We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #291 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We stayed at the Melia Whitehouse for our anniversary on 19/20th August and can't fault the hotel, we had noted on our booking that it was a special occasion and can honestly say the hotel made it even better for us, we were allowed to check in early, we were upgraded to a superior room and all the staff from the check in staff to the cleaning staff were courteous and pleasant.
Facilities and location were excellent, the selection at breakfast great, they were very busy on our first day for breakfast but rather than allow anyone to wait they redirected us to the Royal Lounge to prevent queuing.
In all we can't wait to return and I hope to take my Mum for her birthday later in the year.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank helen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,601 - 3,605 of 7,080 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2007

The check in service was great, very efficient and they allowed us to check in earlier than the standard 3pm time. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

The location was ideal for access to Regents Park and for visiting London Zoo.

Came in late after a concert, made the mistake of ordering a couple of drinks without checking the prices first - moral of the story is check the prices first as the bar is extortionate. The bar staff were also considerably more surly than the staff at the front desk...!

On the whole, a very good experience - would recommend this hotel based both on location (tube station is a minute's walk away and Regent's Park just around the corner) and also comfort and hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

This hotel exceeded all our expectations. The accomodation was excellent, very comfortable beds and every amenity you could wish for. The cleanliness and order of the room was excellent.
The staff are courteous and helpful .
We took Royal Service when booking which was well worth the extra cost. The Royal Service lounge is an ideal place to relax and drinks are available all day. In the evening canapes and alcoholic drinks are on offer. Breakfast was wonderful, everything you can think of, well presented and always replenished on time.
Would strongly recommend this hotel for quality, price and location. Will be looking no further than the Melia next time we go to London.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We decided to have a weekend break to pamper ourselves from work stress and tension. We decided to choose this hotel based on its very good price value. We book directly from hotel's website a superior deluxe room with a £140 per room per nite including breakfast

The room is marvelous! It has a huge bed - a king bed with a very stylish and classy deco. Very comfortable. Tv cabinet with refrigrator and mini bar, coffee & tea facility. Large in size and all marble bedroom. Iron and ironing board, safe box. Internet access, a coffee table and 2 chair for tea. Beautiful bathroom with decent size, bath with great shower, all over tiles

The breakfast is the best breakfast we've ever seen in any hotels in Europe! It has everyhting....from pancakes to waffles to all kind of muffins, danish and bread, cook from order omelletes and full english breakfast with all kind of sausages!!

The lobby is very stylish, all marble and very posh in decoration

It just 4 stop tube from victoria station if you stop in warren street tube station via victoria line and walk just 10 mins to the hotel. The hotel is just opposite the great portland street tube station

To be perfectly honest, this hotel is much better quality from Marriot Park Lane, London

I would definitely stay here again - with the room price, it is definitely very good value! But if you hate the classic deco and prefer modern, simplistic deco - this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed at the Melia White House for 9 nights in July. We had requested a Queen bed, but forgotten to mention that we'd do a late check-in. When we arrived, the friendly receptionist asked if we wanted an upgrade. We decided not to have it, as it cost £25 per night, and we were staying for so many nights. I think they had hoped we'd agree to upgrade, as there wasn't any rooms with Queen beds left for us! It was the only thing we requested, but they still couldn't fulfil it. We gave the receptionist a disappointed glance and agreed to take a twin room for our first night, and then switch to a room with a queen bed the next day. So we got our key cards, and went to find our room.

When we arrived at the room, we heard the phone ringing inside. We didn't open the door quick enough to answer it, but then someone knocked at the door. It was the receptionist, and she appologized for the inconvenience, but one of the other receptionists had checked in a family who were to have two rooms, and only marked one room in their database. So, as they'd messed up twice, we got an upgrade for free. Yey! So we were a lot happier.

The room we got had a huge bed, quite a lot of space and was nicely decorated. There was a small cupboard with mirrors. The bath room wasn't huge, but still a good size. There was a glass door over the bathtub, so no water on the floor after showers. It was a bit dark though, but not too bad. Had one robe and one pair of slippers, but didn't use it so no problems there.

The only problem with our room was the air conditioning. It was either too cold or too warm. If we left it at 22 C, it felt as if it varied between 17C and 25C. When we wanted it a bit more than the freezing 17C, warm air came out of the vents almost at ceiling level. So that meant having a room where the top half was too warm, and the bottom half too cold... Not too happy about that.

Our feelings for the staff were mixed. The waiters at the cafe styled restaurant were very friendly. The receptionists, concierges and bell hops were sometimes a bit cold and not very service minded. The maids forgot to replace the face cloths in the bathroom, but when I happened to mention it to the Maid manager one day, she made sure I had all the face cloths I wanted.

People staying at this hotel should be aware of two things: The mini bar is weight sensitive, and will report that things have been removed just because you moved the bottles around. You need to pay £5 per night to use the mini bar! Also, there's a construction site very close by, and it didn't look as if it was to be finished in 2007. It's quite noisy!

So the hotel was good, but there were some catches.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank Kirikiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,358 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,437 - ₹ 24,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing