We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”
Review of Umi London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Umi London
Ranked #798 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Decent budget hotel. Very good service... friendly and helpful. Decent free breakfast (although not buffet so not as filling as others). Full English available though for modest charge. Bed was comfortable. Rooms clean. Carpets in rooms a bit worn and in need of repair but overall room was pleasant. Located on quiet square a couple blocks off street with tons of ethnic eateries. 10 minute walk to two tube stops and Kennsington Park. Stayed here for 7 nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank umyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    190
    195
    76
    66
See reviews for
78
161
98
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I choose this hotel becasue it was cheap but in a nice area. The hotel was a little hard to find even with a taxi driver. I was warmly welcomed by the staff. My room as smallish and the bathroom was small as a cuboard but was decently clean. The furniture was a bit old looking and the window was hard to close and 1 of the staff had to come and give me a hand with it. The breakfast price was a bit pricey, I decided to get breakfast elsewhere for less.

The staff are nice and have some good knowledge but most of them are forginers and most live in the hotel as well. No free wifi and have to buy a card to get access to the computer and wifi.

floorboard were creaky so you could hear people walking around.

Room Tip: Be warned that this is a hotel popular with school groups and tours. Had a bunch of American school...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milanovictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Umi for one night prior to the departure of our tour as it was the departure/pick up point. We decided to stay at this hotel as it was convenient and seemed well priced in the area. The reception staff were friendly and were more than happy to offer suggestions to fill up our one day in London. However, the room was disappointing and let the rest of the hotel down. Our room was on a definite slant which was very off putting (feeling like you have had one too many drinks when you haven't), bathroom door kept opening due to the lean. It sounds like we got one of the bad rooms. Good proximity to train station and shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The first room we stayed in was very nice had a good view, the bathroom was old but clean. For some reason they made us change rooms on our last night before our Europe tour. This room was crooked the floor was slanted so small we couldn't even walk around the bed, when laying in the bed you could feel you were in a slanted room. All you could hear was people yelling in another language next door. After our tour we stayed for 1 night and got upgraded to a super room, the room was really big and was very comfy.
Breakfast was good. The staff were a little hard to talk to and some looked a bit dirty.
It is expensive for what is is but for England and London in particular it's a pretty good hotel in a safe and central location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iliveforholidays88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Princes Square Hotel
Princes Square Hotel
#740 of 1,068 in London
490 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#376 of 1,068 in London
415 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#573 of 1,068 in London
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#634 of 1,068 in London
454 reviews
Notting Hill
Westland Hotel
Westland Hotel
#766 of 1,068 in London
151 reviews
Notting Hill
New Linden Hotel
New Linden Hotel
#593 of 1,068 in London
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umi London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umi London

Property: Umi London
Address: 16 Leinster Square, Notting Hill - Bayswater, London W2 4PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #798 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,111 - ₹ 12,549
Hotel Class:3 star — Umi London 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities overlooks a pretty garden square; near Kensington Palace, Portobello Road Market & Queensway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umi London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umi London Hotel London
Umi Hotel London
London Umi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing