We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Hazlitt's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hazlitt's
Ranked #234 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. The location is perfect in the middle of Soho. The rooms are interesting, comfortable and exciting. Breakfast is served in your room is ok. I gladly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedenNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

461 - 465 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife booked Hazlitts with tickets for a show and a jazz lunch at Ronnie Scotts for my Christmas present. We had stayed at Hazlitts previously and had loved it so I was very impressed with her choice.
Hazlitts is in an almost perfect location in Soho. Just far enough from too much noise but close enough to be within walking distance of the theatres of the west end and all the buzz of central London. If you like Ronnie Scotts the hotel is in the ideal location, maybe a one minute walk away.
The hotel is full of charm and character. The decoration is very tasteful with chandiliers and antique furniture throughout. We stayed in a club room the Mary Barker. This was situated in the depths of the hotel but was very private. There was very little natural light but it was perfect for a romantic get away. There was a short entrance hallway which lead to the main room which had a fireplace and antique bed and furniture. The bathroom had traditional furniture and a roll top bath with a shower over. The hallway had a low ceiling and the floors weren't level but this just added to the character of the place.
The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but they serve breakfast in your room. We had the bacon sandwiches which were a little expensive but very nice.
If you want a modern hotel with perfect walls and floors don't book Hazlitts. If you want a romantic hotel full of warmth and character Hazlitts is perfect! Put it this way we loved it so much we have already booked again for April!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexycoupleWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is now a Mr & Mrs Smith hotel which bodes well. The description is of a "quirky" hotel in Soho, which it certainly is. It has it's charming side but the staff are not particularly friendly which is odd in this sort of hotel. Our very small room was unbearably hot; there was a leak in the bathroom from upstairs and the bed was rock hard. Not features you expect from a £284 per night room. And if ours was a Superior room, I'd hate to see a Standard room.
The location, however, is great but someone needs to add a bit of training and positive attitude to the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fritzie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The location of Hazlitt´s is perfect, neighbourhood is peaceful and quiet and yet you are near the centre. The hotel is very charming, full of antique paintings, furnitures etc.
Every room is personal and has own name, we have never visited this kind of hotel even though we have travelled round the world.
The breakfast service was something special and the price was moderate.
We can recommend Hazlitt´s to all those who will have an exeptional experience.

Room Tip: Check it before, the personnel will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

If Hazlitt's were a drink, it would be a well aged scotch. Created many years ago and taken care of by the owners to preserve it's character, this hotel makes you feel warm and welcome. I've stayed here probably three times and each time experienced a different room. Each room is unique, preserved or remodeled to enhance the stone, brick, wood and fabrics of a time past. It's character that makes a place real, and memorable. And Hazlitt's is real.

If you go, order the porage. It sounds a bit pedestrian but trust me it's a great way to start the day. The sausage and bacon can wait until tomorrow.

Room Tip: Frith street can have some late nights and crowds walking by. If you are a light sleeper, get a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#39 of 1,077 in London
2,331 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
Mimis Hotel Soho
#585 of 1,077 in London
191 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#367 of 1,077 in London
1,706 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazlitt's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazlitt's

Address: 6 Frith Street | Soho Square, London W1D 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#146 Romantic Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#283 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 17,059 - ₹ 49,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlitt's 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazlitt's occupies a group of historic Georgian houses in Frith Street, off Soho Square. In 1718 there were no modern conveniences, but we have updated the plumbing, installed bathrooms and replaced most of the candles with electricity.At Hazlitt’s our philosophy is simple. We have set out to create the kind of accommodation we ourselves would love to find in the heart of one of the World’s great cities. Civilised surroundings; old fashioned hospitality; friendly efficient service; a location away from the roar of traffic, but within a very short walk of the most important attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hazlitt's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlitt`s Hotel London
Hazlitts Hotel London
Hazlitts London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing