We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #203 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

There are a number of hotels in close proximity to this one. Of those surrounding, this is my preferred choice.

The staff are friendly and effective. The rooms are bright and clean but are somewhat small with cramped storage.

They recognise Hilton members and provide that little bit of extra service / benefits which makes the difference.

I enjoy staying in this hotel and will continue to do so when working in the City.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,588
    1,838
    475
    118
    71
See reviews for
637
2,164
182
1,263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our 3rd stay in a central London Hilton hotel in in as many weeks and after the unpleasent experience of the one at Canary Wharf, this hotel has restored my faith in the brand.

Stayed for two nights with son for a mini break to see the London sights. The lobby was a nice surprise and there is a high ratio of front of house staff on duty for guests. Although our room was not ready, they were happy to store our bags as we started our sight seeing.

Hotel is just around the corner from Tower Hill tube station and the DLR is also close by. The number 15 bus which goes to Trafalgar Square and Regent Street is in front of tube (there are some old style red Routemaster buses on this route) so the location was great.

We had a nice view of the Shard and could see the top of Tower Bridge from 8th floor location. Room was compact but had a very comfortable bed, which was a queen size that was seperated into twins. The shower room was small but came supplied with toiletries from The White Company. Son loved the Mac tv/computer system.

Breakfast was nice although the tables are a little close together and there seemed to be too many. There is a wrap around roof terrace which son enjoyed taking pictures from. Oh some more bananas would be welcome, seemed a bit lacking.

Overall a lovely stay and I would definitely choose this hotel again. I would recommend the Doubletree Hiltons over those in the group just listed as Hilton. Far superior experience.

Thank you so much to the gentleman from maintenaince for sorting out the lock on my bag. He came within a couple of minutes of calling reception, was very friendly and helpful. Also the backroom staff. They always said good morning and a warm smile when you met them in the hall.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WatfordTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I travelled with my wife on pleasure and for 1 night. Check in was quick and effective - We requested and got an up grade - If you don't ask you don't get. The room was unremarkable ! Bathroom was very very small - Liked the i mac system though. Top travel trip - take something to cover the AC panel as the control lights are fat too bright. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Breakfast was amazing - plenty of choice for all tastes. One word to describe the Sky Lounge - breathtaking. Extremely local to tourist attractions and tube station...only fifteen minutes direct to Victoria .

Room Tip: Take something to cover the AC panel as it is very bright when you knock the lights out - I wonder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCJSOUTHWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Fifth night of a 12 night stay and couldn't be happier. VERY clean rooms, bathroom, hallways and lobby. Rooms are efficient, small as is usual in big cities. Everything well organized and comfy beds. A post-it over the bright blue lights of the temperature controls solves that issue, as mentioned in another review.
Staff has been extremely helpful and cheerful. Restaurant is really good, great breakfast which we had included in price of room and well worth it. We never have had to ask for more coffee. Keeps us going all day. Attentive and friendly wait staff that we laugh with. So very relaxing vacation!
Wonderful location to transportation to other locations. 5 minute walk to bus and Thames Clipper which are near Tower of London. Haven't used tube yet. Easy access to paths along Thames which gets you peacefully to other nearby locations.
Wandered into Burrough Market yesterday...what a treat that was. Fresh veggies, milk, incredible baked goods like apple tarts, steak & ale pies...we were lucky to stumble upon it while looking for a gluten free restaurant.
Sky Lounge has great views and friendly wait staff as well. Way too pricey though for drinks.
If you are wondering where to stay in London, STAY HERE. It is great! We have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for view to Tower of London, even though you can't see it. Faces a lovely ornate "tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsankawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had one of the most perfect nights of our lives in the DoubleTree by Hilton, Tower of London on the night of the 2012 Olympic Games Closing Ceremony.

My boss had booked us a room in the hotel, but before arriving he upgraded us.

The room was amazing, it had a separate lounge, one very large bathroom and a secondary toilet! The views from the lounge were great and had all new mac computers. The bed was great and all the extra bits and bobs were lovely (White company toiletries, cookie on arrival etc).

The night was amazing because we enjoyed the closing ceremony from the top of the Gherkin at Searcy's - but the hotel just topped everything off for us.

We enjoyed champagne from the Skybar before going out and on return after midnight we enjoyed cocktails once more in both the skybar and lower ground floor bar.

In the morning we enjoyed eggs benedict in our room and it came with complimentary pastries :)

If we were being super critical, a few things the hotel could improve would be a slight buzzing noise from the air con, and the fact that the room had no guest directory and no instructions on how to dial reception etc.

Overall the room was fantastic and the facilities were great - the hotel was a part of one of the best nights of our lives.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 855.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnIIe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#182 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,706 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#79 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,247 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#236 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#89 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,148 - ₹ 28,402
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing