We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good choice in a great location”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #234 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at The Rembrandt Hotel for the third time. We're happy to report that everything we liked about our prior stays is still true. The Rembrandt is two blocks from the South Kensington tube station servicing three lines. There are lots of restaurants in the South Kensington area.

For our stay this time the hotel management was nice enough to upgrade us to a comfortable Executive Room with a king size bed. Since our last stay it appears that the hotel has refurbished some of the rooms, including the one we stayed in, and the lobby. A couple of changes we weren't thrilled with are the lack of drawer space in the room and the fact that there is only one hand towel ring in the bathroom. They removed the dresser which left only a couple of drawers in the closet in which to keep your clothes. Something great - the hotel provides a free smartphone. We took it everywhere and relied on it heavily.

The breakfast buffet still has a good, if basic selection and, at no extra charge, you can order certain items such as eggs made to order from a menu.

We're happy to say the staff was as helpful and friendly as before.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SusanLLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SusanLosAngeles

Thank you for your very descriptive review of The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score! I am thrilled to see that you are returning guests and that on your third stay with us, we did not disappoint. I am delighted that you describe us as "a good choice, in a great location". Like you, we love our location in the museum quarter, close to Harrods, Hyde Park and The Royal Albert Hall. Plus we also benefit from great transportation links to the rest of the capital, as we are in between two underground stations and we are also on a 24hr bus route into the West End. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a complimentary bedroom upgrade and that you loved the Handy Smart phone, which allows you keep in touch and download useful information. The hotel has indeed undergone some refurbishment including some bedrooms, the hotel lobby and 1606 Lounge Bar. I am pleased that you found the team friendly and helpful and hope that you would consider returning on your next trip to London, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,708)
There are newer reviews for The Rembrandt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 2,708 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointment!!
Service was non existent...after a 20 minute wait, I had to go & find a member of staff to remind them we were sitting waiting. No teaspoons with cups & saucers, only 4 sugar lumps in sugar bowl, no jam with scones, no plain scones, extremely uninspiring sandwiches & a choice of two awful looking cakes!!
Throughout our tea, not one member of staff checked to see if everything was ok.
Not a good advert for traditional afternoon tea at all & on top of all this, 2 large tv screens on the wall playing sport along with an extremely noisy function taking place in the adjoining room.
Overall, a very disappointing experience which we certainly won't be repeating!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank gettingonmynerves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear gettingonmynerves

Thank you for reviewing the hotel following you visit for Afternoon Tea. Your description and experience is well below our usually high standards and I am shocked and disappointed that we failed on so many levels. I will happily investigate further, if you wish to contact me directly on ldenyer@sarova.com please refer to your TripAdvisor review. We strive to provide a quality product with friendly, helpful service, in a comfortable, welcoming environment. I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

My partner and I came across this place a few months again.

We absolutely love it :). Will defiantly visit again and well recommend the establishment. Give it a try if you want something nice and welcoming.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura_EYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Laura_EYY

Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am delighted that you describe us as a lovely place and that you would recommend us as a place to visit, as you found the hotel nice and welcoming. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable experience and to wish to return, so I am thrilled that you feel the same! We are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

My wife and I have stayed a week at this hotel. We had a really nice time and have enjoyed our stay there. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is 5 minutes away from a tube station which on one hand links to the airport and on the other has three lines passing through it. It suffices to say that pretty much every place we needed to go in London was a few stops away. The room we had was quite cosy and we were totally satisfied with the housekeeping. There were two negative issues we were unhappy about. First, the internet was rather bad in the room we were, so, for example, a Skype call would not go through. Second, we found the laundry service to be quite overpriced. On the positive side, we absolutely loved their idea of Handy, which is a smartphone they leave in your room for local calls and web access. Needless to say, an excellent service for tourists. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and would most likely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ttlas

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt following your stay in August. I am delighted that you enjoyed your week's stay and describe us as a nice hotel in an excellent location. We believe that our neighbourhood offers something for everyone; an abundance of restaurants, bars and cafes, Hyde Park, The Royal Albert Hall, plus three world famous museums and amazing shopping. I do hope that the positive aspects of your accommodation outweigh the negative and I am pleased that you used and really appreciated the Handy Smart Phone. Overall, I am thrilled that you had a pleasant stay and that you would most likely choose to return.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We didn't stay here but wanted somewhere comfortable to go to after walking round the V&A all day.

We were welcomed with excellent service and made to feel very welcome. My wife and daughter hit the cocktail menu and were spoilt for choice. Also the prices were comparable with high street bars and were good value for money and well prepared and presented.

If in the area would highly recommend, we'll definitely go back.

Excellent for winding down after a day at the museums if you're not pretentious and want to be seen in the street cafes getting bothered by beggars asking for "any change", oh and want to escape the pigeons".

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dg2832017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear dg2832017

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt following your recent visit to 1606 Lounge Bar. I am delighted that you discovered our comfortable lounge bar and that you found the service excellent and the team, friendly and welcoming. I am pleased that your wife and daughter enjoyed some well made, well presented, reasonably priced cocktails and that they were spoilt for choice! I am thrilled that we provided a great location for you to unwind and relax after a busy, enjoyable day at the museums. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,072 in London
3,345 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,072 in London
683 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#354 of 1,072 in London
529 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#142 of 1,072 in London
869 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,072 in London
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#177 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 14,232 - ₹ 27,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing