We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Last Minute Booking....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure London Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure London Bridge
Ranked #316 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Last Minute Booking....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As the title suggests this was a last minute booking to support work. The service was good, rooms good, and I ate there one night and food was very good I must say.
Due to work I was not there much, but when I was, I needed for nothing. Thanks Guys!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London City Bankside very soon.
Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    790
    299
    96
    44
See reviews for
282
815
135
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

As you can see from the other reviews, this hotel is well situated on the South Bank with most sights and attractions in the vicinity of The Globe/Tate/St Pauls in walkable distance. The check-in was welcoming and efficient. The rooms are small but clean and tidy and perfect for an overnight stay. I wouldn't stay here with kids unless I was on a budget. TV very small and old. No road noise or noise from other rooms. Find the air conditioner first! I didn't and sweated buckets all night - my fault. The breakfast and dinning are average but fine for the odd day or two. Don't pay full price if you can help it - this hotel is reguarly advertised on last minute type websites for a wothwhile discount. If you are paying full rates consider the nearby NOVOTEL which is a better hotel.

Room Tip: Book last minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepdiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
390 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Pros
- Reasonable price
- walking distance to thames & tate modern & st pauls & millenium bridge & shakespear theatre
- starbux, pret a manger across the street

Cons
- Temperature controls in the rooms seem flakey / unreliable. Overly warm sometimes.

- *terrible service ** - TV started spontaneously turning off. Called front desk , after 30 minutes nothing, called again. In the third attempt they finally came up. He looked at tv, and suggested a room switch was possible (by then it was 11pm). I asked if he could simply switch the tv's to which he said, he would need engineering to do that. It takes engineering to move a tv ? really? So much for trying to address a problem with a guest. A complete lack of under effort to fix the situation, and a lack of follow through.

- Internet access charge is steep. Unless your willing to sit in the lobby and get wireless.

- Bathrooms are a bit small & shower felt dingy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, and I hope we can welcome you back to Mercure London City Bankside some time in the future. Do feel free to call me on +44 207 902 0800 or email me on h2814-rd@accor.com to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband and I booked a room here for 1 night. We were up in London to see a show and fancied a night away from the kids. The location is spot on; very close to Waterloo (it took about 15 minutes to walk) and behind the tate modern on the south bank. Because it was a couple of blocks back from the river it was nice and quiet, but there were plenty of places to eat around.

On check in the staff were incredibly friendly and the lobby was nicely decorated and very inviting (with some very interesting clocks on the wall). Our room was next to the lift (but we didn't hear it at all) and we had a view of the main street below. The rooms are small but big enough and, like the lobby, very inviting. The whole place was clean, BUT, there were mold patches in the bathroom; not enough to put me off, but quite noticeable.

As a previous reviewed has written, although they look nice, the blinds are pretty useless. We stayed the night it snowed, so it was lighter outside than usual and our room was really light even in the middle of the night.

We didn't eat in the restaurant here and we didn't stay for breakfast. At £15.95 per person for breakfast, this seemed very expensive. We went over the road to Dell'Aziz for breakfast and it was lovely (it has a great selection of teas). Check out was straight forward and easy.

All in all, I would say that this is a really nice hotel. The board says that rooms are £285 per night. We paid £87 through hotels.com and would say that that price is a bargain, but it is not worth the off the street price. I think I saw that they rated themselves as a 4 star. It's definitely not a 4 star but it is nice. If you want a comfy place to stay, with friendly staff in a great location, then this is perfect. If you want something a little more special however, then I would perhaps look somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catmad96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

LOCATION
The hotel is few streets back from Tate Modern, so you're quite near to the riverside path at Bankside. The nearest tube stations are Southwark and Borough, each about a 5 to 10 minute walk away. There are several restaurants and cafes in close proximity and Borough Market is a short walk away. This is a good location to stay in London as there is plenty to do in the area.

BEDROOM
Like most London hotels, the room was quite small. The décor was a bit little bland and not in keeping with stylish reception area and (wide) corridors. We heard from the receptionist that the rooms are due to be refurbished soon which should hopefully bring the rooms up to date.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

The triple-glazed window had 2 sets of blinds and did a good job keeping out traffic noise and sunlight had there been any (we had 3 inches of snow the day we stayed).

The air conditioning was effective at keeping us warm and at drying out our snow-sodden clothes.

Our Room was at the front and had a view of Southwark Street and an office block.

Minor quibbles were that the safe didn't work (dead batteries?) and the TV had a couple of faults (permanent red lines displayed and the cable for plugging in an MP3 player didn't work).

There was a mirror on the wall directly opposite the bed - I'm no feng shui expert, but I suspect this to be a pretty basic mistake.


BATHROOM
Was compact and looked a bit dated, but everything worked flawlessly.
There was a bath with shower – the water temperature and pressure were spot on.
There were a few large chips in the bath enamel and the grouting was peeling a bit in places.
The sink seemed to be too large for the room.

FOOD
We only stayed one night so didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel.

SERVICE
As we've come to expect at a Mercure hotel, the staff were friendly, helpful, efficient and knowledgeable.

COST
Having booked and pre-payed in advance, the hotel represented good value for money.
Breakfast at £15.95 per head however, does not. Premier Inn do a very decent breakfast for about half this amount, although the price of their rooms in London is becoming almost laughable.

SUMMARY
A great place to stay if you're on a budget.

Room Tip: Don't worry about it, it's just a place to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bender_B_Rodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure-Bankside, Manager at Mercure London Bridge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and your concerns will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure London City Bankside very soon.
Kind regards,
Greg Stewart
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#282 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#233 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bridge

Property: Mercure London Bridge
Address: 75 - 79 Southwark Street, London SE1 0JA, England (Formerly Mercure London City Bankside)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in London
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Family Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,309 - ₹ 19,616
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure London Bridge is a flagship Mercure hotel located in the centre of London. Enjoy famous nearby attractions such as Borough Market and the Shard, whilst being surrounded by nearby shops and art galleries. On entering this charming hotel, you'll sense its unique atmosphere, making you feel at home. Every detail in the hotel has been carefully considered with your comfort in mind. Experience the hotel restaurant, Marco's New York Italian, courtesy of celebrity Chef Marco Pierre White. The hotel is suited for business hotel stays in London, as well as leisure stays, with 4 flexible meeting rooms for events or conferences for up to 60 people with AV equipment and a dedicated host. Enjoy internet access throughout the hotel. Mercure London Bridge is perfectly located for some London shopping, a cultured day out or some London sightseeing, being situated on Southwark Street, only 8 minutes from Borough Market and an 11 minute walk to London Bridge Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London City Bankside Hotel London
Accor London City Bankside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing