We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but hotel is nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #131 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location but hotel is nothing special”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for 1 night at the beginning of March. There was some work going on in the foyer, staff were fine. Nothing extra special. Our room was fine although definitely not the best 4* I've stayed in, in London. Everything was clean enough, but not spotless. Shower over the bath, but no separate shower. Awfully placed loo roll holder though - as it gets sodden from the shower!

We had a corner room on the 6th floor and I can only imagine that the room was right next to a storage cupboard or something since there was extremely loud noices coming from the room (not a guest room) next door in the VERY early hours. Worst night's sleep I've ever had in a hotel. I now understand why there was a complimentary sleep kit on the bed!

For the price, I probably won't be returning to the Crowne Plaza Kensington in a rush. I'd rather book a budget chain hotel for the same experience and quality. Saying that, if you can get the room at a decent price, the hotel is fine (just not the amazing boutique hotel many booking sites and reviews would have you believe!) and the location was excellent, right next to Gloucester Road tube station and very close to many of London's museums.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripMember04272015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Loves2spooge
I am sorry that we were undergoing the final phase of our ground floor refurbishment during your stay with us. This is now complete and we have a much larger, brighter and more up to date reception lobby (most of this area would have been closed off behind a temporary wall whilst you were here). We have also refurbished our bar and lounge and have opened a new Asian restaurant, Umami, as part of this ground floor upgrade.
I do hope you will come back again and see the finished result.
Our standard bedrooms have a shower over the bath, but our Club rooms and suites have a separate shower cubicle as well as the over bath shower ( as well as many other benefits, including complimentary ise of the exclusive club lounge). Why not upgrade to one of these rooms next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    877
    202
    36
    22
See reviews for
968
612
109
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

People matter most! Location and hotel facilities are simply the best. However, I have a special remark: The Crowne Plaza Kensington Team! In almost 30 years coming to London, I've never had such a warm, personal service (by the way, I used to stay at The Landmark). It's impossible to describle the perfect service that my kids, my brother and I have received. From the bottom of my heart, my endless thankfulness to the entire staff: Tony, Karim, Giorgio, Alejandro, Ricardo, Daniela, Serkan, Ritesh... Please forgive me for not remembering all names, since housekeeping people, ladies at the reception desk, till the the topnotch service at the fantastic Asian restaurant. Now I definetlive have a home in London! God bless you all!

Room Tip: Anny room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oriovaldo Anton... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Oriovaldo
Thank you so much for your kind words which have been shared with all the team. we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the personal service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We arrived very early and although our room wasn't yet ready, we were able to check in and leave our bags with concierge at no extra cost.
When we arrived back after a trip to the Natural History Museum (which is less than 5 minutes down the road) we were surprised to find we had been upgraded to a club room (level 4). The room was spacious with good furniture and a massive bed. The TV was a bit tricky to work out - it kept going back to the pay-as-you-go movie channels - but other than that everything in the room was fab! There was a bath with a shower over it as well as a separate shower, robes & slippers and all the toiletries you could need. We even got the complimentary newspaper which we read whilst enjoying the yummy buffet breakfast.
I was very pleased with this hotel - the room, the service, the breakfast, the location - all brilliant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JossWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Adams_Girl
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.
I hope you got to try our new Asian restaurant, Umami, which offers a range of authentic Thai, Malaysian and Singaporean dishes in relaxed surroundings with design inspired by a Feng Shue master.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I travel to London 4 times a year, has always stayed at the Holiday Inn Kensington Forum Hotel. Due to a last minute change of schedule for an additional night in London, I decided to give the Crowne Plaza across the Cromwell street a try. Being a PC Platinum member, I was immediately upgraded to a suite on the first floor. Although the bedroom was a bit on the small side with the king bed occupying most space, it was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The sofa in the living room, however, was a bit too soft for my taste. Although my room was next to the busy Cromwell street, the insulation seems to have done a good job of filtering the noise. I was very impressed with this hotel and will definitely return on my next trip to UK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analyst1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Analyst 1953
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hop eyou will cintinue to use us on future visits to London when you want a little more luxury than the great Holiday Inn accross the road can offer.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel has recently had a major refurbishment which has been done very well resulting in an opulent foyer and comfortable rooms. The location is excellent - just across the road from Gloucester Road tube. There are shops and restaurants all around. The staff were very helpful. We booked this as a secret hotel so got a very good deal but I suspect the price will go up soon. I would definitely return to this hotel. The rooms were quite large and well appointed with a wide range of tea/coffee/chocolate and there were plentiful toiletries in the bathroom which was smart and clean. The only problem was that the magnifying mirror on the wall was in a most inaccessible position over the sink. Sadly the window would not open and the heat/cool unit was not working, so even though it was March we were far too hot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooperstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Sooperstar 100
Thank you for your review. i am delighted that you liked the result of our re-furbished ground floor with the enlarged reception and upgraded bar, lounge and restaurant. ( we will shortly be upgrading the garden too).
I am sorry that you were unable to cool your room sufficiently, I have asked our engineer to check the air conditioning to ensure it is cooling properly, particularly now we are entering the warmer months ( at last).
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,702 reviews
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#192 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,975 - ₹ 28,935
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing