We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal London hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #126 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal London hotel”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We were extremely happy with our stay at the Crowne Plaza. Spacious (especially for a London hotel) twin double bedded room and very clean bathroom. Excellent buffet choice at breakfast and the garden was a quiet oasis to sit in rather than staying in the room. Unfortunately, only one computer to access the internet for free by guests in the hotel foyer so this was constantly in use. Hotel is in an ideal location for easy access either by foot, bus or tube for shopping, tourist attraction, museums and places to eat. Recommend Tower of London - arrive for 9.00am - do Crown Jewels first and a Beefeater tour. Any ladies who have time for pampering can highly recommend a facial at Liz Earle (www.lizearle.com) which is within walking distance of the hotel or by tube at Duke of York Square by Sloane Square, Kings Road.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityLondon, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
Oh how delicious, thank you - in response to the mention on here about only one free computer terminal in the lobby we are adding an extra computer very shortly - for our Club Lounge guest there are already two free terminals - oh the added value!

No mention of Mr Choudrey at Memories of India this time - but we're going to try for a free prune & radish facial me thinks...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    882
    204
    38
    23
See reviews for
980
626
112
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My husband, daughter and I returned for a three day stay last week. We first stayed at this hotel in August 2007 and we were very pleased with the upgrades. I have been closely monitoring the reviews so was prepared for both the slow elevator service and the non working wifi. Once the second elevator is installed I am sure that problem will resolve itself. The renovation makes the place much brighter and comfortable. We had a double room on the fifth floor which gave us a decent amount of space for the three of us. the rooms are small but manageable and we came to London to sight see, not to spend time in the room. Like a prior reviewer noted - you do need to keep your clothes in the suitcase as there really isn't any storage space for clothes outside of a closet for hanging things. We overlooked the garden which I had requested at the time of our reservation last Spring and that was nice. . We opted for the breakfast plan and I was impressed with the new bright dining room (two years ago you ate downstairs which was somewhat dark and dank) and the good service. The food, while plentiful was just ok. On the other hand, it was extremely convenient as all three of us tended to wake up at different times, it was nice to have a place to go while waiting for the rest of the family to get up. We should note that we booked and prepaid for our room three or four months ago so and we had a really good rate which I am sure made us more tolerant of slow elevators etc.
The location of the hotel is terrific. The Glouster Road tube station is a half a block away and there are several reasonably priced restaurants just a short walk away as well. We ate at Little India, Memories of India and The Prince Regent. All had decent food. A Waitrose supermarket is directly across the street and a small Tesco about a block away.
The hotel staff was kind and attentive. We had a small problem with the TV and that was rectified within 20 minutes and a taxi was arranged for us to bring us back to Heathrow. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPlannerBrooklynNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityLondon, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
It's always lovely to welcome people back, especially when we can show off our new look.

The new lift installation continues with aplomb and apeach and bit of spanner-ing - we will soon have a matching twin for the other new lift.

Our free wifi has proved incredibly popular so we have just completed a survey to finalise where to add more mushroom-things on the ceiling to improve the service - we still offer a super-high speed wired service in all bedrooms, sadly at a charge.

I see Mr Choudrey at Memories of India gets another mention - what should we ask for this time when the girls and I print out this review and go for lunch again - pakora I think...mmmm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We had just one night in London in transit to Spain and we didn't want to spend a fortune. Based on the revies on Trip Advisor, we stayed at this hotel and we were not disappointed. We were 2 adults and 2 teenagers in one room--2 double beds. So it was a bit cramped. But hotel is well-maintained and quiet despite being on a very noisy road. But what really stood out was the staff. The desk clerk not only checked us in but once she heard we were on our way to Barcelona, asked all about where we were staying and offered advice. When we had an issue with the TV, the manager on duty came upstairs right away and fixed it. The concierge worked with us on making the most of our day in London and in organizing our travel to Stansted (the trains were on strike - eek!) and he arranged alternative transportation without a glitch. The breakfast was lovely - veddy British. My only complaint was that after 10 pm you cannot get food in the bar (which is open - and the bartender was very sweet- from Australia) you can only order room service. In many ways this was a perfectly ordinary hotel made better than that by a very attentive staff. Exactly what we wanted and needed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityLondon, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
Ole! It's so nice to hear that our guys and gals looked after you during your stay.

For those folk who worry about having 4 people in one room we do have a number of interconnecting rooms available on a first come-first served basis which offer oodles more room.

I will speaking to the food & drink department about no food after 10pm in the bar - I can't see a reason why the room service menu can't be served to you in there!

Hope you had a lovely time in Barcelona and a good poke around the Boqueria - it's a gorgeous place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I think perhaps the incredible reviews this hotel had gained led me to have unrealistic expectations ... I was expecting something very special and it wasn't. It was perfectly adequate, but not special. I booked on a reward points rate so maybe we got a small room as it was free but it was small ... no space on one side of the double bed for a bedside table or stand of any sort and not really space for anyone to get in or out of bed. the windows had had some type of frosting applied so there was no view whatsoever.

Everywhere was clean and tidy, bathroom again was small - I'd love to say perfectly formed but unfortunately the toilet paper dispenser was attached to the side of the bath which led to damp paper once one of us had had a shower. That apart and the short bath, it was lovely... again clean and modern.

My main concern was the air conditioning ... it was fine on Saturday afternoon, but when we returned from the West End at 11pm the room was stifling, the windows locked and I had a really poor nights sleep. On check out the next day the receptionist intimated that there had been a problem over night so maybe we were just unlucky.

Don't get me wrong, the hotel was stylish, the staff friendly, we had no problem with the lift, the toiletries lovely and the pillows soft. I think we had a particularly small room, an unfortunate experience with the air conditioning and possibly over inflated expectations. Would I stay there again? Possibly, but I'd pay for a deluxe room if I could get it at a decent price.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank janiebubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityLondon, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
Thank you very much for your comments and I'm sorry to hear that the air-conditioning wasn't as powerful as you would have liked in your room.

We do have a range of rooms & sizes to suit many budgets and we look forward to any feedback from you should you choose to stay with us again in a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2009

My wife, daughter stayed at this hotel for a week. If you're looking for a boutique hotel but seek dependability of a quality chain hotel, this is a great place to stay. It is a former Holiday Inn which has been renovated/modernized to current Crowne Plaza brand. This means that lobby and rooms are modern/trendy and comfortable. Yet, it has the feel of a boutique hotel - there aren't ten thousand rooms and the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The pictures on the hotel website are quite accurate.

Service is excellent on all fronts. If you need ice (I asked for it every night), the room service staff brought it within 2-3 minutes. The concierges are very helpful and knowledgeable. They steered us to an excellent family run Indian restaurant that is within a five minute walk (Memories of India, by the way). Because the hotel is not huge, you get to know the staff. One night my daughter needed scissors to open one of those bullet proof plastic packages, the concierge immediately produced a pair and skillfully cut it open. When we went up to our room after opening the package, we left, of all things, a dog toy that we had bought at Harrod's. The next day the concierge recognized us and gave us the package. Little things like that are huge to me.

Our room was, for the most part, comfortable and roomy enough for the three of us. We faced the rear courtyard, which is a great place to sit. There was no street noise. My only complaint was that the air conditioning was a bit weak for weather that was quite warm by London standards (90 degrees). I mentioned this to the front desk in the morning; when we returned that afternoon, it had been adjusted and they had left a fan for us. The elevator situation is a problem; however, if you're on a lower floor (we were on the 3rd floor) you can easily walk up the steps. They're working on getting a new second elevator installed.

The location is awesome - a block away from the Gloucester Road tube stop. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. And, there is a grocery store (Waitrose), drug store (Boots), convenience store (Tesco), and the ubiquitous Starbucks all on the block between the hotel and the tube stop.

Altogether, the few flaws are minor inconveniences that are greatly outweighed by the quality of the common areas, rooms, fantastic staff, and reasonable rates.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picky_from_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalityLondon, Guest Services at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
Well ding-dong and thank you - it sounds like you had a brilliantful sojourn under our roof.

I was so pleased to hear that you thought the website photographs were accurate - that was another of my efforts (along with responding to reviews on here, listening to the general manager sing Petula Clark and promoting Mr Choudrey at Memories of India for free portions of gulab jamun)

We look forward (and sidewards and upwards) to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,067 in London
605 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,067 in London
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,834 - ₹ 32,258
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing