We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #287 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We used this this for a one night break to see Phantom of the Opera. Great location close to tube. Excellent welcome with good concierge service.Lovely room with good facilities. We enjoyed a lovely evening meal with the mussels being highly recommended and the service was excellent. The breakfast was fresh and enough to fill the biggest of appetites. All in all a great Hotel in a great location with helpful staff leading to a pleasent stay. A*

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for choosing us for your theatre break. I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    811
    244
    49
    23
See reviews for
417
774
67
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were one week in London for a ladies holiday - mother and daughter. We had a great room and the staff at the reception was very friendly and polite. They helped us directly and quickly where they could. We ended up in a great room at 9th floor with an amazing view over Kensington gardens which we have enjoyed every single day! OK, the bath room is not the largest one i have ever seen, but everything was very clean and in good condition. The breakfast was really great every day, a good and rich choice of any bread, cereals, yoghurts, fresh fruits, eggs in different variations, just perfect! Also the breakfast staff - especially Joel - but also the ladies who made our eggs were very very friendly and so we started every day in a very good mood! Location is great with the huge park in front of the hotel and the underground Queensway station only a few minutes walk away. We had the traffic card and were very satisfied to be able to reach all important sights by underground or bus. Nothing was far away, we were perfectly located here. Yes, we can say we had a great week and can recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cityhopper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Our location in central London is key, with views over Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, to the multiple underground stations nearby, allowing you to easily explore all areas of London. Thanks also for your comments about the team and in particular Joel. All trip advisor feedback is shared, and I am sure the team will enjoy reading this review.

Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

As in other TripAdvisor reviews, this hotel is really good for the price range its in. The rooms aren't huge but the hotel lived up to my expectations. The check in staff were friendly and efficient, the security desk was staffed and helpful. It's a bit confusing when you arrive into the hotel as the reception is on the first floor, yet there's a manned desk by the lifts on the ground floor. The hotel feels really clean and modern. The room was pretty quiet, you can hear the adjacent rooms slightly, but other than that it's in a quiet residential area. The access to tube stations is great, I walked from Paddington, Bayswater, and Queensgate. All really easy to get to once you've got your bearings! The bed was comfy with extra pillows and bedding provided in the wardrobe. The shower was one of the easiest to use that I've come across in a hotel with nice Grohe fittings - again the room and bathroom was really clean. Breakfast service was friendly, lightning fast, and I had no complaints. Thanks Thistle!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens, and for your detailed feedback. I am glad we met your expectations and look forward to your return visit.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Just returned from a weekend break at this hotel, we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and made to feel very welcome. The room, although on the small side was beautifully decorated and clean and comfortable.

The hotel is ideally situated for the tube and there are plenty of places to eat out within a five minute walk.

The staff are amongst the friendliest I have ever come across in a hotel anywhere and always made time to speak to you, particularly in the dining room, where we ate an excellent breakfast every morning.

This will always be our hotel of choice now when visiting London and we are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsemad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and will ensure your comments about our friendly staff and in particular the breakfast team are shared. Thanks also for making us your London hotel of choice. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ideally located next to Kensington Gardens, close to 2 tube stations - Queensway on the Central Line and Bayswater on the Circle and District Lines.
Queensway Street has lots of shops and restaurants so no problem eating out.
Rooms were compact but very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad our location was ideal for your travels around London. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Billy Hughes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#380 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,137 - ₹ 20,025
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing