We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean but VERY tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #953 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean but VERY tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The pros - clean sheets and towels, efficient (enough) heating, plentiful hot water, free (for now) Wi-Fi.

The cons - VERY tired decor and furniture. Jaded public areas. Single-glazed windows. No air-conditioning. Noisy plumbing. People smoking outside the front door in their pyjamas!

Like the remainder of Alex Langsam's Britannia Hotel chain, this hotel is in urgent need of MAJOR investment. Offering complimentary (if temporary) Wi-Fi access to the hotel's "esteemed" guests does not compensate for a lack of investment in the other basics.

Certainly a cheap enough option for a short stay in London, but a Premier Inn (or similar) would offer similar pricing and much better quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Lexy1968,

I value your comments as a senior reviewer, however, do not agree with them, this is because, if Premier Inn or similar were providing better quality at similar pricing than we would not have your "esteemed custom".

This alone clearly re enforces our brand value and policy of providing best value for money rooms with any comparable hotels within the local area of Britannia Hotels.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    204
    284
    182
    285
See reviews for
176
343
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel in February with my two children .. Our room was on the top floor it was dated and damp !!! We booked for breakfast and evening meal none to which was edible !!! Never would we stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blissjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Blissjo,
Your reservation was for a standard room but my reception team had upgraded yourself to an executive room on the plaza floor as complimentary to ensure the family are comfortable and enjoy their stay with us.
False comments like these just demotivate the team in their efferts to provide exceptional service to our guests,
We would have been more than happy to move you to a standard family room if you were unhappy with your room, a request that was never received by reception, we do not serve our customers un edible food nor do we expect any one to eat the same, a duty manager is available to look after and resolve any guest issues 24/7. Again I have no issues mentioned in our handover records of the same.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

quite a handy location for the tube and the park. However we were put in a room with no windows (so got bery stuffy and claustraphobic) and the most uncomfortable bed ever- the mattress had clearly gone so why hadn't it been replaced? Breakfast was overpriced, with possibly the cheapest sausages on the market.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Froggy3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Froggy3891,
I would completely disagree with your comments, our rooms on lower ground floor were only commissioned in 2011 and hence are less than a year old, we have a state of the art ventilation sytem and all fixtures and fittings are brand new.
Mattress in the rooms are new as well so can not undertand the question on why not changed.
We have 53 items on offer in our buffett breakfast and currently we are running a promotion of buy one get one half price breakfast which makes our offer one of the best with comparable hotels.
If you read other trip advisor comments you would have read all compliments on breakfast price and offer.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last minute in early December 2011. I booked the hotel the day before we were set to arrive, and I booked it through booking.com so I think that's why the room was at a reduced rate.

It was a basement room, so no windows, but it never felt closed-in or claustrophobic at all. The bathroom was nice and clean, as was the room, and the shower had the best water pressure of anywhere I've stayed in London! The room was probably the largest I've stayed in while in London.

The hotel couldn't have been in a better location, just a short walk (less than a mile) from the nearest tube station, and it was located in a safe area of London. I felt safe walking around late at night with my boyfriend, without fear of being mugged or robbed.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a last-minute deal in a good part of London.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonouraryBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Honourarybrit,
Thank you for your complementing review, we take pride in cleanliness of our rooms and service to our esteemed guests. Appreciation of the same is very encouraging for the team to carry on their good work, specially from a senior contributor.
We hope to serve you again in the very near future,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel is within about 10 mins to Chalk Farm station. Is a bit dated decor wise and rooms look very tired. Rom we had (a twin) was perfectly clean. Bathroom clean and shower quite powerful. Got breakfast deal of 2 people for 10 which was a good buffet. Everything from full English to continental options. Food was hot and plentiful. Had free wifi in room and signal was good and strong. If hotel wuss painted and rooms redecorated it would be more attractive. the wallpaper is particularly odd .. Looks like someone put it up wrong. Nice pub by the way called Washington which was a good find about 5 mins walk away.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear jcjctrips,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am pleased that you found our rooms perfectly clean and food offer plentiful and good. We take pride in our service and cleanliness, appreciation from a senior contributor is very encouraging for all the team.
We have now free wi fi available for a limited period in all rooms as part of our ongoing improvement at the back of customer feedback.
We are in process of updating our rooms as they become available.
We hope to serve you again in the near future,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#439 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Corner House Hotel
#746 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Britannia International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Property: Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,461 - ₹ 11,050
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing