We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #135 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We were at the Crowne Plaza London Kensington for four nights. The hotel is centrally located, with the Gloucester Road tube station across the street, and museums nearby. There are also quite a few restaurants in the area. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable, although the room could use better lighting. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The hotel also has a nice lounge/bar and garden area. Friends who live nearby, but had never been in the hotel, were surprised at how nice the hotel was, and said they're going to recommend it the next time they have visitors looking for a hotel in the area. We had a room facing the garden and it was very quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the garden, as the front of the hotel faces a main road and may be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Caryn C
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
I am delighted that you and your friends liked our hotel (which has recently completed a refurbishment of the entire ground floor) and that you had some nice weather to enjoy our unique garden.
We look forward to wecoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    865
    200
    36
    22
See reviews for
949
599
108
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at the stylish Crowne Plaza Kensington for four nights.We arrived by train from Heathrow Airport because the hotel is very close to Gloucester Road underground station.The staff at reception were friendly and efficient.Our room was ready to move into well before the official check in time.The mattress was comfortable and we slept well.The bedroom was clean and quiet.A supervisor checked to see that each room was cleaned and serviced thoroughly.

The room was too cold when the air conditioner was set at the warmest temperature but turning the air conditioner off solved the problem when necessary.
There are lots of restaurants,cafes and fast food outlets across the road for those who don't want to eat at the hotel.
The location of the hotel is excellent.We walked to Harrods,Science Museum and Victoria & Albert Museum.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Searcher 33
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that like so many other reviewers, you found our staff so friendly.
We look forward towelcoming you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Wonderful staff made Father's Day even better, breakfast buffet was good and not cold llike most hotels, tube station just around the corner and buses outside the door. An added bonus a great garden good to sit outside and relax with a galss of wine

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Richard B
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad you had one of the few dry days last month to enjoy our 1 acre garden, a unique feature for a central London Hotel.
I hope you will be back again very soon.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This hotel is in a good location, easy walk for the tube. There is a handy waitrose across the road for those forgotten items!.
We stay in this hotel group often for business and pleasure and this is a good example of a Crowne Plaza if you have stayed in one before.
Reception staff were very good, efficient and polite and explained clearly where everything is etc , which is good when you have been travelling for hours and your brain is in meltdown.
Concierge (?spelling) gave good direction and information.
The rooms are smaller than other CP hotels and we did feel we had been give a standard room and were assured it was as requested. That said the room was clean and comfortable and contained all we needed.
I would certainly recommend using the club lounge. This is an extra and you get a discount if you have a priority card. The waiter in the evening was excellent and made us feel very welcome and comfortable as was the young lady at breakfast. Exceptional service really!
All the public areas are very tastefully decorated, comfortable, and the food in the bar is reasonably priced and we enjoyed what we had. We didn't use the main restaurant at all during our stay.
The only negative we experienced was that we needed to use our room mid Saturday afternoon as we were going out early and it hadn't been serviced, no problem really as we just asked for clean towels at reception.
All in all we had a very enjoyable "point break" and can recommend this hotel if you want a bit of style but don't feel you need to tip toe around and talk in whispers!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalikesdislikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Lindalikesdislikes
Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Kensington, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you found our staff so helpful.
I'm sorry that your room wasn't serviced as early as you would have wished. Our housekeeping team are on duty and cleaning rooms all day; whilst they generally clean the departing rooms first in order to have rooms ready for arriving guests,if any guests ask to have their rooms serviced at a particular time, we can of course do that.
I do hope you will be back again soon and will maybe try our new Asian restaurant, Umami, on your next visit.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My family and I were in London for a four-day get-away to celebrate our daughter's high school graduation. Our garden-facing room was very comfortable and quiet. However, the most exemplary thing about this newly renovated-property was the friendliness and caring staff. Not only was our reception warm and efficient, the concierge staff, especially Head Concierge, Tony, were willing to accomodate any whim, any circumstance. The staff really came to our aide during the second day of our visit after a very unfortunate spill that I took on the sidewalk not far from the hotel. Not only was my injury was attended to right away by the reception staff, who also called an ambulance, the next day, I was showered with complimentary tea and chocolates. All the staff was so kind and concerned. We've traveled a great deal, both for business and pleasure and find that it's the staff that really makes or breaks a hotel--and this staff ranks up among the very best. Kudos to the Crowne Plaza London Kensington! You will be our first choice the next time we visit London!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JerseyJudy714_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear JerseyJudy714-14
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and in particular that you found our staff so helpful.
I do hope that your bruising from your fall has gone down now and I look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#126 of 1,088 in London
533 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
3,575 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
2,666 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#188 of 1,088 in London
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,020 - ₹ 27,206
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing