We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service in excellent location”
Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Columbia
Ranked #532 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Having tried several 3 and 4 star hotels in central London for my business trips I have now found a 2 star that I will be returning to time and time again. The rooms may be old fashioned, (especially the bathrooms), but the room rates are extremely attractive, especially considering many have views of Hyde Park, and if you prize clean and charming over high class, modern and expensive then try this hotel. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. The clientele seemed to be a real mix, lots of tourists, families as well as business travellers. Even a couple of rock bands on tour! The only thing I can say against it is that it would be nice to have internet access in the bedrooms, but there is WIFI in the downstairs public areas and they don't charge for it so I happily completed my work in the bar. Lancaster Gate tube station is just a 3 minute walk, and Paddington took me about 6 minutes. One of the ladies on Reception also advised they were on a bus route that runs between Oxford Street one way and Westfield SHopping Centre the other.. the perfect location for my next London shopping trip!

Room Tip: I like a quiet room, I was located on the 3rd floor with a view of a quiet road. The front has love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 307 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Columbia is an average budget hotel situated in the convenient and relatively pleasant area of Bayswater.

Don't expect a high standard of decor or facilities but, if you're looking for a basic, functional place to spend a couple of nights, then this hotel will probably suffice.

Rooms have clearly been squeezed into this hotel wherever there was a little spare space. I had a single room on the 2nd floor and this was in the centre of the building up a small, narrow flight of stairs to a sort of mezzanine level. The room itself was also on two levels with a narrow staircase down from the bathroom to the small sleeping area. This was fine for me but access would be impractical for anyone who couldn't easily climb stairs. If you do struggle with stairs then I would definitely check this before booking.

The decor throughout the hotel was tired and faded and the bedroom was no exception. That said, everywhere seemed clean and functional. The bathroom was dated and basic but sufficient, although the shower was fixed at a height of around 5'6", making it rather awkward to use for anyone taller.

Staff were reasonably efficient - although not especially friendly - and there was no WiFi in the bedrooms (although limited coverage was provided in the public lounges).

This hotel's biggest asset is its location. Situated just a 3 minute walk from Lancaster Gate underground station, it takes only a few minutes to travel in the heart of London's West End.

All in all, a basic but serviceable hotel in a decent location and at a sensible price.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank JDW-TKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for one night. I Will book again when I am back in London. Dont book expecting a corporate type hotel, but for the price it is in a good location and nice enough.
If you are arriving at paddington railway station the hotel is a 8 to 10 minute walk through pleasent streets. The hotel is situated opposite Hyde Park, if you dont want to walk (Marble Arch is only 10 minutes walk away) bus stops are outside, giving easy access to central shops and attractions. An underground (tube) station is 5 minutes away at Lancaster Gate. The hotel has a large foyer with reception area, staff were friendly and helpful. plenty of rooms across 4 floors. some of the decor and carpets are showing their age but dont let that put you off. Rooms are clean and large enough to have either a twin / double bed, dresser, chair, wardrobe TV, tea and coffee making facilities and ensuite bathrooms. Hotel also has a nice lounge, a small bar which also serves snacks and a spacious breakfast room. Tea, coffee, fruit juice, breads and toast are all included in the price, if you require more it can be purchased per individually priced items. A large secure luggage room can be used to leave cases if required. Good food, beer, wines and atmosphere is available at the nearby Mitre pub in Craven Terrace. I did not notice any air conditioning. Ideal budget hotel, better than many in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Hyde Park and on a higher floor. you will get a view through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortysomfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We chose this hotel due to price, after reviewing similar cheaper hotels in the area.
It worked great for us for one night. The room on the 4th floor was not somewhere to spend a long time. It was clean and had an ensuite bathroom, coffee and tea maker, and a small TV.
The previous reviews say the hotel is tired, and this is correct. The rooms and corridors are not modern.
Our rate included full English breakfast. This had many choices including poached haddock or smoked mackerel! The breakfast room and bar are probably the nicest parts of the hotel.
I found the staff very friendly. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our roof room on the 4th floor had a small round window without a view.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegobased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed on Columbia and booked directly on the hotel's website and ended up psying 22 GBP more per night compared to booking through booking.com. I saw a list in the reception of the room rates for the different guests, and they differed a lot. I asked in the reception about the reaon for this huge difference in price and was told that I could write the management of the hotel which I have done twice - without any answer. The service at this hotel is lousy, they hardly look up in the reception, and the breakfast is of very poor quality. The rooms are very old, the beds are uncomfortable and the bathroom/shower is for really small people! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrolAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#413 of 1,075 in London
904 reviews
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#445 of 1,075 in London
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#598 of 1,075 in London
648 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#225 of 1,075 in London
639 reviews
Caring Hotel
#536 of 1,075 in London
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: ₹ 6,460 - ₹ 12,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia Hotel is an independent, family-run budget hotel in Lancaster Gate, London. We aim to provide guests with modern day comforts whilst ensuring that the character, elegance and charm of the original Victorian property is retained. The Columbia Hotel is in an ideal location for visitors looking to explore London. The hotel overlooks Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens providing guests with instant access to two of London's greatest open spaces. Situated less than one mile from Marble Arch, there is quick and easy access by several bus routes and underground stations to city business centres, theatres, shopping and tourist attractions. Paddington Railway Station with the Heathrow Express train service is a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing