We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
510
401
91
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
510
401
91
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapartment hotelgloucester road tube stationgreat locationkensington gardensupstairs bedroomhyde parkthe sofa bedwaitrose supermarketsmall kitchenscience museumroyal albert hallnatural historyimperial collegelaundry facilitiesself cateringkensington high streetserviced apartment
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

One can honestly lose a week researching accommodations in London, which is usually tied to where one needs to be in this rather large city. For business reasons, I needed to be near S. Kensington and Holborn—thus, I opted for the Citadines, whose location is in a luxe area, close to major trans-city bus lines, and the Picadilly line (airport, straight shot to the center). Happiness. First, the apartment I received (501) was fabulous—a corner unit (Premier Studio) with a comfy bed and a fully functional kitchenette that lessened the “pain” associated with eating out in London. The hotel is very clean, the front desk professional, the location a short walk from the Gloucester (pronounced: Glah-ster) Underground. There is also free WIFI (good reception in our room) and a Starbucks around the corner from the entrance, in addition to a Waitrose (by the Underground—also a BOOTS and an ATM)-- a Tesco Express, and a couple of bakeries, eateries are across the street from the hotel, and a Whole Foods is also about a 15’ walk away. The 49 bus, which stops near the hotel, connects well with cross-town routes, and takes you to the Underground as well. Overall, if you get a good rate for this property, you really can’t go wrong—it’s an exceptional property in a lovely part of London.

Room Tip: A high floor away from the elevators affords privacy and peace.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Love2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our first impressions were very negative. We checked in, having booked through the Citadines site and paid, we thought, the full amount up front to be told that we had to pay 'local taxes', ie VAT at 20% on top of the sum already paid. Suddenly the cheap deal was not so cheap! To add insult to injury, the receptionist explained the payment as required because 'it's a french firm and they don't have VAT; it's stupid, I know.' More like a device to make you book through the hotel site rather than through a consolidator, I'd say! Since we'd paid so much as a non refundable deposit, there was no point in backing out and we paid up the amount which the receptionist calculated on his calculator! This has to be a first for any stay I've ever made in GB. As if to counter our irritation, the receptionist then declared that we'd been 'upgraded' to a duplex appartment. What did that mean? Well, we had a nice living area with kitchen and WINDOWS. Shame about the bedroom. Accessed via a steep and narrow staircase, it was a windowless space. We decided that any reasonably fit looking couple would be given this room (number 400) because you'd have to be able to navigate the stairs. As for what you'd do to get out in a fire, we didn't dare contemplate. We reassured ourselves by saying that Health and Safety must have passed it so it must be safe- it didn't feel like that, though! One further gripe- from 9am every morning to about midnight, there was a signifcant level of noise- either the air con or the heating, we couldn't decide which. It was like sleeping in the noisiest part of an aircraft. Given the lack of natural light and the noise, we were amused at how you'd cope with the place if you had jet lag- would it be an advantage or disadvantage. These three things aside, the location is very good- near Gloucester Road tube (district/ central & piccadilly lines) and opposite some good shops (Tesco Express and Waitrose) and places to eat. Not good enough to make me stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have any fire phobias, avoid the windowless duplexes!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citadinessk, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at Citadines Prestige South Kensington London.

We would like to clarify that all reservations on our website do include VAT and any other taxes as shown. Regrettably, due to an error, the VAT was not added to your booking. That is why you were asked to settle the difference upon check-in. We wish to assure you that this is not our usual practice and the necessary measures have been put in place to prevent a recurrence.

The duplex apartments are a category above the apartment type you reserved. However, we are sorry to learn that it inconvenienced your stay as a result. The level of noise was due to a faulty extractor unit from the restaurant next door and has since been repaired.

Once again, I am sorry that we were not able to make your stay as pleasant as it should be. We are committed to high service standards and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours sincerely,

Manuel Riesgo-Garcia
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Room was large and clean, with 2 single beds, kitchenette, eating/work table, and flatscreen. Compact but full bathroom. Not much in the lobby, as this is an aprt-hotel. Good restaurants and pubs within 2-min walk, tube 5-min walk, and a large supermarket 10-min walk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Me and my family stayed there for 3 nights in the 1-bedroom apartment during winter. Upon checking in, we were immensely pleased at the condition of the room and my sister adored the 2-storey design of the apartment. It was nice, clean and a good size for a fmaily of 4. The kitchen and toilet were well-fitted and the beds were comfortable and warm. Although the room was facing the road, there was hardly any noise pollution and so we had a good night's rest.

Location was fantastic with it being about 10 mins walk away from the Gloucester Road station on the tube. It's also about a 10 mins walk away from kensington gardens and about 15 mins away from shopping. There are cafes and shops right outside of citadines so buying stuff was really convenient.

The staff were friendly and patient in explaining things and the cleaners came everyday to change towels and make the beds.

All in all, a very good stay at this place and will definitely recommend this place to others and stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetuniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

It is the second time in a few weeks that I check in at the Citadines Kensington on Gloucester Road.. he facilities, the "studios" as they say are good, but the service deserves a Zero (or less). It seems they are incapable to check one guest in in less than 15 minutes, even with no one else in sight, and they obviously do not know the meaning of words like "welcome", "smile", "courteous".
This time, it took about 10 minutes to find the keys of the room and then someone had to come to the room to work on the door lock.. all what you want when you arrive from far away and just want to have a shower.
Then you discover that room preparation has not been checked, no amenity, bedsheet with holes in it.
Now, I'm stuck because they charge you at check-in for the whole stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VudeSingapour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citadinessk, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. My team and I apologise for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay.

We will look at ways to improve the check-in process as well as redress the level of customer service from staff.

We regret that despite there being regular cleaning and maintenance in our serviced residence, there were still areas which fell below your expectations. Following your feedback, we have reminded housekeepers to be more alert and careful in preparation for guest arrivals.

Once again, we apologise that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely yours,
Manuel Riesgo-Garcia
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews