We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and tidy hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #284 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very clean and tidy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked one night in the classic double room and at the last minute extended our booking to two nights before we arrived.. Reception staff were very accommodating and found a room we could stay in for the two nights without having to move rooms. We had a free upgrade to a superior room for the first night and paid the extra for the upgrade for the second night. The Room was quite spacious although we thought the bathroom was very small for a 'superior' room. On arrival the room only had towels for a single occupancy - however, we saw a member of staff in the corridor and requested more towels and they arrived without delay. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quite quiet for central London. At breakfast there is a huge array of choice in buffet style and the staff were pleasant and efficient.
Overall a pleasant stay and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JATOxfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,622
    2,298
    804
    358
    217
See reviews for
1,419
2,181
275
1,487
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Melia White House hotel in February last year.

The location of the hotel is absolutely excellent, within walking distance of Regents Park, London Zoo, Oxford St etc and only minutes from various tube stations taking you elsewhere in London.

The rooms are quite small but it didnt bother us at all, still very comfortable and clean.

Excellent service, all staff very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my Son. The hospitality offered by the team was excellent. Reception was very warm and welcoming towards my Son, who is 13 and was made to feel very special. The room was spacious and comfortable with twin beds. Breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice and attentive staff, the scrambled egg is delicious. We upgraded to a Superior room as the trip was a birthday treat to see We will rock you at the Dominion. The Tube is Great Portland Street which is across the road and Oxford Street is 5 minutes away. No criticism of this hotel at all. The Spanish offer hospitality on a different level and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcoldbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We booked this hotel through last minute, it was one of their secret hotels so we didnt know what we were getting, but just wanted a good value centrally located hotel. We paid approx £110 for a classic double room. On arrival we were met by a very efficient and friendly receptionist who offered an upgraded room for approx £27 plus vat. He advised that the superior room was larger but we weren't too fussed as didn't intend to spend much time in the room so politely declined. The hotel's reception was clean, modern and smart. On arrival at the room on the 1st floor we saw what they meant in regards to the space of the room. The room was tiny! You could almost touch either side of the room with arms outstretched but asides from this, which is expected in central london hotels, the room was smart, clean and modern and had all the expected facilities, as did the bathroom. Unfortunately you could quite clearly here people in adjoining rooms.

In all, if we were paying a similar price we would stay here again as the hotel is in a good location and was good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed in their Master Suite which is second biggest. I have only seen the biggest suite (Presidential Suite) on pictures, but I think the Master Suite is better.
Upon arrival you are entitled to use the "Level" service with a private check in, exclusive lounge and a butler. Staff is very helpful and quick.

It is very spacious with a huge living room which sports a big dining table, a large couch(convertible to a bed) along with a few lounge chairs and a work desk. The master bedroom, separated by sliding doors, has an en suite bathroom with luxury applications.
The suite is designed in golden and red colours.

I recommend to get a driver or cab to around town because the tube station is a bit far away.

I through a little party after midnight and had around 10 people in the room with which the staff was ok with. :-)

Room Tip: Go for the big suits, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigD314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Property: Melia White House
Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
#225 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,038 - ₹ 22,442
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Melia Hotels APAC and Agoda so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing