We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if discounted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Strathmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #505 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good value if discounted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We bought this blind on Lastminute.com as a 'secret hotel' for £88/night twin room no breakfast.
I was a bit nervous about buying an unknown hotel and phoned the Lastminute number for "more information". There was no more information, just the outsourced agent reading out what I could read myself on the web site. Fortunately, it paid off.

It looks like an old gentleman's club, with a nice bar / TV room and an expensive-looking restaurant (we didn't eat there).

The first night was in the smallest room in the hotel, 116. The ceiling plastering showed it was probably a quarter of the original house room. There was a step down from the bath into the room
which caused us to stumble during the night. So next day we asked to be moved and they moved us to room 516 on the top floor, the attic level. The management was very responsive, and the concierge pleasant and helpful.

516 had more space between bed and wall and the step was on the way in, not within the room. However the wall was thin - we could overhear next door's middle of the night phone call. And the double lock had been removed from the door. There was no view from the high window. There is no air conditioning. We don't mind sleeping with the window open, but if it was really hot in London that might be a problem.

We did not have breakfast there (£18 each for continental, £25 for British) but around the corner in Garfunkel's in Gloucester arcade, £9 each. Neither did we pay the hotel for wifi when it was free in Garfunkel's.

The room was well appointed, except for a tiny cupboard for the clothes, the bed was comfortable, the hotel was a 10 min walk to the Albert Hall, and the price was right for peak London summer / Olympic rates so we were happy.

Room Tip: Don't get 116.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    294
    135
    82
    42
See reviews for
110
251
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I am typing this on the final night of my stay in this hotel. It is 1:22am in the morning and I am waiting for the people next door to me to stop talking so that I can finally get some sleep. It is not that they are loud but more because of the partitioned paper thin wall between us. This has been a problem for all 4 of my nights here.

The room I am in is like a closet. Tiny bed, a excuse for a shower and absolutely no walking space.

Breakfast even for London is over priced. £24 for a full english!

Location isn't great. A few restaurants and pubs near Glousester station.

The staff are very friendly and it is clean.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel though due mainly to the rooms and crappy partitioned walls.....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oreiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Pleasant hotel but poorly signposted. We walked past it twice before finding it! Good service and nice room. Good value. Old fashioned feel to the place. Quiet street and yet only a 100 metres or so from the tube station.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrexhamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Booked this as a last minute to go to The Olympics. The hotel is tired and appears to be having a re vamp in places ... workmen and building stuff around the place. We only paid £99 + vat and got an ok room, very small but clean and adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonMackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked the Strathmore because of the favourable price and excellent location as we were going to see Paul Simon at Hyde Park. On reading some of the reviews we did not know what to expect, and we were pleasantly surprised. We were allocated a room on the third floor which had recently been renovated to a very high standard, although a bit cramped which is not unusual for London. It would appear that all rooms are being renovated. The entrance, lobby and lounge are still very old fashioned but this makes the stay more interesting and is a welcome change from the modern standard 'travel inn' type appearance. The breakfast is overpriced at £20 with a £5 supplement but there are some very good reasonably priced cafes in the vicinity. The staff were very friendly and professional. We would definitely return on a future visit to London.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FortBillPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#426 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#436 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#332 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#359 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#592 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#325 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,196 - ₹ 17,772
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing