We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a few beers”
Review of Princess of Wales

Princess of Wales
Ranked #11,470 of 25,273 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 21
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Blackheath's most scrumptious pub.As you'll see in our commemorative snug, The Princess Of Wales has long been associated with the egg-shaped ball. As well as being linked to the Blackheath Rugby Club, the oldest in the world, the pub served as a changing room during the first ever international between England and Wales, which was played on the heath. Today we're better known for our great location and a pub food and drinks range that would satisfy any strapping prop forward.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I stopped in with my wife for a couple of drinks on a sunny Friday afternoon, this has surely one of the best views from a pub bench you could want, super friendly staff, great selection of drinks and a really inviting setting, can't wait for my next visit.

Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Princess of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dean T, we are so glad that you had such a wondeful time here at the Princess, we strive to ensure 100% satisfaction and it is gratifying to hear such a glowing review. Thank you once again for leaving a review, we hope it wont be too long before we see you here at the Princess again! Take care!

The Princess Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

I have been coming to this pub irregularly for about 5 years. I have enjoyed every visit. The staff are young but friendly. Food is good but best arrive early on a Sunday as popular items do seem to go quickly. Children of all ages are welcome which could put some people off and dogs are also welcome - something I appreciate as a dog lover. A good choice of beers on tap and guest ales too and in winter a warm fire is always welcoming. The beer garden is a great attraction in the summer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 303gilesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Princess of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi 303gilesr, thank you for your kind words and detailed review, any feedback from guests is greatly apprectiated, and will be passed onto the team. We always strive for guest satisfaction and the fact that you have had such a wonderful expereince makes us so happy! We look forward to seeing you here at the Princess again soon! Take care!

The Princess Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Have been here couple of times the last few months and it being rubbish was an understatement - half of food unavailable with long waits, rude and miserable staff, dead plants, everything messy, broken or dirty.
Got dragged here by my boss this week (didn't want to go but kinda had to) -and glad I did - I'm told the old manager is back and the place is definitely on the fix, looks and feels better and has the soul/vibe it previously lost.
Hoping it continues and I enjoy it as much next time I return

Thank noskcaj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Princess of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

So sorry to hear about your previous experience! But glad to know that we have improved :)
Our old GM is back now and so we hope to live up to everyone's expectations.
Hope to see you down at the Princess soon so we can show you our continuous improvements!

Kind Regards, The Princess Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

arrived sunday 25th at 1330 for a sunday lunch for 7 people luckily booked a table, went to order the food no beef left, and only 3 chicken at half past one run out of food cant believe it surely if its a busy pub they should order more meat in , they should know from previous days what to order in,,, so ordered fish and chips well it was disgusting over cooked batter the fish was wafer thin after going through the hard dark brown batter, mushy peas was cold then went to order another beer they run out of that as well,, so overall all it was bad experence ,, what with half a dozen dogs in there as well , ive got a dog myself but not in a eatery, so i wont be telling anyone to go there

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

It just took nearly an hour for our food to arrive. Simple pub food from a short menu, not totally packed, seems like the grown ups need to be in charge.

Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Princess of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Hi Ken G, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at enquiry@princessofwlaespub.co.uk at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you.

The Princess management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princess of Wales also viewed

 

Been to Princess of Wales? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing