We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington House Hotel
Ranked #526 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night only, which was more than enough. I have stayed in many 3/4/5 star hotels throughout the world and especially in London. This hotel was not deserving of even a 3*. The only thing to recommend this hotel would be the location near to Kensington Gardens. The hotel is opposite a very large building site which starts work at around 7.45am with heavy lorries moving in and out of the site all day long. The reception is in a pokey little room, although we were checked in very promptly. Went up to the 4th floor by lift which says it could accomodate 4 persons but I would not like to try this out.
The room itself was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, it was very dated but not as bad as the bathroom which was a very unpleasant environment to spend any time in.
The breakfast was OK when it finally arrived although we were left sitting there for about 10 minutes before my friend went to ask if we could have some coffee and hot food.
Fortunately we did not spend a lot of time in the room, we moved the next night to the Jumeriah Carlton Tower which was beyond comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ypadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

A few suggestions before you book your hotel in London. Make sure the hotel you are considering is easy to access from the airport or railway station that you will be arriving into. Secondly, how easy will it be to get to the main tourist sights from this hotel.

We found the Kensington House Hotel to suit our needs admirably. ( Be careful when looking thru' hotels as there are many hotels with very similar sounding names ... make sure you are looking at the correct one ! )

We were flying into Heathrow and used the Piccadilly Line ( NOT the Heathrow Express ). OK , it takes about 40 mins to get to Gloucester Road tube station but you don't have to worry about making any changes. Cost is on £5 per head. The hotel is only 6/7 mins walk away.

The hotel is located in lovely part of Kensington. Your neighbours will be the most affluent of London residents ( house prices start around the £2m mark !! ) and numerous foreign embassies can be seen in the adjoining streets. Kensington Palace and Gardens are literally across the road from the hotel. ( we were lucky enough to have good weather on our visit and enjoyed beautiful walks every morning thru' the gardens which will take you all the way to the Diana Memorial garden and all the way to Knightsbridge if you so wish )

What really impressed us was how friendly the staff in the hotel were. From receptionists to the staff in the b/fast room to the congenial manager Antonio, each was just so helpful.
For example, we really do not like using the underground and intended using taxis to get around. However, Antonio explained how easy it was to use the numerous buses which run along Kensington . ( these worked out so well that we did not need to spend the money on an Open Top Bus tour ). We really had the full services of a local tourist guide on the premises.

Hotel is very clean and comfortable. The lift is tiny and only takes two people. We never used it as thankfully we are both fit enough to be able to use the stairs to our 2nd floor room.

B/fast room is nice and bright and the Continental b/fast is excellent. As stated above, staff are very friendly. All the principal International newspapers are provided.

Royal Albert Hall, Natural History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum are all about a 15 min walk from the hotel.

For getting around, we purchased Oyster Cards which allowed us to use all the buses and the Underground. ( we both used approx £25 of credit on our 4 day trip )

One final point. If you intend to spend a lot of time in your bedroom, this hotel may not be for you as there is extensive rebuilding going on nearby. However, if like most tourists, you intend getting up around 8.30am and heading out for the a day's sightseeiing after b/fast, the building work will not be a problem. We hardly noticed it. All work has to cease by 5pm to comply with building regulations.

So many fab. restaurants around the area. Will pass on our views to anyone who needs a bit of advice on the ones we found to be worth a visit.

All the best .

Eamon & Ruth

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheGannetIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Even though we had some problems with the Internet, the lock and the hot water in our room; the staff was really friendly and tried to help us.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M29G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for five days in late September and found the staff to be extremely kind and helpful. The rooms were adequate but small. The lift was barely adequate and out of service one day. The continental breakfast was very good but wished they had started serving a little earlier as we had to be one our way for tours by 6:45 two of the days. The pictures were rather deceiving as our rooms (we had two because we stayed two days and left and then returned for three more days) never looked like that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neljjjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We were met with the most terrible noise from the building site across the street, and this continued from 8 a.m. every morning and all the day long. Couldn't be in the room during the day because of this.
The room was looking very tired, we stayed in a suite and had to buy a sheet to cover the sofa because it was so full of stains!
The bathroom had loose tiles, the railing over the tub was loose and there was visible taped wires in the bathroom. (dangerous!)
The blinds doesn't close properly.
Not possible to use the safe. It was on the floor in a very narrow closet facing the other wall.
Aircondition didn't work until the last day.
Internett should be included, we had to ask for a new code every eight hour!
This is NOT a 4 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#140 of 1,075 in London
868 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#373 of 1,075 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#425 of 1,075 in London
807 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#529 of 1,075 in London
640 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#375 of 1,075 in London
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kensington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington House Hotel

Address: 15-16 Prince of Wales Terrace, London W8 5PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#324 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 10,078 - ₹ 17,485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kensington House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel with classic designs, tasteful decor, restaurant; situated near Kensington Gardens & Albert Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kensington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing