We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First time in London? Stay here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #147 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First time in London? Stay here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

This was our first time in London. The Crowne Plaza was a great spot for our family of 3. The hotel offers the ambience that only London can give. It is clean and comfortable and offers a nice quiet lounge area. Kensington is the perfect location to stay. Only a block to the Tube where you can get around with ease. We felt very safe and were able to walk to all the major sites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4travellin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear carolynandfamily
Thank you for leaving your feedback on the hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel was clean, comfortable and safe and that it had a great ambiance and location. I'm sorry that you only felt able to give us a 3 out of 5 satisfaction rating, it would be really helpful for us to know what would make the difference for you between average and good or great. We are constantly striving to increase our standards and exceed our guests' expectations and we rely guest feedback to help us in this.

Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    840
    199
    34
    22
See reviews for
913
582
104
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

No apologies for specificity of this review, as a business traveller i unwind at the gym and often chose the hotel on this alone but on this occasion it was the right location and i was not expecting much from the gym but WRONG!, crowne plaza sort out your website picture (singular) - this beats the Hilton Metropole by 1000 yards - i was the only person in the gym 2 nights running at 7-8pm - 2 rowing machines, 3 runners, 1 bikes, 2 steppers, free weights, dumbells, and 3 technogym machines for arms and legs - plus lots of floor space for doing your own thing with high quality matts, balance balls - water/towels - and the AIR con works on 1st touch, a first - been to 2 hiltons in last 6mths and both gyms were furnaces and nothing worked. Okay, so i love the gym - dont go - its mine!
Otherwise, room service was quickest off the bloc and to be honest, very reasonable - about £12 for pizza or have a tasty chicken burger with all extras for about the same, high spec room and diary milk chocolate bars and bottled water for free, cutsy lavender sleep sprays and roll ons, gimmicky but effective and it shows CP works just a little harder to make the stay memorable and special, its not the cheapest hotel but in its price bracket it really outperforms and outshines the competition.. i just booked CP in Downtown Berlin for October and i really hope to be as impressed.

Room Tip: Phone before you book and let the staff advise you, they will be honest - my review is based on n=1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarthMorrissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear DarthMorrissey
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed the gym as we have invested a lot of money in it. It doesn't get crowded, as unlike many hotels, we don't have an outside membership and retain the gym for the use of our hotel guests.
I'm glad you liked theextra touches in your room, we do try hard to ensure guests have a comfortable, relaxing and memorable stay with us.
Enjoy your stay at Crowne Plaza Berlin and I hope we will see you back with us again before too long.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked through Last minute and so was £99 per night. Was handy for central location as on the Picadilly line and museums.
The room was big with 2 double beds however was disappointed that the room wasn't cleaned the 2nd day and so had to ask for more milk etc.
Bathroom big and nice free smellies.
Not too sure who could justify £17.95 for breakfast, we went to Garfunkals and got 2 breakfasts for £11 and was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earnie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Ernie 1972
Thank you for leaving your feedback on our hotel. I was very sorry to read that your room wasn't serviced on thevsecond day of your stay - I'm not sure if you mean it wasn't serviced as early as you woud have wished - our housekeeping team are cleaning rooms up to 4pm each day and so some rooms are always done later in the day. We do however have housekeeping staff on throughout the evenings and so I hope our staff putthings right for you as soon as you mentioned it.
Our breakfast, priced at £17.95 is a full buffet breakfast with a range of hot and cold items so that guests can eat as much as they want for a fixed price, (at Garfunkles the price is for a set plated breakfast). We do offer breakfast vouchers at the time of check-in, for a £5 discount, and also children eat free in our hotel (whereas they don't at Garfunkles). It is personal choice at the end of the day.
I do hope you will return on your next visit to London - you will always find the best available prices on our website and we offer a best rate guarantee - if having booked a room with us you can then find the same room on the same date, cheaper on any other website, we will give you the first night free.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Good location. Happy friendly staff without exception. It was our anniversay and we were upgraded to a suite after mentioning it in passing upon checking in. Big surprise. Great location for the big three museums. Tube very close by for easy access to all of London and main sights within a 10 minute ride.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fixedgear155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Fixedgear155
Thank you for leaving your feedback, and thank you for choosing our hotel for your anniversary celebration. I am so pleased you liked the suite, we have 20 duplex suites in total which all have a bedroom upstairs and a sittiong room downstairs with one or two bathrooms and some have balconies overlooking our 1 acre garden.
I do hope you will be back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We've been there for a week, I wish we could sray longer!
The rooms are big (you can say huge for London), the room is well decorated, spotless, the bath room is huge, the staff is very welcoming and helpfull.
The breakfast is really good and there is a nice bar on the ground floor.
There is a subway very close, an excelent indian reasturant close by, Grafonkel across the street and you can walk to the amaizing natural museum every day...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Ravit1
Thank you for leaving your review of our hotel, my team are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
As well as all the great restaurants nearby, we have now opened a great Asian restaurant in the hotel - Umami, which offers a range of authentic Thai, Malaysian, Singaporean and Vietnamese dishes in stylish surroundings influenced by a Feng Shue Master. I hope you will give Umami a visit on your next trip to London.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#120 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,507 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,597 - ₹ 24,400
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing