We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #398 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and found it to be perfectly acceptable in most departments, not outsanding but you get what you pay for which was a clean and spacious room which was a bit dated decor wise and the TV was also from the last century but we booked the room to sleep in not live in so it was unimportant.
The room was a very generous size, especially for London and was dual aspect which gave a good view towards the City. The hotel location was a good central point for most attractions and was well situated for public service transport as it was surrounded by tube stations,

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and I'm glad we didn't as we saw the queue for it on the way out so it probably is good/ good value as they queue was very long but seem to be moving reasonably quickly.

You can get cheaper hotels but don't overlook this one as it does seem good value for money for the area and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExcaliberMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,223 - 2,227 of 3,168 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed there for a business, so I didn't care about the price. Our company paid 130GBP for the twin room, which is was way too much for what you get. Neither breakfast nor internet included in the rate! You can do so much better in other hotels around. Rooms are not worth 4*, old, worn out, not so clean as you expect of hotel of this category, A/C was too noisy all night long. On the other hand room facing the post yard was quiet.

Moreover, subway is quite long walk away as well as tourist attraction.

Definitely not be mine choice Nr. 1 next time...

Room Tip: room facing the post yard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear loobo,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We are sorry your room accommodations fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here on busines last night .The rooms were ok but I could not get internet access unless I went down to reception and paid for it .I had given my credit card on arrival but they refused to take any monies off that. The girl on reception was rude and said" if you dont come down hen tough" .

I am a Platium member and they did not give a stuff . The take it or leave it attitude grated on me as I am loyal to this chain.

Breakfat was cold and when we took it back we were told you will have to wait for us to re heat it again! I told them they needed to do fressh. Everyone was complaning about the cold breakfast sadly few of the staff cared or said sorry .

I wont be back

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Droopydrawrs52,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The receptionist tried to put 3 ladies in a room with two double beds even though we had paid for two rooms.
Use of swimming pool was 3.50 and 4.95 internet for 15 minutes,even though I just wanted to download my newpaper onto my Kindle.
When we went to breakfast we were checked by 3 different people just in case we tried to sneak in.
Eastern european staff very unhelpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buster205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear buster205,

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked this hotel after booking then cancelling a Travelodge at Covent Garden. We normally visit London every year or so and in the past we have stayed at Travelodges. I booked Covent Garden, then realised for very little extra, I could get a Holiday Inn, 2x Double bed room,with breakfast. No brainer!
The hotel was a 10 minute walk south from Kings Cross. Check-in was a breeze, 2 room cards given without being asked for(always handy) and a brief explanation of breakfast times, spa times etc. We were given room 647, 6th floor with a decent view looking south over London towards St Pauls, the Gherkin, the new Shard etc. Immediately outside the hotel is a large Royal Mail depot(Mt Pleasant) but I can honestly say we never heard ANY noise from it, trucks etc. Our room had 2 double beds, table/chairs, en-suite bath, fridge, tea/coffee facilities and TV with the regular extras. The room, although looking a 'wee' bit tired, was clean and adequate for our needs. Our party consisting of 2 adults & 1 child, we had no issue with space, or lack off.
Breakfast was served from quite early(no idea, I don't do early) until 10-10:30. We breakfasted most days around 08:45, there was a small queue immediately outside the lift where someone takes names/room numbers then they direct you to either the continental breakfast room or English breakfast room. We were 'EB', queues were no more than 2 minutes but this looked longer when we left after 09:00. Breakfast itself was more than adequate. Plenty Juices along with teas and fresh coffee on offer. Croissants(& jams), bread rolls, cereals, dried and fresh fruits, yoghurts were available along with a full range of self service hot breakfast items.
We never used any other facilities in the hotel as London is busy busy, plenty to see and do. For those that like a drink to wind down in the evening the hotel bar seemed quite quiet but I chose to go to the Pakenham Arms, a nice little pub 2 minutes west of the hotel. plenty wines and real ales to choose from.
Leaving the hotel, we got the tube everywhere, you have a choice of Farringdon, Kings Cross or Russell Sq. The hotel is equidistant from all of them and is around a 10 minute walk. We chose Russel Sq most days as it's on the Piccadilly line, handy for Leicester Sq, Covent Garden and South Kensington(Natural History and Science Museum). We used Farringdon when going towards the Tower of london/Tower Bridge and the South Bank,
Overall, another excellent London hotel experience, if the price is right I will definitely book here again!!

Room Tip: Entirely up to the individual, but I would suggest a room higher up, away from any potential road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayEff74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#140 of 1,078 in London
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in London
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,894 - ₹ 20,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing