We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on integral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #302 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Very convenient, right in the middle of everything great service and not so expensive. Would be my choice again in a case of similar business scenario in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for making us your choice hotel for your next visit. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards, Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,974)
There are newer reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,448 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

this hotel is near hyde park but a bit far from main tourist sites. however the tube is nearby and it is easy walking distance to oxford street with both shopping and restaurants. Extremely helpful in assisting us due to an emergency requiring medical intervention late evening. clean rooms, clean halls, good food. customer manager Allal is excellent, as is Johnny who works later evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry to hear about your late night emergency, but happy the team were able to assist. I will pass on your feedback to the both Allal and Johnny.

Regards, Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We went to see a concert in Hyde Park so this was within easy walking distance afterwards. We booked a room with a view over Hyde Park. Accommodation was perfectly adequate and clean but the staff (On this occasion) were just not on the ball and numerous little avoidable things went wrong: e.g.To begin with we were left sitting around having been told we would be informed when our room was ready (an hour after the advertised check-in time) but then we were forgotten about. The hotel is built above a petrol station! and the reception is on the first floor accessed by lifts and/or stairs.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of Hyde park. If you don't mind heights the higher floors obviously have...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supermare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with some aspects of your stay. This will be picked up with our front of house team. Many thanks for your room tip!

Regards, Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

A very good hotel. Rooms are small, as is the tradition in London, but very smartly arranged, so you don't feel to cramped. besides, this is London, you don't really go there to be in the hotel room, right?

Service was efficient and attentive, better than most London hotel's I've been to over the years.
the location is great, 2 minutes from the central line of the tube, and 3 min from the Circle and District.
There is a gas station with a convenient store downstairs for all the small things you may need.

Down side: this is 2012, WiFi is a basic thing. Outsourcing it to BT and say "yes we have WiFi but you have to pay (a lot) for it" is hardly what I expected. Other London hotels do have it for free, so should Thistle.

Room Tip: Sign up for the hotel members club. costs nothing and has some perks.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaistlinMajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. By joining our Signature Loyalty programme you will receive complimentary WIFI and many other benefits. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards, Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past few months with my partner whilst on business. The first time we got a bargain rate and checked into one of their suites. The second time we checked into a standard room.

Front of house staff were polite and efficient, as were all staff we encountered during our stay.

The suite was large, as one would expect, with fantastic views over the park. However it had an overwhelming sense that it was designed to be functional. That is to say there were no real 'luxury' touches at all. Just a large space with a bed, TV's and a table in it. For the price I paid I couldn't fault it. However if I'd paid anything approaching the usual rate I'd have been grossly disappointed. Having stayed in other large chain hotels (particularly Intercontinental), I was far more impressed with their 'standard' rooms than I was with this suite. Overall I'd say if you were here on business you'd appreciate the space offered, despite its very office-like appearance. However if you were on a honeymoon or leisure trip, look elsewhere if you want a suite.

The second time I stayed in a standard room. This was small, and not particularly good value. It was however clean & the bed was comfortable. Bathroom compact but clean and of good quality. Once again, ticked all the boxes for a hotel room, but with no special features.

Restaurant offered pleasant surroundings, with polite/efficient service. Menu offered wide variety of international foods. Food was reasonable, but somewhat overpriced and not particularly exciting. I'd use the restaurant again as it is convenient, but if you have the time, go elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was good quality, with a wide variety of foods on offer. If arriving towards the end of breakfast service, cold items tend to run out. Some hot breakfast items are included in basic breakfast price, others attract an additional charge.

Parking was the reason we chose this hotel. We were able to drive to its car park (adjacent to hotel) without going through London's congestion zone, and costs were reasonable for London. The car park isn't huge, but we were able to park successfully on both occasions. We were unable to reserve a car parking space at the hotel prior to our arrival, and I wonder if this may lead to problems obtaining a space during busy periods i.e. the olympics.

All in all, I'd stay in this hotel again if visiting London on business. However if making a leisure trip I'd look elsewhere. It gets the basics right in thats its clean, comfortable and convenient. However it feels somewhat like staying in an office, and not a hotel.

Room Tip: Suites are large with good views over Hyde Park, but very plain overall.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LostAndFoundUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMthistle, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your detailed review. The hotel has 60+ car parking spaces over two floors, and whilst these can be booked in advance, we generally have spaces free. If you wish to book on a leisure break, we have front facing executive rooms with views over Hyde Park, and with 3 underground stations nearby, you can quickly explore all the sights of London. Many thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon for both business and leisure.

Regards, Billy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#410 of 1,072 in London
899 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#381 of 1,072 in London
393 reviews
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#111 of 1,072 in London
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#219 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 9,418 - ₹ 21,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing