We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best couple-with-child solution to London. Great value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citadines South Kensington
Ranked #140 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed 4 nights in London and had trouble finding a good hotel that suits our needs as we were traveling with our 2-years old daughter. The 1-bedroom apt. was the perfect solution for us and in a very reasonable rate (we checked almost 20 hotels before booking...).
The apartment has two floors and this separation was very comfortable.
The hotel is situated in one of the best locations in general, and particularly when traveling with kids (the science museum, the museum of natural history and the Kensington parks - are all 5-10 minutes away by foot). Also - there are plenty of restaurants, grocery shops, coffee shops and bakeries just around the corner.
Only downside we found was the fact that there was no AC and we got to the hottest October in 160 years in London... which wasn't horrible, just a bit warm at times.
All in all - I would definitely recommend this hotel to other people, especially when traveling with kids.

Room Tip: If you're arriving on a warm season - ask for a room that is less exposed to the sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agur11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 589 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Me and my wife stayed in the citadines with our 1.4 years old boy for four nights. We liked the room very much , the kitchen is very well equipped and near there is a big branch of whole food market so we could get a lot of nice products for breakfast. Staying near the park is a great advantage for parents and Kensington gardens are about 5 min walk from the hotel. The area around the hotel is very nice with nice cafes and pubs and shopping in the near high street Kensington is also good. The public areas of the hotel are small and not welcoming and the staff are functional but not very welcoming or helpful. If you're looking fir an apartment this is one of the best options in London , if you're looking for a 4 stars hotel you can find better and cheaper options.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I needed a place to stay with my in laws for just one night as the 3 of us were attending a concert at Hammersmith Apollo. Citadines Kensington was perfect for one night. We had a one bedroomed appartment on the 6th floor which seemed newly refurbished and was very clean, not massive but on 2 floors. It was equipped to cook a basic meal, no more. The sofa bed was very comfortable. The neighbourhood was lovely, convenient for everywhere. Would like to go back for longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We have 7 people, stayed 3 nights. Staff are cold without smile, the elevator to the 6 floor is always in bad status, and very dangerous. No washer, but the staff kept telling clients;" wahser will be here tomorrow", we stayed there from Sept 5 to Sept 8, when we came back to pick up our storaged luggages on Sept 16, we heard the staff still telling the cleints: "the washer will be here tomorrow". Why they are trained to be liars? Some rooms are very small, so double check before booking, and be careful as they will cancel your booking and resell your paid rooms with confiscationg your money, as I do have the experience with them. Location is convenient with 7 minutes walking distance from the tube, Starbucks and sandwich shops, etc within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: only rooms can be accepted are on the 6 floor, but poor aircon, have to open the window with noises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEORGE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citadinessk, General Manager at Citadines South Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback. While I am happy to note that you found our location convenient, my team and I are sorry for not having met your expectations during your recent stay.
While our staff are trained to deliver the highest standards in customer service, unfortunately, we did not do that well in this particular area during your stay. I will address this with the team to improve the way we interact with our guests. The elevator to the 6th floor experienced some technical faults during your stay. We have since rectified it. As for the washing machine, we have replaced all of them for new ones since your last stay with us. Like most properties, we do offer different room types and sizes, for example, studio premiers, studio executives and one bedroom apartments to suit your needs. This information is available on our website to help you make your decision on which apartment to book. Also, from time to time, we offer special offers and promotional rates. Such specials attract certain terms and conditions, for instance, they are non-refundable and cannot be exchanged. These terms and conditions are clearly stated at the point of reservation so that our customers are aware. Our property has an air-cooling system which supplies pre-cooled fresh air into the building and apartments. There have been some days where we experienced unusually high temperatures, causing some discomfort to some guests. In such instances, we provide fan units to help ease the discomfort.
Once again, I am sorry that we were not able to make your stay as pleasant as it should be. We are committed to high service standards and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Your sincerely,
Manuel Riesgo-Garcia
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Spent 5 nights at this hotel. Despite other reviews, found staff great. Room is a bit on the cozy side, but very functional. Kitchen was very nice addition. Would be nice if there was a table to eat at. Sandwich shop across the road was a great find. Always busy, but when you see their prices you understand why. Short walk to Underground. Nice neighborhood. Laundry was not functioning, but found laundromat down the street that does wash and fold service. Worth the price.

Room Tip: A non-smoking facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,076 in London
1,008 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,076 in London
3,800 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#371 of 1,076 in London
1,174 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#481 of 1,076 in London
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines South Kensington

Address: 35 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in London
#151 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 10,561 - ₹ 22,152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines South Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartment hotel; some with full kitchens; multilingual staff; restaurant & bar; situated near Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines South Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Prestige South Kensington Hotel London
Citadines Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing