We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming London”
other travellers have booked this property
John Street in Bloomsbury, London, WC1. Smart area which bustles in the day and falls quiet at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
John Street in Bloomsbury, London, WC1. Smart area which bustles in the day and falls quiet at night
Kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, cafetiere and toaster. Living room with satellite TV (with sports channels) and good foldaway bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
John Street in Bloomsbury, London, WC1. Smart area which bustles in the day and falls quiet at night
Kitchen with washing machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, cafetiere and toaster.
Living room with satellite TV (with sports channels) and good foldaway bed.
Living room leads into the kitchen. This is a light and airy apartment with big windows.
Master bedroom with king-size double bed (5'6' wide), single bed, wardrobe, hairdryer and mirror.
Master bedroom with wardrobe and lovely big mirror. Hairdryer in the chest of drawers.
Second bedroom has 2 single beds. Blackout blinds block out the early morning sun.
Second bedroom has two single beds and handsome Victoria chest of drawers.
Good-sized bathroom with hot, powerful shower in separate cubicle.
Bathroom with bath, shower, basin with mirror, heated towel rail and underfloor heating.
Hallway on ground floor which is shared with our company's office. Owners are on site each weekday.
Door to building. Built in the 1740s, we have retained many of the building's original features.
View from the living room to the street below.
View from window of 2nd bedroom showing Telecom Tower. Apt is not overlooked so light streams in.
Russell Square - 6 mins walk. Grab a cappuccino at the Italian cafe and watch the world go by.
The Walks in Grays Inn at the end of John St. Open to the public from 12.30-2pm each day.
Tower Bridge, next to the Tower of London. You can go inside those towers or just admire from afar.
See the Crown Jewels at Tower of London . 6 tube stops from local station. Or 1 hr walk
British Museum - 7 minutes walk. Entry is free.
National Gallery in Trafalgar Square - 40 minutes stroll through theatreland. Free entry to gallery.
St Pauls Cathedral - 20 minutes walk east of John Street. A must-see, even if you don't go inside.
Another London skyscraper, the Gherkin, sits next to the church St Andrew Undershaft built in 1534.
London is famous for its vibrant theatreland. Catch a play or a musical and have a night on the town
Victoria & Albert Museum is free to visit. Wonderful collection of costume and design.
Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament in Westminster are 6 stops on the tube or a 45 minute walk.
John Street, Bloomsbury - 2 February 2009. It doesn't snow heavily like this in London very often.
River Thames is due south of John Street. Take a boat trip to Greenwich or walk along the South Bank
Russell Square, Bloomsbury -  February 2009
Buckingham Palace - 50 min walk or 10 minutes on tube from Russell Square Station - 7 mins walk
Bloomsbury is 20 minute walk to the financial district the City. This skyscraper is The Cheesegrater
John Street is 20 minutes walk from St Pancras International where the trains from Paris arrive.
Royal Academy art gallery on Piccadilly. Take a short trip on the 19 or 38 bus.
Westminster Abbey is across Parliament Square from Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament.
The Banqueting Hall on Whitehall. Scene of grisly execution of King Charles I.
Hyde Park (6 stops from Russell Square tube) has the Serpentine boating lake and lots to see and do.
Tate Modern Art Gallery has a wonderful free viewing tower looking out over River Thames.
Millennium Bridge connects St Pauls with the South Bank. Pedestrian only with great views.
The handsome streets around Bloomsbury  attract people who like classic buildings and cars to match.
Enjoy a night out at the theatre! Plays and musicals in London's Theatreland is just 15 minutes walk
Sunset over the West End of London - a view from the second bedroom at dusk.
St Pancras International Station is 20 mins walk. Take a train to Paris, Lille, Brussels, Amsterdam
If you want to see London in the snow, your best bet is to visit in January or February.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rem868
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming London”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for a week with my husband and 2 children (11 and 9 years). Very good booking and information supplied - was reassuring that everything would be as expected. Arrived from Heathrow, took train and then instructions for walking from station (a bit of a distance for the kids with their cases). As apartment is above an office, able to arrive during business hours and get sorted easily. A bit of a haul up the stairs with our cases, but no major problem. Great kitchen and dining area, and spacious/airy lounge and master bedroom. Didn't really spend a lot of time in, as we had a busy schedule, but was nice when we were there. Close enough to good tube lines, and small shopping centre for supplies. Walking distance to British Museum, which was handy for an early morning tour departure. Also a short cab ride (which we hailed in the street outside) to St Pancras station, to catch the Eurostar.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely big rooms
Liked least: Packing up when it was time to go!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank You for writing about your stay in London. Hope you will return some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large, central and fabulous.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with two other friends in this large apartment. It had everything we needed for a weeks stay in London. The kitchen was very well equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: Some problems with our emails coming through on wifi but we worked around it.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment in John Street. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everythng! - location, size - spacious, well apointed - it had everything we needed
Liked least: we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space, value, professionalism of owners
Liked least: Very little
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Feb 2013
We realise that the stairs can be a shock if you are used to lifts/elevators and 21st century lateral living. We offer you part of a 200 year old house with unique character and beauty in a historic street in London. We feel this would be compromised by putting in an elevator/lift (and we'd never get planning permission as this lovely building is grade 2 listed and protected by some pretty stiff laws). We make it very clear on our descriptions that this apartment is not suitable if you have difficulty with stairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and cleanliness of the apartment
Liked least: Perhaps the bathroom was showing its age a bit
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 278
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing