We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Brilliant cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Cafe

Regency Cafe
Ranked #58 of 21,593 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Westminster
Essex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This place is the way all cafes should be. A popular lunch spot for both office workers and local residents with an atmosphere like no other.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarrenandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    147
    28
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

When I worked in the area, I can honestly say I visited once a month. Good food, busy at lunchtime, you would have to queue. I used to always have the bacon arrabiata, colleagues more r less had everything going on the menu. I do miss the place. Visit if you can, they holler out your order, I don't think you'll miss it, those small people have the loudest voices "BACON ARRABATAAAAA"

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love love love it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

As someone who works in the area, it's easy to get bored of what's on offer for lunch from the various cafes and sandwich shops. However I've never tired of the Regency. It's famous around the area having been in the film Layer Cake, but also famous for having amazing food, fast service and great prices. Plus with the added entertainment of the LOUD shouts to collect your food!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kernow_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cannot find fault!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

What the majority of comments that are made on this establishment are correct!
spotless, well run and managed, fast service, value for money, staff on the ball, a breakfast as it should be, I have no doubt the other meals are as good.
Proves if you look in the right place you can still get a satisfying meal without spending a fortune!
We will of course be going back when next in town.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was looking for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

When I studied in Brighton for a few months (I live in Amsterdam) there was this little place where I used to have breakfast: glass of milk for 50p, tea for 30p, shouting waitress, cantina-style kinda place. Bad coffee.
Loved it. Yes it was [--], from a culinary perspective, but I loved it. It was honest, authentic British.

So now I went to London, looking for exactly that. And I found it in the Regency Cafe. It is fast, and exactly how a British breakfast should be. The cooks work at the speed of light and the lady who takes your order and shouts out what can be collected is great entertainment. Service is actually very friendly, right down to the guy who collects dirty dishes. The place is clean by the way, but I wonder if they have toilets... you're in for about 30 min tops. Eat and leave, that's the idea. And reasonably prices of course. For 7 pounds, you'll be stuffed incl. drinks.

Tips:
Don't sit down and then order, but order first and than pick a table. That is a rule.
Try the bread and butter pudding if it's served.
Don't be alarmed by a long line, they work really fast and you'll have your food in no time.
It's about a 5 min. walk from the metro station, which is great because you'll feel slightly sick afterwards for eating so much (especially when you had a full breakfast and pudding with custard, like me... )

And if you can't have fun being in the kind of place where no-one walkes you to your table or takes your coat, don't go there. This is not a restaurant like that.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samm020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Regency Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Regency Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing