at the front desk who checked us in and endured our travel weary humor, to the maids who made sure our room was always clean and well appointed.

The hotel offers a very nice breakfast. It wasn't included in our room price and, if I have any complaint at all about the hotel, it would be the price of the breakfast. However, once you're eating it, the sting of the price fades away a bit. Our room was not overly large, but it was VERY comfortable.

The hotel is located in an area that is perfect for hitting nearly all of London's vast, interesting sites. We had intended on using the Underground to get around, but we found that our location allowed us to easily walk to most of what we wanted to see. We did "Tube" it to places like Tower Hill and Knightsbridge, but most everything else was a pleasant walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review and we are all delighted to help make your stay so pleasant. It is always fabulous to hear when all the staff have been supurb and I am pleased that you found the hotel to be so well located and the room very comfortable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,207
    740
    167
    44
    16
See reviews for
427
1,553
165
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Had a night here for a work conference and was well looked after. Room was smallish and on the back so quiet but bathroom was huge, mainly because it had disabled facilities. Shower was open to the room except for a flimsy curtain so water went everywhere but suppose this was for wheelchair users, who knows.
Free wifi, decent breakfast (extra charge) but a great location just off Tottenham Ct Road. Would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We are all delighted that you felt well looked after during your recent visit to the hotel and thank you for posting your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back should the occasion arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I quite liked the location of this hotel, the room was really nice and the reception and concierge were very good. However this hotel is really let down by the restaurant. I ate there for 5 breakfasts and two dinners and other than the pleasant Philippino waiter the rest of the staff were either rude or incompetent or both and the breakfast provided is more low rent cafeteria than 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalNomad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an honest review of your recent visit to the Bloomsbury Hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the Concierge and Reception teams to be so good but was naturally disappointed by your comments regarding the Restaurant team and the breakfast provided. I would like to assure you that we take every comment very seriously and to this end we have put additional procedures and training to improve the competency and attitude of the staff. We all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Small rooms but guess that's te ey it is in
London. Very central to lots of activities and great service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for writing such a short but sweet review. I am delighted that you received great service and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was really a surprise! A very nice hotel with excellent staff. The service is perfect and we have been so well taken care of.

Thankyou especially John, our waitor at the terass. And thankyou everybody at The Bloomsbury Hotel for making my anniversary to a day to remeber!

Room Tip: The room was small, I would have preffered to have a bigger room for the money I payed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 355Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#69 of 1,067 in London
1,488 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,460 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,393 - ₹ 30,408
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing