We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location, Very Nice Rooms and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #311 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel! It is very close to the Tube and is directly across the street from beautiful Kensington Park. It did seem odd when we first arrived that there was a gas station beneath the hotel, but it was great to have a convenience store so close by for snacks. We were a group of five women and felt very safe walking in this area and in the park. The rooms are very nice (the most comfortable beds on our 3 city vacation in Europe!) and the included breakfast was very good. You could even get eggs cooked to order. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. We didn't have any problems with our wake up calls. I hope to return to London and would stay stay at this hotel again. If you are planning to take a hop on, hop off bus tour of London, I would highly recommend Big Bus Tours. They have a stop right in front of this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the park have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens, and for your encouraging recommendation. Thanks also for your travellers tip. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,570 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

OK...Our first room was very small...and no dresser. There was a desk but the bedside tables had no drawers(see ironong board comment below) Probably because it had a ginormous king sized bed jammed into it. There were no luggage racks, I had to request them. I ended up using the ironing board to put my stuff on. Air conditioning/heating thermostat didn't work properly and the system rattled for 2 nights straight...on the third night my husband had had enough and called front desk. They sent someone up who couldn't get it to work properly either. We got moved to another room the next day on the 3rd floor...(no view-except for the gas station...for this i flew 7 hours from NYC??) Now this room had a dresser (hooray) and being a corner room was bigger and even fit the king sized bed and the cot for my son. A much nicer room. Ok...now for the rest...I guess because of the room change they didn't missed giving us our wake up calls for the next 2 days. Only seemed to get it straight on the third day (finally) after my husband complained. We asked for top sheets on our beds and we never knew when we went to bed at night if indeed it would be on there. We finally decided to leave a note for housekeeping every morning requesting top sheets. This hotel also seems to have very heavily closing doors. You can hear people going in and out all up and down the hall at all hours. The wireless service was spotty at best. If you do not want to sit in the lobby for this you can sit at the elevator seating area on your floor. But don't expect constant wireless service in the room
Ok...the good stuff...very nice location, three (three!!) elevators! Clean. Nice bathroom with great showers. A good view if you are up high enough (like we were initially). Convienience store in the gas station downstairs (handy). Convenient location for trains AND buses. Good neighborhood-I felt safe. Shopping nearby, park right across the street. Pleasant staff, nice concierges.

Room Tip: Ask the size of the room before you book if you don't like being cramped or if you are bringing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am genuinely sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. During your stay we did experience some global issues with our WIFI provider BT Open zone, I am fully aware this must have been frustrating for you and other guests. Your feedback is shared with the team and we will resolve the issues you encountered with your heating and noise disturbance from the doors in the corridor. Thanks again for your feedback, and also for your positive comments.


Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for business and added extra night for a theatre visit. Had a superior room which is worth the upgrade. Fab views overlooking the park and the binoculars in the room were a nice touch. All staff were friendly, particular concierge and breakast wait staff. Egg chef was great and the breakfast was the best i've had in a long time. I would not hesitate to recommend and will request this hotel in future for my business stays

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billieteacup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. All of our executive bedrooms and our main restaurant have great views over Hyde Park. Thanks also for your feedback about the team. I look forward to welcoming you back.


Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hotel is in a great location .rooms spotless and breakfast great.would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unhappyvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Garden and for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Comfortable location near underground. Friendly, professional staff with an eye for service. Our room was clean, gave a good nightsleep in comfortable beds, with soft pillows and bedsheets. It was the perfect size for at extented visit to London for sight-seeing and shopping. Typical breakfast served - Again with good service.
Would pick this hotel again for our next shopping-spree ;09

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Signe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next shopping spree.

Billy Hughes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#460 of 1,077 in London
918 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Blakemore Hyde Park
#310 of 1,077 in London
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#372 of 1,077 in London
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road | Hyde park, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,576 - ₹ 18,892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing