We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate hotel near tube stations and Paddington Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #448 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Stayed here with my son in early July as part of a package deal booked with airfare. We arrived into London Heathrow Saturday evening after missing our connecting flight (never fly Edelweiss!!). Since the hotel is less than a mile from Paddington we took the Heathrow Express and decided to walk to the hotel vs the really long line at the taxi stand. Our room was ready on arrival and check in went smoothly. I have heard that if you book rooms through this other website you will get the worst room in the hotel. It's certainly possible that's what we got! Since I was traveling with my son we needed 2 beds and that is what dictated our choice of hotel. There is a small lift but we still needed to go up 3 steps to get to our room 125 on the first floor. The room itself had nice high ceilings, 2 beds, a TV (don't know if it worked as we never turned it on), a long desk under the window and a small closet and small bathroom. The beds were O.K. but the pillows were horrid. We also could never get the AC to regulate. One night we'd have it set to 22 and be freezing the next night we'd have it set to 22 again and be boiling! Our room had a window that was partially open and we couldn't open it anymore or close it. Additionally, it looked out over a courtyard off the kitchen and other hotel rooms. But we didn't go to London to stay in the hotel. It's 2 blocks to the tube station, 1 block to Hyde Park and bus lines and the public areas were lovely. WIFI was free and worked fine and the included breakfast we had was more than sufficient. My son said the OJ was the best ever! I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again but if the price was right (like this time) I wouldn't avoid it!

Room Tip: If accessibility is an issue ask about the steps. Avoid room 125.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cardbucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for reviewing the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your stay with us in July.

Customer care is an area we are constantly striving to improve and we rely on guest feedback in order to highlight areas that we need to focus on.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights. Our room was clean, but dated. Bed wasn't the most comfortable, it was fine on one side but you could clearly see (and feel when sleeping) the sag on the other side. Springs creaked and groaned each time you moved. Room came with a safe, extra pillows and blanket, air conditioning and free wifi. Loved all the channels on the TV. Each time our room was serviced all our newly opened soap and gel was removed and replaced with new ones each day which seems like a bit of a waste. We ate a few meals here for dinner and they were pretty average - microwaved to warm up and a bit disappointing. Breakfast was great though. Staff were always really friendly and helpful. Great location - close to two tube stations and right opposite Kensington Park. Bus stops only a few minutes walk as well and there are a few convenience stores right around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JulieONZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for posting a review of the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were disappointed to read your comments about the staff not being friendly, and about the problem you encountered with finding the room.

Every effort is made to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay with us, and it is unusual for the reception team not to know the location of the rooms. Please be assured your comments have been taken on board and corrective action has been taken where necessary.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any shortcoming experienced, and sincerely hope that you will consider the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Stopped here before our 1st leg of our 200 mile charity walk. Great hotel with very helpful and attentive staff. Room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Beds were really comfortable and had a really comfortable night's sleep with the aircon keeping the room cool despite the heat outside. Had a tasty breakfast in the morning with plenty of choice.Great hotel would stop here again if back in the area. Thanks to the hotel for all their help.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Walk4Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Walk4Louis thank you for reviewing the Lancaster Gate Hotel.

It is always very encouraging to receive a positive review like yours and we hope we can welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next trip to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Typical Bayswater Hotel. A lobby bar was a plus. Lots of nearby pubs and restaurants and close to tube Statoils. Had to pay extra to keep luggage for a couple of hours after check-out. I have never experienced this in other place.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aslak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for posting a review of the Lancaster Gate Hotel.

We welcome all guest feedback as we are constantly striving to improve our customer satisfaction.

Left luggage on departure incurs a small charge as storage is very limited and priority is given to arriving guests who are not charged for leaving luggage until rooms are available.

Once again, thank for your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We booked this hotel as we were going to the BST event in Hyde Park. After the previous night in a very dodgy Airbnb, it was a wonderful relief to be in a clean and comfortable twin room! Such a treat to have cotton sheets, comfortable mattresses and a clean bathroom after that awful bnb!! Lovely, helpful staff who promptly delivered more tea and coffee for us to have in our room, and a delicious buffet breakfast. Only one problem, when I checked out I was given the invoice in a sealed envelope. When I got home I found I had been given someone else's bill for a 4 day stay. Still waiting for the hotel to get back to me and reassure me that my credit card hasn't been debited for their bill. Hopefully, I will find out that I was billed for my one night stay only and that they just gave me the wrong invoice copy! Apart from this, it is a very nice hotel and very close to tube/bus services and handy for Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sueskyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Sueskyblue thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Lancaster Gate Hotel.

We were delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed our buffet style breakfast.

We were surprised to read that you were given the wrong bill, this is very unusual and your comments have been passed on to the front desk.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any short comings experienced, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#301 of 1,081 in London
2,078 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#445 of 1,081 in London
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Commodore Hotel
#912 of 1,081 in London
1,026 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#270 of 1,081 in London
1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,225 - ₹ 14,254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing