We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Muswell Hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #8 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just got back from a week's stay at this fantastic property in Muswell Hill. We rented both rooms, each of which was clean, spacious, comfortable, and equipped with a flat-screen TV and generous closet and shelf space. The bathroom was large, clean, and equipped with instant and infinite hot water (tankless). Breakfasts were hearty and offered a variety of fresh fruit, pastries, tea/coffee, and eggs to order. A highlight of this property was having a dining area to ourselves, and one kept furnished with tea, biscuits, and a fridge at all hours. The property is a five-minute bus ride to the Bounds Green tube station, and within walking distance of two great pubs (Maid of Muswell and O'Neill's), a late-night Chinese carry-out shop, and a convenience store. There are also grocery stores (M&S, Sainsbury's), a fish and chip shop, and ATMs within a five- to ten-minute walk. John and Norma were very friendly and always quick to assist with sightseeing tips and maps. I would strongly recommend using the Oyster Cards you can find in the rooms, as they allow for almost a half-price fare compared to cash prices for the tube and bus.This is a great property for families, couples, or anyone wanting to come home and relax at the end of a sightseeing day in London. We were so impressed we told John and Norma to keep our deposit and book a reservation for a return in the fall. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ELPPsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 175 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

I spent 4 lovely nights at John and Norma's homestay B&B.What can I say? The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellend! I wish they had lunchs and dinners as well! All in all, the place is clean, beautiful... Just perfect! The price is quite reasonable so I'm sure I'll come back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Best place to stay in London! This was one of the least expensive places to stay, and by far the most comfortable. If you want to feel like you're at home away from home, book a room here today. John and Norma are extremely friendly and thoughtful. The location is north of central London, but a short tube ride from central London and close to the tube station. Look no further, there's no reason to stay anywhere else. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Explr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our review title says it all really. What an absolutely fantastic short break staying with John and Norma.

We knew we were onto a good thing when John offered to pick us up from Highgate tube...how many other hoteliers or B&B owners would even consider that as a courtesy? Handshakes shared and smiles all round, we journeyed the short drive to their gorgeous house where we were greeted by Norma and offered a welcoming cup of tea and shown to our room.

We entered the (very large) bedroom and honestly?...Wow. Lovely wooden flooring, so, so comfy bed (so comfy we enquired as to where we could buy one on our return to Lancaster!), flat screen tv with digibox, gorgeously decorated with enough built in cupboard space to fill 20 times more than we could, PLUS lots of hangers too.

Next door to our bedroom was the lovely large bathroom, spotlessly clean like the bedroom, with cast iron bath, shower, sink and loo. You can always tell how good somewhere is by the cleanliness of the bathroom...and the make of the loo roll. Let's just say it was 'strong and very, very long'.

Once we unpacked, we went to have a brew with our hosts and were shown the breakfast room. Beautifully appointed and homely. Over a jolly decent cup of tea (definitely not 27p for 80 teabags from Morrison's) we had an enjoyable natter with John and Norma who gave us plenty of info on the 'what's, where's, who's and why's' of the area and they offered us the use of their Oyster cards.

We then said our farewells and ventured out on our first day out in London.

We returned, exhausted about midnight, fell into bed and slept like babies until morning time.

When we came downstairs for breakfast and entered the breakfast room we couldn't believe the amount of gorgeous looking food on the table. There was melon, strawberries, bananas, grapes, yoghurts, six types of cheese, various crackers, fresh warm bread rolls and croissants, orange juice, pineapple juice, a big pot of tea, various jams, marmalades and spreads, cereals, baby plum tomatoes and cucumber.

Now this is where things happened that will stay with us forever and just goes to show what marvellous hosts John and Norma are...we had casually mentioned on arrival during our natter that we liked scrambled eggs with spring onion and fresh smoked salmon, so imagine our surprise when exactly that was served to us on top of the feast already laid out before us? We ate like kings and were so full that even after a day and night walking all over London we didn't eat again until nearly midnight!!!

After our second night of restfull sleep we came down to breakfast again to be greeted to more of the feast plus the added lovely touch of some illuminated hearts and a handmade heart with 'Happy Anniversary' on made by Norma. How fantastic?

Unfortunately our stay with this lovely couple was short and sweet. They have a truly gorgeous house, a positive attitude to life, the universe and everything and we cannot wait to repay them a visit in the not too distant future.

Once in a while you meet people that you instantly know are going to be part of your life...we KNOW that whenever we visit London in the future, John and Norma's Homestay B&B will be number one on our 'places to stay' list.

Daz and Mel Thompson
Lancaster
Lancashire
dazcthompson@hotmail.co.uk

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Daz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is by far the best B&B I have stayed in over the years. John&Norma are real people persons and they will do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast fantastic, rooms and bathroom spacious and very clean. Location is very good in a quiet neighbourhood, convenient communication to city centre, 5 min on the bus and 30 min on the tube.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ABRCork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 571 in London
171 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 571 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 571 in London
709 reviews
The Lilac Door
#10 of 571 in London
197 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#13 of 571 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: ₹ 4,579 - ₹ 9,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing