We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel close to theatres”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #58 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel close to theatres”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Bloomsbury is a lovely relaxing oasis of calm located just behind the dominion theatre off Tottenham Court Road. Considering the hotel is just off the main drag of the busiest shopping street in England it is very quiet and there wasn't any noise at night.

The hotel was refurbished around 4 years ago and its rooms are modern, elegant and most importantly very clean. We stayed for two nights over May bank holiday and couldn't fault the hotel or staff. We will definitely be returning as the location was brilliant and the hotel exactly to our liking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for posting such a positive review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be so quiet. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    736
    166
    44
    16
See reviews for
415
1,529
162
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location, close to bars, restaurants, theatres and within walking distance to the busy shopping area of Oxford Street.

The hotel rooms are so elegantly decorated and very clean, the bathrooms are stunning and have heated floor tiles which is a nice touch.
The beds are very comfortable and i have the best sleeps on those pillows everytime i stay here.
The walls are abit thin but not too disturbing, you will never hear the outside traffic as the windows are sound proof.
If you are booking one of the King or Queen Suites, you will not be disapointed, they are my favourite rooms in this hotel.
The bar has a really warm feel to it and having barman Malaka working there just makes your stay even more pleasant, he really makes you feel at home and will go over to everyones table to make sure they are happy with everything and see how their stay at the hotel is going (very nice man).
We had dinner in the bar and we had the most loveliest man Andrei who was looking after us, he made sure we had everything we needed and always came back to check if we were ok.
They also have a terrace where you can sit outside with the heated lamps so even when the weather is bad you can still chillout with your drinks outside. We had afternoon drinks out on the terrace and concierge Nalif was so lovely looking after us.

All in all you will have a lovely stay with excellent service, friendly staff & great food if you stay at The Bloomsbury.
Anytime i'm in town i will always stay at this hotel. Why go anywhere else when you can have all you need in one place.

Room Tip: I preferred the Queen or King Suites because the rooms are larger than the Duluxe Suite and have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on the hotel. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recommending Nalif, Malaka and Andrei. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

the hotel is in a prime spot .. 2 min walk from tottenham court road station and 10 min walk from oxford street....the room we stayed in was king deluxe which is the room that anyone should take .. the standard room is very small .. gets u claustrophobic and has no view ... bathroom floors were surprisingly heated...room was posh and the bathroom too ..

had continental breakfast but the variety was very pooor .. all meat available was pork or ham, which didnt leave much option for muslims..croissant and cereal and that was it .. poached eggs as welll .. when asked for omlette or scrambled we were asked to pay 5 pounds additional which is a pretty hefty amount for eggs!! had to make a fuss to not pay those additional pounds considering the lack of variety !!

Room Tip: room 624 is one of the best and looks at the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoLiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed staying in Room 624 - one of my favourite rooms - but I would like to apologise for the lack of choice you found on the Breakfast Buffet. I would also like assure you that we are addressing this and have this week been working with the Chef to ensure that we increase the selection of non-pork options and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We all hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great location - right by Tottenham Court Road tube station and the vibrant Charlotte Street area and Bloomsbury.

Sleep quality - the bed was firm and nice and there was no noise from the outside (road traffic, delivery etc), but the walls seem paper thin and I could hear the TV from the adjacent room and people coming and going in the corridor.

Room - while the room was small, it was well laid out, nicely decorated and had everything I needed (ironing board, hairdryer, kettle).

Service - while the fron desk staff were polite and efficient, no one except Jeni (?) went the extra mile, engaged in small talk, smiled at you, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMHDumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for posting such an honest review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found the room to hold everything you needed and that Jenny was able to go that extra mile. I would like to assure that you take we every comment very seriously and we have been working with the Front Desk staff to ensure that they all go that extra mile from now on. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the Bloomsbury for 6 nights and were fully satisfied with the hotel. It is a wonderful location - very close to the Tottenham Court tube station, and with the British Museum just up the street, and as other reviews have noted, in walking distance of many neighborhoods. The lobby and common areas were elegantly furnished, yet warm and comfortable, and kept immaculate. The room is very nice - not a whit of tacky hotel feeling. And the staff was friendly and helpful. We were really quite impressed.

Room Tip: Our room faced the interior courtyard so there was not much of a view. A street view would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for posting such a fabulous review and I am so pleased that you were really quite impressed with the hotel and the staff. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#31 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#55 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#56 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,674 - ₹ 28,632
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing