We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs very much updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prince William Hotel
Ranked #785 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Rockaway Park, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs very much updating”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

although reviews were bad for this hotel i figured how bad could it be..well let me tell you....the room was in the basement down appx 13 stairs (the lift was broken)..so i hobbled down there fore had to leave suitcase in main lobby... room was old and dirty...needed cleaning...although towels were clean and there was soap and tea/coffee available. reviews had said springs came out of matresses and they were right....springs were popping out hotel needs a full makeover

Room Tip: some times you have to really believe the reviews i never did till now
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevyweby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    136
    170
    87
    150
See reviews for
86
207
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Buyer beware! Please listen to the majority of reviews, which correctly describe the appalling standard of this "hotel". We booked this hotel to allow us to spend an extra couple of days in london. Upon checking in, we had to climb 8 flights of grubby stairs, to scour the maze of rooms, unaided to reach our cell. Unable to find floorspace once our small bags were in the room, we sought refuge on the very small, terribly uncomfortable and dirty trundle bed. Nothing in this room looks to have ever been washed or repaired, the curtains are broken, allowing neighbors to look straight in, the drains in the shower/ basin are blocked and we would be better off sleeping on the floor than the threadbare mattress, through which every spring protrudes. We found the general attitude of the staff unhelpful, after mentioning our mattress issue we were told to ask the morning after (our sleepless night). In the morning we were given the key to another "better" room, which hadn't been serviced, to discover the same problems.

The location of this hotel is definitely NOT an excuse for the rates being this high. ANY hotel/ hostel/ under bridge accommodation will be vastly superior. If you can't get any accommodation in London for the weekend and this is your only option... Stay in Paris, or bring a bed, blankets, curtains, drain-o and bleach with you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneytouristAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Me and my 2 friends had read some of the reviews of this hotel before we arrived and were expecting a dank, dirty, noisy hotel with tiny rooms and unpleasant staff. However we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and our room was a perfectly adequate size, enough room for the luggage of 3 teenage girls. Admittedly the hotel was quite old, but it was clean, towels were changed and beds made every day and the bathroom was small but clean. Our room consisted of a double bed and a camp bed, which my friend said was comfier than her own bed at home. The 2 major problems were the heat, as the room did get hot at night and although a fan was provided it was still stifling, and the fact that the lift was broken, and we were on the top (5th) floor. However, we only paid £30 each a night, and so I would say we got our money's worth. I would recommend this hotel for young people; it is a good base for visiting the city as it is close to the centre and tube/bus stops, as long as you aren't expecting too much from a very cheap and cheerful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Do not stay in this hotel even if you're on a tight budget. The rooms are very old, almost crumbling and dirty. There is no isolation, so you can hear everything happening in the corridors. On the first night we were put in a basement room that was next to an Indian restaurant. It was so old and dirty and the air was hot and stinky, but we couldn't even air it. When we changed rooms we were put on the third floor and the room was lighter, but was still very old and dirty and the shower hardly worked. This hotel is below acceptable standards even in comparisson with hostels. It needs major renovation and cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I was taking my daughter on vacation her to show her what her Dad and I did 10 years ago when we came. I wanted to stay in the same places so we did.

The location is close to the underground and near all the attractions.

We needed a double for 3 of the nights and then a triple for 2 of the nights. We had to pay for a triple for all 5 nights because they were "booked." The triple was a double with a third twin bed put in it. Which made three of the four walls covered with bed and they all touched so it was pretty much wall to wall bed other than a narrow walkway from the door to the window. The mattress have to be the same wore out mattress that they had on the beds 10 years ago. It was so warm I slept on top of the covers and had put an extra blanket on top of the mattress. The air temp was very uncomfortable due to the time of year and NO AC. We had a very small fan.

The staff was very kind.

The breakfast was corn flakes, white or brown toast, Coffee, tea, milk, cheese, butter and jam.

I will not be staying at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosterPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Eagle Hotel
#830 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#204 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#730 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#544 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Elysee Hotel
#580 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince William Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince William Hotel

Property: Prince William Hotel
Address: 42-44 Gloucester Terrace, London W2 3DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #785 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,569 - ₹ 15,158
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince William Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18th-century corner period-listed building that combines Victorian and modern design, with all our 49 rooms fully refurbished. Just a few minutes' walk from Paddington tube and train station (with an express service to Heathrow airport), we are less than 5 minutes' walk from Hyde Park and just 2 miles from Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prince William Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Prince William
Prince William London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing