We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-bedroom apartment: Not great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Ranked #123 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3-bedroom apartment: Not great value”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I first stayed at Collingham Apartments in 2000 and thought it was charming. Thing is, it is not really moving with the times. Each time I return, I feel as though Tony Blair has just become PM and that the Sydney Olympics are just around the corner. While it is comfortable and in a convenient location, I will probably look elsewhere when needing an apartment in London in future.
Why? Well, firstly it is quite expensive for what you get. Our family took a three bedroom apartment for one week at a bit over £500 a night. I think it is about 30 per cent above a fair price. You expect top-notch amenity for the tariff - but get a standard of fit-out below that.
The floors are so creaky. If you have a jet-lagged family in the room above, it is possible that you won't get any sleep at all - because of the 3am footsteps, bathroom visits, television, conversations etc filtering through. Not their fault, mind you. That's what happens in hotels and short-let apartments in international cities.
The kitchen is fine. No dishwasher (except me) but an efficient clothes washing machine (supported by airing cupboards in the bedrooms). The kitchen is a pretty squeezy size - but reasonably well equipped. Had to buy own washing powder.
The bathrooms work, but the hot water pressure is a bit up and down - and there's not really anywhere to put things.
There was a portable air conditioner taking up a fair bit of room the our sitting room - looking a bit like a prop from "Dr Who". We didn't need it, as it was a chilly Spring week.
I suppose the thing that opened my eyes to the shortcomings here is the standard of amenity in apartments in other international cities like Paris and Sydney. That is not to knock genuine heritage design and architecture. Rather, a plea for functional modernity.
This area of London has always been a bit devoid of local colour. Sure, there are museums and Waitrose and Sainsbury supermarkets close by on Cromwell Road. But, it is a place where people visit and transact, rather than live. That said, there is a good little wine bar nearby in Earl's Court, the Kings Head.
There are, however, many benefits of staying here. An efficient and helpful front desk - who value your custom. A lovely aspect overlooking Collingham Gardens. The cleaners do a fine job each day and keep the towels and facilities in good shape. The fact you can get three bedrooms together - a reasonably rare thing in London. I guess that's why there is a premium tariff.
Oh, and the newspaper provided to all rooms is the "Daily Mail" - so visitors to the UK get a pretty scary take on British society and politics. "The Times" would be a better fit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TranquilSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Visitors from Sydney,
All feedback is gratefully received and used to both evaluate and improve upon the service we provide to all of our guests.
We were all glad to read that you were happy with our Service as we do try our best to please.
As we offer 6 days Maid Service and 24 hour Reception and we feel we offer good value too. Most of our guests return time after time and view The Collingham as their 'London Residence'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    293
    56
    14
    10
See reviews for
576
187
44
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed in the Studio room for 7 days last week of April, and it wasn't good.

We picked this hotel because of other great reviews here. It is suppose
to be quiet and spacious, but the Studio room is small and not quiet.
The bathroom is small, it is about 35 sq feet, the studio room
is in the basement and has 7 feet ceiling. Every other day we
were woke by people walking above us, and one time we were up
because the neighbor next door talking at 1am, there is a hallway
between the rooms, the sound insulation is just bad. Oh.. there is
a walk-in closet between the bathroom and the other room, it is very
narrow, and the people next door keep trying to open it... First couple
times it scared my wife since she was changing in there.

We were so disappointed because we expected a lot better.
We tried to change room couple times during the stay, but both time
we were told the place is booked solid, so we stuck in Studio for
the whole stay. After my visit, I re-read all the negative review here,
most of them are regard to the Studio Room, I guess I should had done
my homework better.

The area is great, but I could stay in other 4 star hotels closer to Gloucester
tube station for my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for Studio room pictures before booking. It doesn't look anything like the pictures posted h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,
I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience at The Collingham, we greatly value hearing all our guest’s feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your liking.
We only have one Studio Apartment in the building. Sleeping one or two, the Studio Apartment located on the lower ground with a king size or twin beds. It has a combined living area and bedroom and a kitchenette (not full kitchen), shower room, courtyard with table and chairs, walk-in wardrobe. We are happy to provide current photos upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A very big thank you to everyone at Collingham Apartments especially to Beverly for your kindness during our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place; we were there for family reasons and not a holiday.
The apartments are located in a fantastic position near two tube stations and there were lots of local amenities close by. They were clean, comfortable and just what we needed - a home away from home.
Thank you
Russ and Cathy B - Dubai

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RusscathyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Visitors from Dubai,
Tripadvisor members have Voted Collingham Serviced Apartments 6th Best Hotel in the United Kingdom for families!
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Collingham Serviced Apartments, South Kensington. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay in one of our newly renovated apartments. I am also very pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to Collingham Serviced Apartments in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Collingham Serviced Apartments for just over a week and it was a very pleasant stay. We had a one bedroom apartment and although it was bit bit tired in it's decoration it was comfortable, clean and well serviced. It did not, however, look like the picture (modern, lots of glass) associated on the tripadvisor profile. It is in a Victorian Building with lots of character on a quite street. It is located between Gloucester Road and Earl's Court tube stations and Kensington High Street and Hyde Park and easy walk away. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a nice time visiting London. It is a great City and we are lucky to be in a fashionable and affluent area with easy access for sightseeing and shopping. We value your comments, and hope to have the chance to welcome you back. The photos on our website accurately depict Collingham Serviced Apartments, also the professional photographs on Trip Advisor. This is a selection of rooms including the Penthouses. We have a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Penthouse and a 3 bedroom Penthouse Apartment. We are very proud to be in a beautiful 1885 London Townhouse.
Tripadvisor members have Voted Collingham Serviced Apartments 6th Best Hotel in the United Kingdom for families!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Excellent place to stayfor a comfortable & relaxing holiday. It has many good restaurants nearby and also near train station. Wouls come back again :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reservations5, General Manager at Collingham Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Visitors from The Netherlands,
What a Lovely Review of Collingham. We are happy that you had a nice time in London, and particularly that you enjoyed your stay here.
Collingham Apartments are a 4 star rated property, with Porter available 24 hours and a concierge. We offer .6 days per week Maid Service .Towels changed Daily, Linen twice weekly. Fine Dining Delivery service. Complimentary Newspapers/Glossy Magazines. Washer/Dryers. Flat Screen TV. DVD Player and comprehensive Film Library. Dry Cleaning Service. Available to assist with Airport Transfers. Car Rental/.Tours/Theatre tickets. Nearby parking. nearby gyms. and cinema. close to Knightsbridge and King's Road, Chelsea.
3 mins from Gloucester Road underground and supermarkets/shops/restaurants. This area of South Kensington is a leafy, Fashionable, Desirable location.
We are happy to arrange Airport Transfers and can advise on the cost, and will be able to book your fast track tours and theatre packages.
Tripadvisor members have Voted Collingham Serviced Apartments 6th Best Hotel in the United Kingdom for families!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#58 of 1,069 in London
3,733 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#164 of 1,069 in London
809 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
#144 of 1,069 in London
371 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#141 of 1,069 in London
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collingham Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collingham Serviced Apartments

Property: Collingham Serviced Apartments
Address: 26-27 Collingham Gardens, London SW5 0HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in London
#48 Family Hotel in London
#105 Luxury Hotel in London
#159 Romantic Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,899 - ₹ 26,150
Hotel Class:4 star — Collingham Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collingham is situated in fashionable South Kensington, within easy walking distance of Gloucester Road, South Kensington and Earls Court underground stations. Close to the superb shopping areas of Knightsbridge and Chelsea's Kings Road. All apartments are fully furnished to a high standard. All apartments (except for the studio) have a sofa bed which is suitable for sleeping 1 additional adult or 2 children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Collingham Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingham Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Collingham Apartments London
Collingham Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing