We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
315
392
236
148
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
392
236
148
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queens gate the royal albert hall natural history museum gloucester road hyde park room wasn't ready location is excellent piccadilly line easy access tube station quiet room rooms are small west end kensington concierge harrods chelsea
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I stay in a few hotels in and around the area when travelling on business and this hotel was perfect. First time I have stayed here and first impressions were excellent. From check in to check out staff were amazing. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 286jonestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Hotel in need of upgrade of basics such as windows ( so the traffic does not feel like it is driving through your room) and removal of cobwebs and resident spiders. The bathrooms need upgrading to remove dilapidated fittings and stained shower curtains (though they did find the money to install a nasty mosaic on the wall). Priorities all wrong in this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank suzanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragos-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear suzanne f,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the condition of your guest room. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. We are taking your comments into consideration as we take the steps necessary to make it right for you and our future guests. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to our area.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

I loved the area of the hotel but not sure I would stay here again. We had to ask for towels every single night of our stay because they didn’t leave any when they cleaned our room. Rooms were also VERY small, even for European standards. They did nothing to try to accommodate and early check in.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank mms83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear mms83,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems as this is not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention so we could help make it right. We have discussed this with our staff, and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards.

We are also sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the size of your room: being located in a very busy area we try our best to accommodate a great number of guests without scarifying the space too much.

We hope you will give us a second chance to offer a much better first impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Just because you get the cookie does not make up for this hotel being in places under the usual Hilton standard. Bathrooms are nice with lovely Crabtree toiletries but the rest of the room I stayed in on the first floor had some serious issues. One of the window hinges was missing so the window had a half cm gap to the outside world. Blessing in disguise as the airconditioning was broken. Unfortunately the front of the hotel is covered in scaffolding and I did not sleep a wink worried someone would climb up it and push my not secure window in. Talking about sleep.. The queen size mattress is past it's best or has had a very hefty person sleeping on it for days as there was a distinct dip on the right hand side. After explaining the room issues the next morning I was moved to a bigger queen size room on the 4th floor and it was much better. Location is perfect, can be a bit noisy at night but this is central London so there will be traffic and sirens ..just bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Breakfast for London standards was very good value. Not huge choice but I did not expect that for 12.95 . Staff is helpful and friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank LadyC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragos-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear LadyC77,

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the malfunctioning A/C. We’ve reported the problem to our maintenance team. We appreciate the opportunity to help make it right and address the issues with the room amenities.

We see that noise was also an issue during your stay. While we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods, we also encourage guests to contact the front office so that we can make it right as we emphasize comfort and safety on our property.

We are however, happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and found our staff the be attentive to your needs. We hope that the next time you return to the area, you’ll stay with us again.










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

This hotel is worth staying away from. Small rooms, long maze-like corridors and small problems with room. My room did not have a proper window, the views where blocked by construction apparently. The TV and aircon did not work properly and there where cigarette stains on the drapes not to mention that the toilet seat was broken. I would avoid this hotel if I could. The breakfast area is also small although currently undergoing renovation for expansion. The staff however are extremely friendly and location couldn't be better.

During one night the corridor next to the room flooded due to the rain and there was an awful moldy smell the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikkomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragos-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear mikkomax,

We’re very sorry we didn’t provide you with the high quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the malfunctioning TV and A/C and also for the cleanliness oversight. We’ve reported the issues to our maintenance and housekeeping teams. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We are however happy that you enjoyed the hotel's location and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive. We appreciate the opportunity to help make it right and address the issues with the room amenities. We hope you’ll consider giving us a second chance if you return to the area.













Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews