We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apart-hotel in central location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citadines South Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #185 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great apart-hotel in central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Room was large and clean, with 2 single beds, kitchenette, eating/work table, and flatscreen. Compact but full bathroom. Not much in the lobby, as this is an aprt-hotel. Good restaurants and pubs within 2-min walk, tube 5-min walk, and a large supermarket 10-min walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    289
    63
    32
    21
See reviews for
291
163
41
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Me and my family stayed there for 3 nights in the 1-bedroom apartment during winter. Upon checking in, we were immensely pleased at the condition of the room and my sister adored the 2-storey design of the apartment. It was nice, clean and a good size for a fmaily of 4. The kitchen and toilet were well-fitted and the beds were comfortable and warm. Although the room was facing the road, there was hardly any noise pollution and so we had a good night's rest.

Location was fantastic with it being about 10 mins walk away from the Gloucester Road station on the tube. It's also about a 10 mins walk away from kensington gardens and about 15 mins away from shopping. There are cafes and shops right outside of citadines so buying stuff was really convenient.

The staff were friendly and patient in explaining things and the cleaners came everyday to change towels and make the beds.

All in all, a very good stay at this place and will definitely recommend this place to others and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PetuniaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

It is the second time in a few weeks that I check in at the Citadines Kensington on Gloucester Road.. he facilities, the "studios" as they say are good, but the service deserves a Zero (or less). It seems they are incapable to check one guest in in less than 15 minutes, even with no one else in sight, and they obviously do not know the meaning of words like "welcome", "smile", "courteous".
This time, it took about 10 minutes to find the keys of the room and then someone had to come to the room to work on the door lock.. all what you want when you arrive from far away and just want to have a shower.
Then you discover that room preparation has not been checked, no amenity, bedsheet with holes in it.
Now, I'm stuck because they charge you at check-in for the whole stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VudeSingapour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citadinessk, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. My team and I apologise for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay.

We will look at ways to improve the check-in process as well as redress the level of customer service from staff.

We regret that despite there being regular cleaning and maintenance in our serviced residence, there were still areas which fell below your expectations. Following your feedback, we have reminded housekeepers to be more alert and careful in preparation for guest arrivals.

Once again, we apologise that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely yours,
Manuel Riesgo-Garcia
Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the Citadines Prestige between Xmas and New Year 2011. This is our third stay but our first with two young children. Contrary to some reviews I have read, our experience with the apartments and the staff in South Kensington were superb. Our stay was four weeks into a six week European tour and I can only say that the size, cleanliness and fixtures and fittings in our room were exemplary by European standards. Obviously the greatest attraction to the apartments is their location with the tube, museums and amazing shopping within walking distance. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed a whole week at this location in a v.nice duplex room. Its very well done up and all the equipment in the kitchen was good quality with a manual explaining everything. The cleaners turned up everyday, the rooms were always clean. The only problem I had was the truly poor mattress quality. My side of the bed had me sinking a full 3-4 inches below my husband's side and they couldn't help me with another mattress but did provide me with set of quilts on which ended up sleeping. I do have a back problem so this whole thing was hugely inconvenient.
Otherwise of course its in a fantastic location and there's some nice dining options a short walk away plus two nice sized supermarkets where you can pick up stuff if you don't feel like a meal outside. The staff was pretty helpful, though during my stay I noticed at least 2 sets of people checking out having arguments with the staff at the reception desk. I can't conclude anything from that really as we had no problems at all.
Would I stay there again, maybe, for a few days if I book very much ahead because it is very expensive in season and with the whole thing around the mattress there was a negative experience for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#422 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,537 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#333 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Property: Citadines South Kensington
Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,833 - ₹ 21,952
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing