We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Columbia
Nearby Hotels
US$ 322
US$ 207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 229
US$ 222
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Hyde Park(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 133
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis London City-Shoreditch(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 175
US$ 141
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 261
US$ 216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 202
US$ 170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 878
US$ 669
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveller rating
132
398
270
72
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
398
270
72
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslancaster gatebayswater roadavocado greenkensington gardenscontinental breakfastpublic roomscentral linecommon areasalbert hallplenty of hot waterbus stopshort walkmarble archexcellent locationtea and coffeefull englishwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 913 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Finding a reasonably-priced hotel in a decent location in London is a challenge. A well-travelled friend recommended the Columbia to us. It is definitely "shades of former glory"--lovely chandeliers that are gradually losing their pendants, carpets that are getting worn, etc. We found that our bed was just too creaky, but when we politely explained our problem, the chap on the front desk suggested we try another room which was just fine. Free wi-fi in the public areas. Full English breakfast. The hotel is right on the edge of Kensington Park, which was great for us.

Room Tip: Do go down for breakfast in good time--service is better earlier in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BluesInTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The outside of the hotel was under construction which was not a problem. However they should be refurbishing the inside ! Our room was tiny with broken furniture no lamp or clock. The bathroom had mold on the was and tub. Too bad because the location is great
. We would not go back

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel is shabby, run-down, place is run by some ageing penny pinching types oorly lit, damp, and probably last refurbished many decades ago. It is characteristic of a London hotel industry that has hopefully moved on a lot since the 50s, which is where this place is marooned in. Hopefully someone will buy it and turn it around; such a shame given great location...

Room Tip: Find another hotel, there are better ones in Lancaster gate
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

stayed for a long weekend.nice area with good travel connections[lancaster tube station] and a bus stop just outside which will take you to oxford st.and kings cross etc.hotel breakfast just your basic continental but you can get a full english if you require at a price. as for the bedrooms we were on the 4th floor [smoking room] basic but clean.rooms cleaned every day .staff very nice and helpfull.for the price not bad.will go back again.

Room Tip: if you are a smoker ask for the 4th floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We chose The Columbia because of its relatively good value, proximity to a tube station, and the Hyde Park neighborhood. The room was just OK-very dated and worn. The bathroom had mold and mildew stains, and the towels were paper thin. The most disconcerting were the creaky floors! We heard every step our neighbors took and I'm sure they heard ours, too! The Wifi was free in the lobby, but not dependable. The desk staff members were helpful in directing us to nearby restaurants. We would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senorita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews