We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Ranked #216 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Went back in March 2012 for a weekend break with the girlfriend. Location wise was perfect. Right next to the London Eye, Big Ben visible from the opposite side of the river Thames. The room was huge (King Guest Room, River view), Bathroom very nice and + clean and the shower was unreal!

Staff were very friendly, the breakfast was very nice, food hot and large selection. Swimming pool was slightly cold however large and hardly used whenever we visited.

Walking into London centre (Trafalgar Square approx 15/20 min walk) Oxford Street approx 30 mins

Overall a very good experience and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saintsforever99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    689
    269
    115
    69
See reviews for
803
742
78
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for several days on business. I was disappointed in just about every possible way. The hotel is extremely old looking, inside and out. While the entrance is in the grand style of an old world hotel, you would expect the rooms to maintain the same old world charm but reflect new world comforts, convenience and luxury. Nothing could be further from the truth. The rooms make you feel as if they have not been renovated in decades (inexplicable since the hotel opened in the late 1990s). My initial room was extremely small and old looking, with an uncomfortable bed that was mounted on wheels so that it rolled every time you sat down on it. The towels in the bathroom had holes, and the tub would not drain properly. I cannot emphasize enough -- everything looks old; if you are interested in a hotel with even a hint of modernity and today's comforts, choose another Marriott, because this is not the place for you. As other reviews have noted, the executive lounge is cramped and the service is also sub-standard. The staff's first reaction is to say "no" to all manner of requests. Can I switch rooms? No. Can I check in early? No. Can I order a sandwich to eat in the bar area? No, you have to eat that in your room. Do you have sweetner for coffee? No. For the prices charged by this hotel, you would have expected a more accomodating attitude, and it was lacking. I will close with three words of praise which saved this review from being even more negative. First, after I complained bitterly about my room the first night, the Guest Relations department of the hotel did switch me into a larger, more suitable room. Second, to make up for my troubles, the hotel granted me free breakfast in the restaurant, which was appreciated. Finally, the one part of the hotel that was rennovated was the bar and restaurant, which is a pleasant enough place to enjoy a drink (if the staff will serve it to you). Caveat emptor.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is as large as possible; the entry level rooms are extremely small. Do not take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EM326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Went to London from our base in Brussels for an overnight. Got there on the Eurostar by 10:00 a.m. The County Hall Marriott is in a great location for sightseeing. Obviously right next to the LondonEye and Westminster Abbey, etc.

We had two rooms. One for our teenage sons. They were not able to get us connecting rooms but that was fine we were just two rooms away. My sons had a great river view looking toward the bridge and Big Ben. Two double beds and a very clean bathroom. My husband and I had requested a river view as well but with a king size bed. Well, technically I guess we did get the river view too.....while looking through all the metal that makes the LondonEye. So my kids got the more romantic river view for sure. The room was very clean with lots of room. I know rooms in the city are usually very tiny....we definitely paid for this space!

Breakfast at the executive lounge was free but not too exciting. Kind of tight on space. With 4 of us there were limited tables. We ended up between the entry door and the bathroom door. The premade scrambled eggs tasted a little funny. They must have added something (cheese or milk or some spice).

The concierge was helpful and pointed us in the right direction for dinner. The Gaucho; an Argentinean steakhouse. Very good. Although when we asked for a pub for some lunch he sent us to the Sherlock Holmes Pub which was so so and we had to wait a long time for the food. He also made it sound like it was the closest one....but on our walk back later that day we found several pubs along Whitehall. I kept thinking that the Concierge's brother in law must own the place. It was over near Charing Cross.

Well, back to the hotel. The only other minor complaints that I had was that we only had 1 bath towel so I had to call for additional towels. And our room was located right near the housekeeping storage room so when we came back after a long day of walking and just wanted to crash on the bed to sleep the housekeeping staff was in and out of their storage room constantly and the door slammed every time. Made for a jarring nap but at least they stayed away at night.

Was fun to stay there in that location once. For the money I'd go back to the Marriott Renaissance in Holburn. A little less centrally located but elegant, quiet and still near a Metro. (see previous review)

Room Tip: Choose a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed in a Big Ben view - room 328 - for 3 nights.

When we drove up the door man took care of all our luggage. At check in we were told that the room was not ready but would be in 90 min we said it would be fine as we would be sight seeing. We were told the luggage would be in our room. When we checked in later, it was smooth and one of the men showed us to our room. Unfortunately the bags were not in our room so the guy went down to get me for us very promptly. When we went to the executive lounge our key card didn't work so we went down to reception. Fortunately we ran into a lady there who said she would fix the problem and she did it promptly. She even took pictures of us at the piano. Great attentive service despite the minor mistakes.

We informed the hotel it was our anniversary and our sons birthdays and we were pleasantly surprised to find a platter of cakes for us waiting in our room. It was much appreciated and delicious treat. The hotels location is fantastic and you have to stay in the big Ben room as the view is great - we got big Ben in one window and the London eye in the other window, the room is big and nicely appointed. There is nothing like waking up to the chimes and view of big Ben in the morning.

Pros
Great location
The rooms are spacious by London standards
The big ben room means that you get big Ben in one window and part of the London eye in the other.
The bathroom is your typical Marriott bath room.
The staff are friendly.
They take your notes into consideration and despite the minor errors they fixed it right away.
You get bathroom scales and slippers.

Cons
The executive lounge was a bit small and the food on offer lacked variety. Choice of drinks limited to Pepsi. Lemonade, mineral water, orange juice and red and white wines and some beers.
The walk to the room is quite a trek. It took 7 min for us to get from our room to the outside world including time to get a lift.
The corridors could do with a facelift.
The water pipes can be bit noisy when some one is taking a shower and you are outside on the bed.
The muffled chimes of big Ben can interrupt your sleep if you are a light sleeper.

Overall, it is the views that wowed us - 4 star hotel and service in a five star location.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a big ben room its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABagOfJourneys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed in this hotel 3 different times. The last time, it was my husband's first time in London, and I cannot think of a better hotel to have stayed in than this one. The view of the hotel and from the hotel, at any time of the day, is breathtaking.
You can feel the mixture of classic and modern.
The staff at the reception was very friendly, the concierge desk was very helpful at all times.
The rooms are nice and comfortable, good size considering London.
The bar is a must, just to hang around and have a cup of tea or a beer.
The location is great, across the Big Ben and Parliament, walking distance to two tube (metro) stations, you can also ride the double decker bus just outside of the hotel. There's a river walk right in front and if you prefer to just walk around the hotel you can find nice little restaurants.
I highly recommend this hotel, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: view to the Thames River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulinaCg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#99 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel County Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel County Hall

Property: London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Address: Westminster Bridge Road | London County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England (Formerly Marriott London County Hall)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in London
#206 Romantic Hotel in London
#230 Family Hotel in London
#243 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,333 - ₹ 38,757
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel County Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted with a signature backdrop, the historic London Marriott Hotel County Hall is in close proximity to our city's main attractions. With views of Big Ben, the banks of the River Thames and overlooked by the London Eye, landmarks are a short stroll away from our hotel's doors. Our hotel boasts distinctive venues that can accommodate for every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel County Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London County Hall Hotel London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing