We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
422
200
52
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
200
52
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar four poster bed soho square roll top bath hotel cat boutique hotel breakfast in bed honor bar bacon sandwich mod cons tea tray well stocked mini bar wonderful hotel top floor breakfast is served covent garden bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank heavens I tried Hazlitt’s. I can't believe I've spent years coming to Soho and not ventured inside. In a world where hotels are increasingly about clean lines, bright lights, brash decoration, pumping music and loud art, it’s revitalising to be somewhere with uneven antique surfaces, gentle lighting, muted furnishings and historic art. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy contemporary art and architecture, I absolutely love it, but it’s becoming ubiquitous. It feels indulgent and cosy to be in the quiet bosom of this unique hotel, everything it offers is so rarely found in central London. And it does it well, there's nothing kitsch or forced about it. The staff are relaxed but have an easy courtesy about them, it's wonderfully peaceful, and the furnishings simply fit with the building, there’s no fashionable irony here. Having a quiet space where you can mix yourself an evening drink, is a luxurious oasis of calm in the endless social buzz of London. Despite being in the heart of Soho, no one judges what you’re wearing or tries to work out if you’re a guest worth sucking up to. It's refreshing.
And the room service breakfast was superb - I had the "Brick Lane" bagel with really excellent coffee. I didn’t expect it to be as good as it was and you’d struggle to get better on the streets of Soho, so why not enjoy an extra half hour in bed with it? I can’t wait to find an excuse to return.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Devonianepicurean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Always my preferred hotel when in London and available. Somehow it doesn't feel like staying in a hotel so much as renting a room in a beautiful historic building. I am never really aware of any other guests and staff or always very discreet. We just love it here.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinTafft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

A gem of a hotel in the heart of Soho. Great attention to detail, super comfortable and elegant rooms and wonderful staff.Well stocked mini bar for the late night munchies.Can't praise it enough. Sets the benchmark for other boutique hotels.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Nearly good but not quite. I should have realised from staying before in sister hotel The Rookery that there is no dining room nor staffed bar. You can get in-room breakfast or room service but the lack of anything going on in the ground floor make it a bit atmosphereless. However there's atmosphere outside in Soho in spades I guess. The thing that lets it down is the fixtures and fittings. The public areas nicely done olde worlde style. But the bedrooms have cheap or industrial type fittings like the a/c control, large ceiling vents and double glazing panels. The carpet was old, worn and really pretty dirty. The large shower head looked promising but only about 1/3rd of it actually produced water. The salmon pink wallcolour depressing. This could have been a stunning quirky room if done better. Shame. Oh and guys - it's just nice if you could help your guests with multiple luggage into the taxi instead of leaving them to fend for themselves.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fine_Whining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Great place to stay, very different from your modern type hotel. Very individual, very clean, fresh rooms with very comfortable bed and huge bath! Breakfast is in bed literally but well worth it, we ordered two different breakfasts and shared which worked well for us. Staff were all very helpful and could not do enough for us. Honestly bar is well stocked and there was free chocolate cake, lemonade and coffee on arrival. A stone through from Aladdin and Harry Potter shows and 5 min walk to Oxford St shops so great location for us, reasonable price for location and quirkiness would definitely stay again x

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews