We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #448 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel because we were able to combine it with our flights to get some discounts. This is a well located hotel, within a 10 minute walk of two underground stations and a block away from Hyde Park. The location is the best part of this hotel. We enjoyed our time in London, and if you're looking for a simple hotel to crash at night, this hotel is affordable and well located, but be aware that the rooms are small and in need of several updates.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Mari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Mari C thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel.

We are constantly striving to improve our customer care and all feedback is greatly appreciated. The hotel has just completed a first floor refurbishment, and further refurbishments are in the process of being carried out throughout all our guest bedrooms. As a historical building we endeavour to conduct some refurbishments to rejuvenate the hotel for the benefit of the guests.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Our room was SO SMALL (How Small was it??) that we couldn't even use the closet - the doors wouldn't open! There were 2 of us, and literally only one of us could be on our feet at a time. The most egregious omission in the room? No fridge! That meant that all of our lovely cheese we'd purchased to have for snacks had to go into the bin. We were there for 4 nights, and in that time, we lived out of our suitcases, because there was simply NO STORAGE. That said, it was in a good location, in close proximity to tube stations and Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Arlene744 thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your stay with us in August.

We were very disappointed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. Whilst room sizes vary due to the historical design of the building, storage space is available in all our guest bedrooms. Many of our rooms also have a fridge, a room with a fridge can be requested and we are always happy to offer guests alternative rooms when availability permits.

Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and we rely on guest feedback in order to highlight areas that we need to focus on.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The only good thing about this Hotel was the nice staff.
If only we were given a room that is advertised on the Internet!! Our room, a double was very small which may have been ok if the bed was comfortable but it was the worst we have ever slept in. Luckily only booked one night as we were going to another hotel nearby. The next Hotel even though we are paying a little more, is so superior.
The breakfast was adequate, although with all the lovely fresh fruit in season at the moment I wondered why tin fruit was served.
The location of the Hotel is very good. Close to Paddington station so you can walk as we did with our suitcases. One of the reasons I booked this Hotel! Also very close to several tube stations and Hyde Park.
I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Anne N thank you for posting a review of the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your stay with us in August.

We were very disappointed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. As the hotel is not purpose built room sizes do vary due to the historical design of the building. However we are always happy to offer guests alternative rooms when availability permits.

We were surprised to read your comments about breakfast as preserved fruits and fresh fruits are both available on the buffet.

Please accept our apologies for any shortcomings experienced during your stay, and we sincerely hope that you will consider the Lancaster Gate Hotel for any future visits to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Cute little hotel in a convenient spot neat an underground station, Kensington Gardens, and Notting Hill. Short walk to some major tourist attractions without being bogged down by tourist traffic. Rooms are small, but comfortable enough for a trip when you're rarely in your room. Morning breakfast was adequate.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Alison B thank you for posting a review of the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your stay with us in July.

Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and we rely on guest feedback in order to highlight areas that we need to focus on.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We had 4 nights in May 2017. Standard Room. Room size was more than adequate. The hotel is located in a great location very handy to several train stations including the circle line. Very quiet location but very easy to get everywhere. Good breakfast with loads of variety. Restaurant meals were average but had an average price too. Several pubs and restaurants close by. Would stay again and highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Sharon I thank you for posting a review of the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your stay with us in July.

Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and we rely on guest feedback in order to highlight areas that we need to focus on.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#301 of 1,081 in London
2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#445 of 1,081 in London
941 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#912 of 1,081 in London
1,028 reviews
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#564 of 1,081 in London
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,686 - ₹ 14,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing