We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sensibly priced good quality option in the heart of Kensington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kensington House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kensington House Hotel
Ranked #514 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Sensibly priced good quality option in the heart of Kensington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012 via mobile

Nice modern conversion of a traditional Kensington terrace. Located just off Ken High Street opposite the park. Shops and restaurants are a couple of minutes walk. High st Kensington tube is about a 10 minute walk. In the other direction the Albert Hall was a 10 minute walk and Harrods about 30 mins. If going to Harrods meander through the back streets to see the real Kensington rather than along the High Street.


Room was small but well kitted out and with clean modern decoration. Despite being at the front it was quiet and had a good night sleep. Rate included a nice buffet breakfast - not a massive choice but it was all fresh and good quality. Cooked options are available as a paid for option and were freshly cooked and worth it.

Breakfast is the only meal served and the bar is soulless but as there are at least a dozen eating options within a 5 minute stroll then it really wasn't an issue

There is a lift to all 4 floors and all in all, for London prices, this was a really good value comfortable option in a perfect location.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    140
    64
    19
    11
See reviews for
48
124
50
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

After many years and hotels in London, including 5 stars there is a small charming hotel that will suit everyone, at a great price. Located off Kensington High street . Other reviews have complained about the construction noise but dont be afraid, it minimum and only during the day when your out. We noticed nothing even walking by site. The rooms are small but very clean, free WIFI, nice little bar with a small but complete breakfast buffet. The staff are as good as any 5 star hotel. You are 15 minutes walking to Museum of Natural History, VA Museum and Harrods. Very upscale neighbor shops. If you like to exercise, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are just across the road. Book early there are only 41 rooms but worth exploring

Room Tip: rooms in back have better view than front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericsweden_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed for three nights in January as part of a business trip with three colleagues. We had chosen this hotel because, having stayed before, we knew it was comfortable and the breakfasts were good. Indeed, the rooms are small but they are fully functional and clean. More importantly the beds are comfortable. Initially we had been put into the junior suite (room 114) facing the enormous building site opposite but having stayed in the junior suite next door before we asked to change. The noise from the building site was very loud and there was a draft from the windows. Thankfully we were able to change rooms. Room 115 was much much quieter and we were unable to hear any noise. Three nights of excellent sleep and three great breakfasts. No major complaints at all. Only one gripe, individual wifi codes are given but they only last 48 hours so you have to reapply for another code if you are staying longer. However, speed was excellent audit was easy to access. Also, the bathrooms are very very small. You can practically do everything a the same time!! I would however, stay here again as you can not fault the location. I would recommend you ask for room not facing the building site. It is huge and won't be completed for some years yet.

Room Tip: Choose room 115 if booking the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kensington house hotel in mid January in order to go to the Royal Albert Hall to watch the Cirque de Soleil.This hotel is in such a good location for the RAH and for the museums, shops and restaurants. It is well served by the underground and local buses to take you all over London. The rooms are small, but clean and with plenty of storage. Although there is major building work going on across the road it did not trouble us as we were out during the day. The building site was well organised too with street cleaning machines keeping the area clean. Staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. We asked for non feather pillows and they arrived in seconds. brekfast was plentiful with a good choice of cereals, fruit and pastries. Cooked breakfast was available at an extra charge.This was our 2nd stay here and I am sure we shall stay here again when we next go to London

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patanddaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was my third stay at the K-House and I just think it is a great, little hotel. I was traveling with my husband and our daughter/son-in-law and we booked 2 standard rooms. The rooms are small, but are clean and have comfy beds and decent bathrooms. The breakfast is great and the fact that it is included helps contribute to the overall value. (you do pay extra for any hot/prepared items like eggs/meat etc., but the continental is free and includes several breads, cereals, juice, cured meats/cheese....). As mentioned in other reviews, the lift is quite small, but we just sent all the bags with one person and the rest of us used the stairs.

There is currently construction going on right across the street (i suspect London is scrambling to prepare for the Olympics) - so there was noise pretty early in the morning. This was not true the other times I stayed, so once it is complete I would imagine things will become far more peaceful.

The location is great - 2 underground stations w/in a 10 minute walk and lots of shopping/dining opportunities close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#169 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#369 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#238 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#695 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#324 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Hotel

Property: Kensington House Hotel
Address: 15-16 Prince of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,807 - ₹ 18,982
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with classic designs, tasteful decor, restaurant; situated near Kensington Gardens & Albert Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Kensington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing