We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and area”
Review of Morgan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan Hotel
Ranked #113 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Arrived at the hotel to be upgraded to an apartment just along from the hotel. Beautiful rooms good temperature (it was bitter outside) and all we needed.
Comfortable bed and even at the front by the road I heard nothing.
Only gripe for me was breakfast. Poor service to start with (I think staff were still arriving) and quality of bread very average. shame as this is a great place to stay for trips to the Capitol and breakfast is inclusive.
On leaving the staff helped with our bags a really helpful service.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an apartment so can't comment on others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joolsps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

I guess it's fair to say that whenever you stay at a hotel in a major city anywhere in the world you know what you are going to get - small rooms for big prices. The Morgan Hotel is no exception.
Our room was decidedly on the small side and although it was adequate for a night or two I certainly wouldn't have wanted to stay there any longer and I'm not sure how we would have managed if we'd had a couple of large suitcases with us. That said, the bed was comfy enough, the shower worked well and the bathroom area was of a decent size and clean and tidy. Tea and coffee was provided and there was a safe in the room which is always a bonus point as far as I am concerned. The room was a little old-fashioned and could certainly have done with a bit of a spruce up to bring it up to a decent standard. I have to say that we did find the temperature in the room on the cold side and although we set the air-conditioning to a high setting to try to warm the room up it just blasted out cold air - not what you want on a November night with temperatures near freezing.
Breakfast was adequate but rather lacking in choice but at least it was provided unlike a lot of hotels in this area. Mind you, there are cafes and restaurants everywhere so if you had to eat out it wouldn't be a problem.
Staff appeared to be friendly and helpful although, in honesty, we had little contact with them apart from checking in and out.
The hotel is in a convenient location with the Shaftesbury Theatre being only a few minutes walk away and the British Museum directly behind the premises.
As others have attested, this is not a mobility-friendly hotel and steps are unavoidable and the narrow corridors makes access difficult for less abled persons.
To summarize, we would possibly stay here again but would definitely look at the options of other hotels first.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Had tickets for a musical and booked to stay here overnight.
We were staying in room 215 on the top floor. The room, for the price, was an adequate size. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. That was the positives, the downside was the climb up the seemingly endless stairs as there are no lifts so not for the fainthearted!!

The check in is down a narrow staircase and the area is rather small, The chap booking us in was very cheerful and welcoming and offered to carry up our bags to our room for us.

The hotel turned out to be in a very good location with theatres, Chinatown, soho, Leicester Square etc all within easy walking distance.

Breakfast was back downstairs next to the check in area, the dining area is what it is. It was a bit dated and, with no windows, a bit claustrophobic. We had to wait a long time for breakfast and it would be a good idea not to go to breakfast hungry.

All in all, breakfast aside, ok for the price

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alabaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Location is fantastic, next to British Museum, easy access to the Underground, and walkable to the West End. Good breakfast. Rooms small but functional. Not the prettiest decor. Thin walls - could actually hear neighbors snoring. Little steps everywhere, so not for mobility impaired. Great value for London, though; will return.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank thehebrewhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Excellent hotel with all the essentials. Clean and perfect for my needs. As a single traveller I booked a double room and appreciated the space. Room was a reasonable size for a London hotel.

Storage space was good and the safe in my room provided additional security. No bath, but the shower room was practical and sufficient.

The building is Georgian and comes with some problems, although the proprietors had done their best to address them. The windows had sash cords and could not be opened. However, the AC was appreciated on a hot summer's day. There is secondary glazing, which helped to keep the noise down. The carpets were in good condition and counteracted and softened the noise from those in adjacent rooms. My main concern was the creaky/squeaky floorboards. Where ever I the walked in my room I was convinced that I was disturbing other residents, but nobody complained.

The breakfast was good, although the choice was limited. Nevertheless, I did enjoy them and the portions were more than adequate for me.

This hotel is in a very central location. Tottenham Court Road, Holborn and Russell Square tube stations are near by. In fact, Tottenham Court Road is only a 5 mins walk. All amenities are close by: post office, hospital, chemist, bus routes, supermarket, and bank. The hotel is at the top of Oxford Street and Covent Garden is near by. Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Carnaby Street, Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus, Soho, and the Strand are nearby. The hotel could not be better placed. My bedroom overlooked the back of the British Museum.

Thank you to the Morgan Hotel proprietor's and staff for a lovely stay. I will be back.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs, then this is not the Hotel for you, as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#80 of 1,081 in London
1,847 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#542 of 1,081 in London
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#136 of 1,081 in London
1,300 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,081 in London
1,781 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#19 of 580 in London
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan Hotel

Address: 24 Bloomsbury Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 3QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,744 - ₹ 19,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morgan Hotel is family owned and has been run by the Ward family since 1978. It has recently been tastefully refurbished to the highest standards. It is superbly located in the heart of London and is only a few minutes walk from the British Museum, West End Shopping, Theatres and Restaurants. The tastefully decorated rooms are all air-conditioned and all offer new en suite facilities, Colour TV with CNN, Personal Room Safes, Direct dial telephones with modem point.All our rooms have voicemail, so messages can be left for you while you are out enjoying the local sights. Please note that we do not have a lift, so our rooms may not be appropriate for those who require wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing