We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tiny rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia White House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Melia White House
Ranked #285 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“tiny rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The room were so small that we had to stack our luggage and put it on the bed to get something out of it. The luggage scale was broken, so we had to weigh and arrange our baggage at the airport. The rooms were clean and well appointed, just very small.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments.
We are sorry to hear that you weren't too happy with your room size. We do always provide our guests with the possibility of upgrading to a superior or executive room which are bigger and allow you to have extra advantages. This is all for a small extra charge.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to provide you with this service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    2,296
    803
    358
    217
See reviews for
1,418
2,180
275
1,487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted with a warm welcome. I checked in and was shown to a room the size of a match box.My wife put her bag on the floor and I put mine on the desk.Not a single drawer in the room to put a stitch of clothing except two shelves in the cupboard. The room was so small there wasn't even a safe in the room. After the first night I complained to the front desk about the plastic liner on the mattress and how my wife had broken out in a rash from head to tow.They agreed to move us to another room which was an upgrade in size large enough to have a few drawers and an in cupboard safe.However this time the problem was the AC Both on the first night and again on the second the AC broke On the second night it happened at 11 at night we had to bet a technician in the room.
The best was yet to come. Upon check out I was given a bill that was approximately 130 .pounds more then expected and they all referred to phone calls. I explained to the front desk attendant it wasn't possible as I made only 3 local calls and the rest were with a international calling card.I asked to see an itemized printout of all the calls He immediately gave me one however it was not correct. I explained again I wanted to see the exact dialed numbers.The attendant tried for a number of minutres on his own to retrieve the printout and then went behind the desk to speak to senior management.A gentleman claiming to be a manager came out and 15 minutes later finally got the correct printout.(now the best). I again explained now to the manager all charges except for three were all placed on a calling card. He then explained to me that thevhotel charged a by the minute charge forvusing a calling card. I question the chargecard hevtold me the information could be found in a black book in the desk drawer. I tod him he must be joking.....You expect guests to search a book for long distance rates how absurd. Not only a rp off that a hotel charges a by the minute service charge but also does not expose the rates where they are visable to guests.A plain tent card like
99% of other hotels do.No longer was this person a
Gentleman but rather rude individual who couldn't of cared les about my opinion. I saw that it was like talking to the wall and it was either keep arguing and miss my flight or pack up and call it quits. Having travelled internationally for over 25 years. I have never seen where the rates are not in direct eyesight within the room not hidden in a drawer. I left with a very bad taste knowing that I was ripped off. Thank the stars for one Roman the concierge one of the best I have ever come across other then that the management acted like they were running five an dime store and not part of a well respected Joel chain

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMarcus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are sincerely sorry to see that we haven’t been able to satisfy your expectations. Kindly be informed that in all rooms a full information hotel directory is available to all clients. As well be ensured that the hotel members’ intention is always to fully assist our guests, so please accept our apologies if this is not the impression you perceived. Our guests’ satisfaction is a priority for us and we hope to have a future occasion to welcome you back and provide you with our best service, if you are willing to reconsider the Melia White House for your next stay in London. Once more thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Its hard to find anything bad to say about this hotel. We have stayed here on numerous occasions and have yet to find anything to complain about. If in London it's a must stay hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your great comments and for the loyalty you have been showing towards the Melia White House.
We hope during your future stays we will be able to exceed your expectations further.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked this hotel months ago a friend of mine had stayed here, we came for the Bruce Springsteen concert which is why we booked early Hard Rock Calling was on all weekend.We had a fantastic weekend and couldn't fault with the hotel we had breakfast which was included and had an upgrade because of the price difference of when we booked and the price it was when we went which was heavily discounted. Can't fault the rooms the staff were all so friendly and a very good location with access to two tube stations within minutes walk would certainly stay here again. Magdalena in reservations was most helpful.

Room Tip: We had a high floor and overlooked the front wouldn't recommend the rooms at the front was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanna1857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are glad we were able to satisfy all your expectations regarding the room, the breakfast and especially our staff as that is our key element.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future for whatever event might bring you to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed here over 3 nights last weekend. No complaints as all of the staff try very hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Hotel is very close to underground station and also the lovely Regents Park.
Free tapas / drinks after 6.00pm in Level lounge - not bad for Central London ( assuming you've paid for correct category of room ?)
Very Spanish theme throughout hotel as you'd expect with owners ( Melia hotels are very good and can be found in many lovely locations )
Food was good quality and room was very spacious and had AC as well
Close to Oxford St and Regents St if you want to shop.


Would I go back next time I'm in London ? Yes I would

Room Tip: Ask for Junior Suite or upgrade at reasonable price at check in No issues with noise from street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paddydhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your lovely comments.
As you have mentioned, we do recommend booking rooms with Level lounge access as this provides you with further dedicated service as well as a great choice of food and drinks throughout the day.
We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed this service and your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,201 - ₹ 22,605
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Melia Hotels APAC so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing