We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Ranked #951 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Ok but dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel is within about 10 mins to Chalk Farm station. Is a bit dated decor wise and rooms look very tired. Rom we had (a twin) was perfectly clean. Bathroom clean and shower quite powerful. Got breakfast deal of 2 people for 10 which was a good buffet. Everything from full English to continental options. Food was hot and plentiful. Had free wifi in room and signal was good and strong. If hotel wuss painted and rooms redecorated it would be more attractive. the wallpaper is particularly odd .. Looks like someone put it up wrong. Nice pub by the way called Washington which was a good find about 5 mins walk away.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear jcjctrips,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am pleased that you found our rooms perfectly clean and food offer plentiful and good. We take pride in our service and cleanliness, appreciation from a senior contributor is very encouraging for all the team.
We have now free wi fi available for a limited period in all rooms as part of our ongoing improvement at the back of customer feedback.
We are in process of updating our rooms as they become available.
We hope to serve you again in the near future,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    203
    281
    179
    282
See reviews for
172
337
69
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

considering paid nearly £80 a night was a complete rip off.
plus points:
bathroom in decent state and bed comfortable.

bad points:
no tv - just a fuzzy channel 5
barely any internet - constant disconnect
room has major noise and draught issues if you face front of hotel
rude staff on asking why TV and internet not working after checking in.
buffet food in evening not fresh at all.
don't even bother allowing charge to room for dinner or breakfast - vouchers - so dated.


considering here for business for 2 days - cannot believe tht it is in this dated state.
and cannot believe no tv and barely internet whiost here. would avoid if you can.

terrible - in a worse state than a travellodge.

Room Tip: just avoid unless it has been refurbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Cs london,
I am a bit concerned with your review, as we have a very robust policy to change guest bedroom of tv if a problem is reported, I assume it could have been due to digital switchover that happened on 18th April, we ahd to re tune Tv's in all our bedrooms.

We certainly cook our meals fresh daily and have a different menu every single night of the week.
Charge to room is possible if a guest decides to pay on departure and leave an authorisation at reception. If account is settled on arrival than the same is not possible, this is a standard practise of most hotels.

Wi fi in the hotel is free and only installed last week so may have teething problems.

in a worse state than Travelodge-- I totally disagree with your comments as you have to pay extra for everything at Travelodge.
WI FI is chargeable
no toiletries in room
not all tarvelodges have restaurants on site
no hairdryers
no irons/ ironing boards
basic budget accommodation
Comparison is totally unfair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel 3 years apart ok as a base for London near tube station chalk farm on Northen line 10 min stroll good connections for going anywhere a 15 min walk from Camden town rooms a bit dated only problem we had was the toilet flush and the curtains where not blackout and as soon as the sun came up we were awake we would stay here gain staff friendly and helpfull

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We got the hotel in a theatre package, we have stayed at a few hotels in London now under a similar deal.

The hotel is ideally located off the northern line, and the same line that goes to west end.

The room is spacious and clean, although is dated, customer service staff were excellent, we had a lovely bathroom and comfy bed. We had a very old tv and that's my only criticism, it would of really topped it off to have a a flat screen tv which was bracketed to the wall. We were impressed by a generous helping of tea and coffee, and the obvious soaps ect.

We had a continental breakfast included in our package and but paid 5 each, per person per day to upgrade to all you can eat full English, which was lovely! Lots of juices to taste from!.

Luckily also at the time they had complimentary free we-Fi which is always very nice. Overall very comfortable stay, lovely food and would definetely come back again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Gazpara,

Thank you ever so much for your kind compliments, all our hard work to ensure our rooms are spotless and serve excellent are now being appreciated by our esteemed guests. I will be delighted to pass on your comments to the team as well.

Free wi fi for an introductory period is available througout the hotel as part of our ongoing improvements as per our customer feedback.

We look forward to welocming you back in the very near future,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We paid £45 for our room- it was clean, modern and very good value. It was let down by the fact it had no window- we would have preferred to have known this before we arrived. The hotel is located in a very good area, a short walk from the tube and local restaurants. You can't really fault it for the price!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky1984red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINGH21, General Manager at Britannia Hampstead Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Rocky1984red,
Thank you for your valable feedback, I take your comments on board with regards to detailed information before arrival, I am pleased that overall you found the room modern and good value.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden Lock Hotel
#435 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Corner House Hotel
#773 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hampstead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hampstead Hotel

Property: Britannia Hampstead Hotel
Address: Primrose Hill Road | Hampstead, London NW3 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #951 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,301 - ₹ 10,537
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hampstead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel on the north side of Regent's Park in residential Hampstead, 15 minutes from the West End & main line stations. In vicinity of Camden town- London Zoo and Lords cricket ground. Emirates stadium is less than 4 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Hampstead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hampstead London
Hotel Britannia Hampstead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing