We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 229
US$ 222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Hyde Park(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 133
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis London City-Shoreditch(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 175
US$ 141
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 261
US$ 216
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 202
US$ 170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 318
US$ 207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 878
US$ 667
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
62
215
309
207
327
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
215
309
207
327
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
769 - 774 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel in February with my two children .. Our room was on the top floor it was dated and damp !!! We booked for breakfast and evening meal none to which was edible !!! Never would we stay here again .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blissjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Blissjo,
Your reservation was for a standard room but my reception team had upgraded yourself to an executive room on the plaza floor as complimentary to ensure the family are comfortable and enjoy their stay with us.
False comments like these just demotivate the team in their efferts to provide exceptional service to our guests,
We would have been more than happy to move you to a standard family room if you were unhappy with your room, a request that was never received by reception, we do not serve our customers un edible food nor do we expect any one to eat the same, a duty manager is available to look after and resolve any guest issues 24/7. Again I have no issues mentioned in our handover records of the same.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

quite a handy location for the tube and the park. However we were put in a room with no windows (so got bery stuffy and claustraphobic) and the most uncomfortable bed ever- the mattress had clearly gone so why hadn't it been replaced? Breakfast was overpriced, with possibly the cheapest sausages on the market.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Froggy3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Froggy3891,
I would completely disagree with your comments, our rooms on lower ground floor were only commissioned in 2011 and hence are less than a year old, we have a state of the art ventilation sytem and all fixtures and fittings are brand new.
Mattress in the rooms are new as well so can not undertand the question on why not changed.
We have 53 items on offer in our buffett breakfast and currently we are running a promotion of buy one get one half price breakfast which makes our offer one of the best with comparable hotels.
If you read other trip advisor comments you would have read all compliments on breakfast price and offer.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last minute in early December 2011. I booked the hotel the day before we were set to arrive, and I booked it through booking.com so I think that's why the room was at a reduced rate.

It was a basement room, so no windows, but it never felt closed-in or claustrophobic at all. The bathroom was nice and clean, as was the room, and the shower had the best water pressure of anywhere I've stayed in London! The room was probably the largest I've stayed in while in London.

The hotel couldn't have been in a better location, just a short walk (less than a mile) from the nearest tube station, and it was located in a safe area of London. I felt safe walking around late at night with my boyfriend, without fear of being mugged or robbed.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a last-minute deal in a good part of London.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonouraryBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Honourarybrit,
Thank you for your complementing review, we take pride in cleanliness of our rooms and service to our esteemed guests. Appreciation of the same is very encouraging for the team to carry on their good work, specially from a senior contributor.
We hope to serve you again in the very near future,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hotel is within about 10 mins to Chalk Farm station. Is a bit dated decor wise and rooms look very tired. Rom we had (a twin) was perfectly clean. Bathroom clean and shower quite powerful. Got breakfast deal of 2 people for 10 which was a good buffet. Everything from full English to continental options. Food was hot and plentiful. Had free wifi in room and signal was good and strong. If hotel wuss painted and rooms redecorated it would be more attractive. the wallpaper is particularly odd .. Looks like someone put it up wrong. Nice pub by the way called Washington which was a good find about 5 mins walk away.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear jcjctrips,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am pleased that you found our rooms perfectly clean and food offer plentiful and good. We take pride in our service and cleanliness, appreciation from a senior contributor is very encouraging for all the team.
We have now free wi fi available for a limited period in all rooms as part of our ongoing improvement at the back of customer feedback.
We are in process of updating our rooms as they become available.
We hope to serve you again in the near future,
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

considering paid nearly £80 a night was a complete rip off.
plus points:
bathroom in decent state and bed comfortable.

bad points:
no tv - just a fuzzy channel 5
barely any internet - constant disconnect
room has major noise and draught issues if you face front of hotel
rude staff on asking why TV and internet not working after checking in.
buffet food in evening not fresh at all.
don't even bother allowing charge to room for dinner or breakfast - vouchers - so dated.


considering here for business for 2 days - cannot believe tht it is in this dated state.
and cannot believe no tv and barely internet whiost here. would avoid if you can.

terrible - in a worse state than a travellodge.

Room Tip: just avoid unless it has been refurbed
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Cs london,
I am a bit concerned with your review, as we have a very robust policy to change guest bedroom of tv if a problem is reported, I assume it could have been due to digital switchover that happened on 18th April, we ahd to re tune Tv's in all our bedrooms.

We certainly cook our meals fresh daily and have a different menu every single night of the week.
Charge to room is possible if a guest decides to pay on departure and leave an authorisation at reception. If account is settled on arrival than the same is not possible, this is a standard practise of most hotels.

Wi fi in the hotel is free and only installed last week so may have teething problems.

in a worse state than Travelodge-- I totally disagree with your comments as you have to pay extra for everything at Travelodge.
WI FI is chargeable
no toiletries in room
not all tarvelodges have restaurants on site
no hairdryers
no irons/ ironing boards
basic budget accommodation
Comparison is totally unfair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews