We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #140 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Great location for a long weekend in London. Just over the road from Gloucester Rd tube station and within walking distance of Hyde Park, Museums, Harrods and Sloane Sq with its excellent shopping. Also just a 2 minute walk from Bombay Brasserie, an excellent Indian restaurant!

Having stayed in numerous other hotels in London this is probably one of the best in terms of location, service and value for money.

We booked directly with the hotel online and received quite a good discount by booking a few weeks ahead of our trip - was cheaper to do this than book through other websites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear JonandVib
Thank you or your review of our hotel. Like many othre guestsd you have appreciated our fantastic location, close to so many attractions. You are right that we are close to Bombay Brasserie, a great Indian restaurant, but we also have Umami, a great Asian restaurant right here in the hotel, serving a range of authentic Thai, Malaysian and Indonesian dishes in surroundings influenced by a Singaporean Feng Shue Master. Why not give it a try on your next visit.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,063
    829
    196
    32
    22
See reviews for
902
570
103
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed for nine nights at the Crowne Plaza. On the whole, it was a great experience. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. It faced a very busy street but noise was not a problem. Rear facing rooms have a view of the hotel's large garden. I booked a club room that included breakfast and access to snacks all day long. In the evening, the club lounge served drinks and canapes. The canape selection was rather limited compared to other Crowne Plaza's that I've stayed at but this was the only one that served hard liquor, usually it's berr and wine only. I noticed that one man asked for a particular brand of liquor and the lounge staff immediately brought a bottle from the bar. The breakfast was good although I can't say I'm too crazy about English sausage or bacon. I didn't realize that we were supposed to eat breakfast in the club room, not the restaurant. Apparently if you eat in the restaurant, you will be charged for it. After a couple mornings of eating in the restaurant (and being told it wasn't included in the room) someone at the front desk finally explained that we should eat in the club room. But they were nice about it and we weren't charged for the breakfasts in the restaurant. The food selection in the club room was about the same so it wasn't a problem. But the restaurant was more comforable so I wish we could have continued to eat there. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially when I needed a doctor. My left arm began aching and swelled up suddenly. Tony at the concierge desk arranged a cab to the nearest hospital. It turned out I had an infection from a bug bite. I have to say the care I received was excellent. I'm a registered nurse and worked in hospitals for 20 years so I know good care when I see it. And, it was free! Timea was another friendly employee that made the stay enjoyable. The hotel location is perfect for sightseeing. There's a tube station across the street and most attactions were just a few stops away. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear CaliforniaMax
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us.
I do hope your arm is feeling better now.
Our club lounge does offer a full complimentary bar each day 6 - 8pm and light snacks and soft drinks 24 hours a day. A complimentary breakfast is served each morning as well.
I hope you will be back with us again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I would like to share my great experience at Crowne Plaza Kensington !
I've enjoyed the stay... I've been there 2 nights.
PROS : location- friendly staff- restaurant and bar- Metro station 10m away- concierge service very helpful and always present- really fast room service (special thanks to Timea for her kindness at the bar !)
CONS : I'm platinium member and I was a bit disapointed with the room : I had two beds instead of king size one (normally platinium receives an upgrade and I was supposed to receive the newspapers as well but I didn't get one ! ) But no worry these are details....
Anyway I can recommend with no doubt this hotel ! It totally worth it !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Charlotte D
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.
I am sorry that you did not like your room, as a Platinum Priority Club Member, you were upgraded from the standard room you booked, into one of our Deluxe rooms. Our Deluxe rooms are our larger rooms and all have 2 double beds as well as plenty of space.
As a Platinum Member, you also had free wi-fi, which is an additional benefit we give at this hotel.
I am pleased that you found our staff so helpful.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

The choice of hotel was the first best decision we made the 2nd being the timing of our holiday - 31st August '12 to 7th September '12 as we were greeted with wonderful weather.

About the hotel,the service was outstanding - The room was spacious though I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the earlier reviews.The staff was very very helpful will just add the names I recollect doesn't mean the others weren't good enough - Sebastian, Times,Diego, Jennifer,Manpreet, the ladies and gentlemen at the reception and concierge,housekeeping and everyone else.A huge thank you for making our first trip to the UK memorable in such a lovely way.The location as everyone else has commented is the best one can have.God willing we shall be back and this time I wouldn't have to worry about the hotel or how to find our way in the city as I know we can depend on the staff.Thank you guys once again.Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gita405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Gita405
I am delighted that you found our staff so helpful during your recent stay. We have a great team here and everyone of them takes great pride in the service we offer our guests - it is, after all, the people, who make the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel.
I do hope you will be back again soon now that you have discovered us.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Kensington for a week in early September. We were traveling with our two teenage sons and had to get two rooms in expensive London. We took advantage of the Crowne Plaza's internet prices and were able to swing two Club rooms for 155 and 176 GBP a nite. Not cheap, but pretty great compared what other hotels in the area were charging.

The hotel was totally worth it! Great location a block from the Gloucester Street tube station and right in the middle of South Kensington within 5 minutes walk to the National History Museum, Science Museum, and V&A. A little longer walk to Hyde Park and Albert Hall, and further on -- Harrod's.

The rooms were very comfortable and had clearly been recently remodeled with care and attention to details and amenities. The Club Room allowed for bigger rooms and access to the club area on the first floor with complementary cocktails at Happy Hour, two computers to access the internet, and complementary breakfast. A great place to unwind and rest from a hard day's day.

The staff was extremely friendly and courteous -- Ms. Luzzetti at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and helped us with check in's, directions, and dining recommendations.

Great experience all around but the absolutely BEST thing was the private garden in the back of the property. Our rooms had views to the garden and a lovely old church that abutted it. It was quiet and peaceful -- a perfect place to relax in the morning with coffee. We were out in this garden every day. It was the right place to energize before heading out to the tube and the London streets for hours of sightseeing.

Great place -- would absolutely return next time we head to London!

Room Tip: Look at the Club Room rates and if you can swing the price -- do it! They are worth it! Also, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear HMBParis
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, I am so glad that you and your family had a great time here.
You were right to take advantage of our on-line prices, the best rates for our hotel are always on our own website.
I do hope you will be back in London again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#121 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,465 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,709 - ₹ 21,008
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing