We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #231 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Not up to standard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Based on the recent TA reviews of this hotel I decided to stay when in London last week on a business trip.

Entered hotel on a busy Sunday night after a long day having been fog delayed in Guernsey. Reception was very noisey due to a party going on. Check in was inefficient and hectic and the hotel tried to make me pay extra for breakfast even though my deal was breakfast inclusive.

Got to room and the much heralded internet on the Apple computers did not work and the hotel failed to fix this over the three days I was there. Only good feature was a fantastic view of Tower Bridge and Tower of London.

When I had a shower the whole bathroom and part of the bedroom was flooded.

This was a very expensive hotel and not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay and we are very sorry you had found the hotel to be noisy when arriving on Sunday. The hotel was hosting a private function which did have music, and staff had been aware to consistently monitor this in case of any extra noise which may have leaded to disturb our other guests. I'm sorry however you had felt this was loud and for how it had affected any part of your arrival experience. We do consider the wellbeing and comfort of all of our guests to be of utmost importance.

Additionally I am sorry to hear an issue with your iMac was unable to be resolved during your stay. If ever availability allows, should an issue be brought to our attention a room move will be offered or if this cannot be done an appropriate level of compensation extended.

It has been brought to our attention of an issue regarding a leak from a room's bathroom and this is being thoroughly investigated. I am very sorry this had happened during your stay and rest assured we are working to ensure this is resolved as quickly as possible.

We hope you will reconsider returning to the hotel in the future and as such please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

With kind regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,751
    1,986
    517
    132
    79
See reviews for
702
2,352
189
1,339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed here over the last two weeks for business. Lovely hotel with friendly, efficient stay. Quick check-on.

Rooms are great although not huge. All rooms have free wi-fi plus I-Mac. Usual amenities included-iron, hairdryer etc. The only drawback (for me) was that there was no bath in the bathroom.

There's a small fitness centre and rooftop bar which is nice.

Good location for the city.

Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyLou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear JillyLou123,

Thank you so much for your support in booking the hotel for this business trip. I'm delighted to hear this had been comfortable and you had found staff to be friendly (thank you for saying this).

I'm sorry however if you were at all disappointed at not having a bath. All of our standard rooms offer a shower only, however many after having used the shower feel this is great, but again we apologise if you were expecting a bath. Our suite category rooms (excluding Junior suites and accessible suites) would offer a bath as well as a shower, should you wish to enquire about booking a suite for a future stay!

I'm pleased that despite this would you not hesitate to visit us again and please let us know if we can be of any further help in the meantime.

Warm regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Ideally located hotel, near to tube, Thames, Tower etc. Lovely room (booked a suite) with fridge & complimentary wine & snacks daily. Good breakfast, helpful staff and fab sky lounge for drinks with a view, albeit a little pricey! Handy for lots of bars, eating places for which you don't have to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: Rooms on 10th floor are executive and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andypandy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear andypandy99,

Thank you for writing a review following this anniversary stay, we're delighted you had chosen our hotel to celebrate this special occasion!

We hope you enjoyed your suite and thank you for visiting Skylounge during your visit. We do accept that our prices can seem dearer as opposed to going to other smaller bars, however bearing in mind our location and the type of bar we offer we do hope our guests see the added value in this.

I hope you come to think of us when next celebrating and thank you again for offering us your comments,

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We recently stayed 4 nights at this hotel and forund it to be very nice in terms of the cleanliness, service and room furnishings. The bed is very comfortable and welcome after the long days of treking around the sites and subways.Washroom is nicely appointed and towels were of good quality.
The restaurants and bars were comfortable and the roof top view was very nice and great for photos.
Location is essentially right at the Tower Hill station and the tube gets you to all "must see " sites quickly at reasonable costs - no need to take taxis. This is a business district and as such there are a lesser number of restaurants and bars in the immediate area compared with Piccadily, A Tesco Express is a couple of blocks away and the fridge in the room is nicely sized to accomodate drinks and snacks.
The Tower of London attraction is a 10 min walk across the Thames and is a GREAT attraction to experience.
We would certainly stay here again and whole heartedly recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Providing you are close to public transit ... stay some distance from the heart of the tourist areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larson-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

What a hotel!!! We stayed during, what must of been one of their busiest weekend - 2nd and 3rd June 2012 over the Jubilee Weekend. Being Hilton Gold, we were upgraded and our room had an excellent view. The hotel was packed to capacity but this didn't have an adverse effect on the standard of service. There was a bottle of wine to welcome us in our room along with some chocolates - wonderful!! The staff were excellent!! When we went down to breakfast on the Sunday - the day of the Thames Jubilee River Pageant - all of the guests must have come down for breakfast at the same time and there was a line from hell. However, it was moving quickly and we were soon seated. I was amazed by the breakfast team - excellent. Despite the huge amount of people wanting breakfast at the same time, the team did an excellent job - great selection for breakfast, regularly replenished, tables cleaned quickly and all the staff had a smile on their face. Easy walk to the tube of the 15 bus which takes you straight into the West End via St. Pauls and Trafalgar Square - I much prefer the bus!! Again, another great gem in London at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#173 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,568 - ₹ 27,645
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing