We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
An-Nur Hotel(London)
View Hotel
Troy Hotel(London)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,126)
Filter reviews
2,127 results
Traveller rating
863
902
278
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
902
278
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde parkqueensway tube stationpark viewcentral linealbert hallconvenience storenotting hillbus stopfirst floorminute walkstandard roomjunior suitemarble archstayed for two nightsexcellent locationexcellent breakfastweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,619 - 1,624 of 2,127 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were one week in London for a ladies holiday - mother and daughter. We had a great room and the staff at the reception was very friendly and polite. They helped us directly and quickly where they could. We ended up in a great room at 9th floor with an amazing view over Kensington gardens which we have enjoyed every single day! OK, the bath room is not the largest one i have ever seen, but everything was very clean and in good condition. The breakfast was really great every day, a good and rich choice of any bread, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, eggs in different variations, just perfect! Also the breakfast staff - especially Joel - but also the ladies who made our eggs were very very friendly and so we started every day in a very good mood! Location is great with the huge park in front of the hotel and the underground Queensway station only a few minutes walk away. We had the traffic card and were very satisfied to be able to reach all important sights by underground or bus. Nothing was far away, we were perfectly located here. Yes, we can say we had a great week and can recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cityhopper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Our location in central London is key, with views over Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, to the multiple underground stations nearby, allowing you to easily explore all areas of London. Thanks also for your comments about the team and in particular Joel. All trip advisor feedback is shared, and I am sure the team will enjoy reading this review.

Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

As in other TripAdvisor reviews, this hotel is really good for the price range its in. The rooms aren't huge but the hotel lived up to my expectations. The check in staff were friendly and efficient, the security desk was staffed and helpful. It's a bit confusing when you arrive into the hotel as the reception is on the first floor, yet there's a manned desk by the lifts on the ground floor. The hotel feels really clean and modern. The room was pretty quiet, you can hear the adjacent rooms slightly, but other than that it's in a quiet residential area. The access to tube stations is great, I walked from Paddington, Bayswater, and Queensgate. All really easy to get to once you've got your bearings! The bed was comfy with extra pillows and bedding provided in the wardrobe. The shower was one of the easiest to use that I've come across in a hotel with nice Grohe fittings - again the room and bathroom was really clean. Breakfast service was friendly, lightning fast, and I had no complaints. Thanks Thistle!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens, and for your detailed feedback. I am glad we met your expectations and look forward to your return visit.


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at this hotel, we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and made to feel very welcome. The room, although on the small side was beautifully decorated and clean and comfortable.

The hotel is ideally situated for the tube and there are plenty of places to eat out within a five minute walk.

The staff are amongst the friendliest I have ever come across in a hotel anywhere and always made time to speak to you, particularly in the dining room, where we ate an excellent breakfast every morning.

This will always be our hotel of choice now when visiting London and we are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsemad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and will ensure your comments about our friendly staff and in particular the breakfast team are shared. Thanks also for making us your London hotel of choice. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ideally located next to Kensington Gardens, close to 2 tube stations - Queensway on the Central Line and Bayswater on the Circle and District Lines.
Queensway Street has lots of shops and restaurants so no problem eating out.
Rooms were compact but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad our location was ideal for your travels around London. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel! It is very close to the Tube and is directly across the street from beautiful Kensington Park. It did seem odd when we first arrived that there was a gas station beneath the hotel, but it was great to have a convenience store so close by for snacks. We were a group of five women and felt very safe walking in this area and in the park. The rooms are very nice (the most comfortable beds on our 3 city vacation in Europe!) and the included breakfast was very good. You could even get eggs cooked to order. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We didn't have any problems with our wake up calls. I hope to return to London and would stay stay at this hotel again. If you are planning to take a hop on, hop off bus tour of London, I would highly recommend Big Bus Tours. They have a stop right in front of this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park have a beautiful view!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens, and for your encouraging recommendation. Thanks also for your travellers tip. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews