We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #143 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2012

it is located in a nice and convenient area. when i booked the place, i did not know that this place has 'pet allow' policy as i usually stay at the other ascott property which does not allow pet in the apartment. as i have serious allergy to cat, i have written a message to citadines south kensington regarding my concern, the staff there wrote back, reassuring me that the place will not affect my health concern. due to my travelling schedule, i ended up booked 3 types of room (staying in different days) the place has. even though one of the rooms was a bit dusty, the housekeeper quickly came to clean up the whole room again for me -- to me, this is very impressive and attentive.

as for the receptionists, i would have to say one of them is very helpful. can't remember her name, but she is the one in the photo. i think her name starts with L. however, the trainee whom i talked to did not know how to manage the situation -- all she could say is 'no'...which is understandable as she is just a trainee, but it would be nice if she at least show some attentiveness to people who choose and pay to stay there.

i had a good stay which includes free wifi service in the room, and the location is great.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 627 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

One can honestly lose a week researching accommodations in London, which is usually tied to where one needs to be in this rather large city. For business reasons, I needed to be near S. Kensington and Holborn—thus, I opted for the Citadines, whose location is in a luxe area, close to major trans-city bus lines, and the Picadilly line (airport, straight shot to the center). Happiness. First, the apartment I received (501) was fabulous—a corner unit (Premier Studio) with a comfy bed and a fully functional kitchenette that lessened the “pain” associated with eating out in London. The hotel is very clean, the front desk professional, the location a short walk from the Gloucester (pronounced: Glah-ster) Underground. There is also free WIFI (good reception in our room) and a Starbucks around the corner from the entrance, in addition to a Waitrose (by the Underground—also a BOOTS and an ATM)-- a Tesco Express, and a couple of bakeries, eateries are across the street from the hotel, and a Whole Foods is also about a 15’ walk away. The 49 bus, which stops near the hotel, connects well with cross-town routes, and takes you to the Underground as well. Overall, if you get a good rate for this property, you really can’t go wrong—it’s an exceptional property in a lovely part of London.

Room Tip: A high floor away from the elevators affords privacy and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Love2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Our first impressions were very negative. We checked in, having booked through the Citadines site and paid, we thought, the full amount up front to be told that we had to pay 'local taxes', ie VAT at 20% on top of the sum already paid. Suddenly the cheap deal was not so cheap! To add insult to injury, the receptionist explained the payment as required because 'it's a french firm and they don't have VAT; it's stupid, I know.' More like a device to make you book through the hotel site rather than through a consolidator, I'd say! Since we'd paid so much as a non refundable deposit, there was no point in backing out and we paid up the amount which the receptionist calculated on his calculator! This has to be a first for any stay I've ever made in GB. As if to counter our irritation, the receptionist then declared that we'd been 'upgraded' to a duplex appartment. What did that mean? Well, we had a nice living area with kitchen and WINDOWS. Shame about the bedroom. Accessed via a steep and narrow staircase, it was a windowless space. We decided that any reasonably fit looking couple would be given this room (number 400) because you'd have to be able to navigate the stairs. As for what you'd do to get out in a fire, we didn't dare contemplate. We reassured ourselves by saying that Health and Safety must have passed it so it must be safe- it didn't feel like that, though! One further gripe- from 9am every morning to about midnight, there was a signifcant level of noise- either the air con or the heating, we couldn't decide which. It was like sleeping in the noisiest part of an aircraft. Given the lack of natural light and the noise, we were amused at how you'd cope with the place if you had jet lag- would it be an advantage or disadvantage. These three things aside, the location is very good- near Gloucester Road tube (district/ central & piccadilly lines) and opposite some good shops (Tesco Express and Waitrose) and places to eat. Not good enough to make me stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have any fire phobias, avoid the windowless duplexes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citadinessk, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at Citadines Prestige South Kensington London.

We would like to clarify that all reservations on our website do include VAT and any other taxes as shown. Regrettably, due to an error, the VAT was not added to your booking. That is why you were asked to settle the difference upon check-in. We wish to assure you that this is not our usual practice and the necessary measures have been put in place to prevent a recurrence.

The duplex apartments are a category above the apartment type you reserved. However, we are sorry to learn that it inconvenienced your stay as a result. The level of noise was due to a faulty extractor unit from the restaurant next door and has since been repaired.

Once again, I am sorry that we were not able to make your stay as pleasant as it should be. We are committed to high service standards and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours sincerely,

Manuel Riesgo-Garcia
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Room was large and clean, with 2 single beds, kitchenette, eating/work table, and flatscreen. Compact but full bathroom. Not much in the lobby, as this is an aprt-hotel. Good restaurants and pubs within 2-min walk, tube 5-min walk, and a large supermarket 10-min walk.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Me and my family stayed there for 3 nights in the 1-bedroom apartment during winter. Upon checking in, we were immensely pleased at the condition of the room and my sister adored the 2-storey design of the apartment. It was nice, clean and a good size for a fmaily of 4. The kitchen and toilet were well-fitted and the beds were comfortable and warm. Although the room was facing the road, there was hardly any noise pollution and so we had a good night's rest.

Location was fantastic with it being about 10 mins walk away from the Gloucester Road station on the tube. It's also about a 10 mins walk away from kensington gardens and about 15 mins away from shopping. There are cafes and shops right outside of citadines so buying stuff was really convenient.

The staff were friendly and patient in explaining things and the cleaners came everyday to change towels and make the beds.

All in all, a very good stay at this place and will definitely recommend this place to others and stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PetuniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,077 in London
3,883 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#383 of 1,077 in London
1,035 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#496 of 1,077 in London
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#343 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,143 - ₹ 22,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing