We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #119 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The choice of hotel was the first best decision we made the 2nd being the timing of our holiday - 31st August '12 to 7th September '12 as we were greeted with wonderful weather.

About the hotel,the service was outstanding - The room was spacious though I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the earlier reviews.The staff was very very helpful will just add the names I recollect doesn't mean the others weren't good enough - Sebastian, Times,Diego, Jennifer,Manpreet, the ladies and gentlemen at the reception and concierge,housekeeping and everyone else.A huge thank you for making our first trip to the UK memorable in such a lovely way.The location as everyone else has commented is the best one can have.God willing we shall be back and this time I wouldn't have to worry about the hotel or how to find our way in the city as I know we can depend on the staff.Thank you guys once again.Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gita405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Gita405
I am delighted that you found our staff so helpful during your recent stay. We have a great team here and everyone of them takes great pride in the service we offer our guests - it is, after all, the people, who make the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel.
I do hope you will be back again soon now that you have discovered us.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,485 of 2,513 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Kensington for a week in early September. We were traveling with our two teenage sons and had to get two rooms in expensive London. We took advantage of the Crowne Plaza's internet prices and were able to swing two Club rooms for 155 and 176 GBP a nite. Not cheap, but pretty great compared what other hotels in the area were charging.

The hotel was totally worth it! Great location a block from the Gloucester Street tube station and right in the middle of South Kensington within 5 minutes walk to the National History Museum, Science Museum, and V&A. A little longer walk to Hyde Park and Albert Hall, and further on -- Harrod's.

The rooms were very comfortable and had clearly been recently remodeled with care and attention to details and amenities. The Club Room allowed for bigger rooms and access to the club area on the first floor with complementary cocktails at Happy Hour, two computers to access the internet, and complementary breakfast. A great place to unwind and rest from a hard day's day.

The staff was extremely friendly and courteous -- Ms. Luzzetti at the front desk was very helpful and friendly and helped us with check in's, directions, and dining recommendations.

Great experience all around but the absolutely BEST thing was the private garden in the back of the property. Our rooms had views to the garden and a lovely old church that abutted it. It was quiet and peaceful -- a perfect place to relax in the morning with coffee. We were out in this garden every day. It was the right place to energize before heading out to the tube and the London streets for hours of sightseeing.

Great place -- would absolutely return next time we head to London!

Room Tip: Look at the Club Room rates and if you can swing the price -- do it! They are worth it! Also, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMBParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear HMBParis
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us, I am so glad that you and your family had a great time here.
You were right to take advantage of our on-line prices, the best rates for our hotel are always on our own website.
I do hope you will be back in London again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel which is close to Gloucester Road tube. Hotel staff seemed very helpful. My room (220) was a very good size and was quiet. Bedrooms are very well appointed and modern. I was a little surprised to pay £15 for 24hrs access to wireless but other than the wireless charge, the hotel is good value for the great location and good standard of room (£160 B&B). The bar/restaurant also offered good value in my view.
I am normally up and out but my meeting was not until the afternoon so the 12 noon checkout was useful. Many hotels are now 11am checkout so I was pleased to get the extra hour.

This is a good standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Chrisdawson
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us recently, although sorry that you felt our wi-fi charge was unreasonable. We have only recently installed wi-fi in all our rooms ( as opposed to hard wired broadband access) and this is a much more expensive and faster sytem than we would have in our own homes. Our charge for 24 hour access is in line with other quality hotels, although we do include free wifi access throughout all areas of the hotel to guests booking our Club rooms and suites. We also give free wi-fi to our Platinum Priority Club members.
Platinum Priority Club members can also take advantage of a later check out , subject to room availability, so there's two great reasons right away why membership is so good, as well as collecting points in any of our hotels worldwide.
I hope you will be back with us again very soon.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in London, and the Crowne Plaza Kensington was our base. We have stayed there for over 6 years (It was a Holiday Inn when we first stayed there). The owners have completed refurbished it, what a stylish combination of decor and facilities. This hotel has a beautiful garden, where we relaxed and had afternoon tea something that must be pretty unique for a Central London Hotel. Breakfast was pentiful in both choice and quality.
The staff here really make you feel welcome, smiling and efficient from the moment you step through the doors you are made to feel very special, thank you so much for making us feel so welcome and at home and making the weekend memorable, for good reasons.
We will certainly be back on our next visit to London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the gardens. Very close to Gloucester Road Underground, so a good centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear SandeD56
I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you liked the newly rennovated ground floor - we used the services of a Feng Shue Master from Singapore to help in the design, so that the public areas are calm and restful whilst still being very stylish and contemporary.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to London.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

What a surprisingly nice stay we had at the Crowne Plaza in Kensington!! We used to stay in the Vanderbilt just a few doors down because we love the location (easy to access from the airport, close to the tube station to get around London, etc.) but found it to be really expensive on our last trip, so I wanted a close alternative.

The staff were awesome, the room was super clean and quiet (it backed onto the garden and church), and the breakfast was pretty good although still expensive at 14.95GBP per person, and we had to commit in advance. I thought the WIFI was stupidly expensive at 15GBP per 24 hours, but overall, we had a really nice stay here. I would definitely recommend this as a great place for London Tourists.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back to avoid the traffic noise from Cromwell Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Mrs Pol
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you chose to try our hotel as an alternative to our neighbouring hotels.
Our garden is quite unique for a central London hotel and does provide a great outlook for many of our bedrooms.
Our wifi is priced in line with most other quality hotels in London, although we do offer free wifi to guests booking our Club rooms or suites and also our Platinum Priority Club members benefit from free wifi in this hotel ( I hope you signed up to Priority Club whilst you were here, there is no cost involved and you start earning points right away).
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#65 of 1,077 in London
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,077 in London
810 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,001 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 11,692 - ₹ 22,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing