We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great street and a guide with a genuine love for the area and the artists ;)”
Review of Alternative London

Alternative London
Ranked #1 of 175 Food & Drink in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the London you won't find in the guide books with London's original off-the-beaten-track tour provider! Come with us to explore the culture, community and street art of London's vibrant East End. We offer unique and original walking tours, bike tours and food & drink tours and as London's original street art tour provider we also offer street art workshops led by our team of street artists. Tour prices start at pay-what-you-want so there's something for everyone at a price to suit all budgets. Let our expert guides show you the real London, from a local's perspective!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Great street and a guide with a genuine love for the area and the artists ;)”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Great street and a guide with a genuine love for the area and the artists ;)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank molly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,425
    173
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“epic”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

wicked tour, takes you weaving in and out of spitalfields & brick lane. Have spent some time there previously but couldnt believe how much wicked stuff we have missed along the way.
Gary - was an amazing tour guide, insightful history told to us with huge depth of knowledge about the scene in the East End.
A must for a tourist, or non tourist!
Make sure you are prepared for walking & wrapped up if its cold weather, but dont be out off, one of the best things we have done in London!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour, lots of great artwork”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Went on this with a friend last night and had a great time! It was very interesting to learn about street art and the artists that create these temporary pieces for all to see and enjoy. Our tour guide was very honest and had some good facts. Glad I went!

Helpful?
Thank kpauljevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“The best way to see real London and great art, a must do”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

A great way to see a bit of real London, learn some history of the East End, and best of all, see some of the best street art in the world. Run purely from donations, Gary has a proper passion for the area and street art. Constantly being updated, if you go to London, check it out before the City folk, and their cronies "sanitise" it out of existence.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank rachaelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fun, informative and eye opening experience about east london and it's street art”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Really enjoyed this tour - I like how it stayed true to the artists and the honesty of the guides. I think it had a great balance between the historical context of the city and how it relates to the urban culture that exists there today. The guides are clearly passionate about the art and have great respect for the artists and it shows in their delivery. Definitely worth a visit - even if you are local to East London (as I am!), I will be wondering the streets of East London with eyes wide open looking for little gems in unexpected places.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mushimishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alternative London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing