We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good price/quality, one of the hotel rooms is quite romantic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #125 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good price/quality, one of the hotel rooms is quite romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We are still looking for a descent hotel in London centre.
Were tempted by the Room at the Top description on the Hotel internet site. Good marketing as they do not let You book this room (it is the only one of a kind) and make You call them directly. So
the Room at the Top was as we imagined on the top floor, and it is the only one on this floor so you do not hear any neighbours, it is tiny (as any other room with the Hotel as I guess), has a lot of strange windows, AC, TV, bathroom with separate tub (also tiny) and a good sized (twice the room) terrace and that was fantastic!!! Would definitely recommend for they also have full size real king beds with terrific silk- feeling linen.
For breakfast do not know - we did not use
The staff are very good and definitely non intrusive but help You with everything You need. We arrived at about midnight with several suit cases and they helped us with all the luggage to the room and provided hot tea (not all 5 star in London do such)
Some good restaurants are near - I would recommend Patara (thay) - 10 meters from the Hotel) Mare (french with excellent life seafood choice - 200 metres direction centre). We also saw Mr. Ramsay every day for there is a restaurant (called carpaccio) being renovated and this might be anothr ggod reason to stop at The Sydney Hotel in a couple of months
The reason I vote it very good is that we like ants but not in the room and something should be done to the bath tub smell, though it is not so strong, yet
Still we would definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vol-de-Mar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the Sydney House. We appreciate your feedback enormously. It is essential in our efforts to ensure smooth running of the hotel and full customer satisfaction. I am glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and found the hotel to liking and so welcoming and staff hospitable.

However, I would like to comment on the few issues you have raised.

The room terrace adjacent to your room is as you could see full of various plants. This year has been unusually dry and with very little rain fall. This fact alone has contrbuted to the appearance of small garden ants on our terrace. Some of them have, unfortunatelly strayed into your room. We have taken all necesary steps needed to rectify the problem, called in our pest control contractors and I can confirm now that the problem has now been solved.

Since your departure last weekend all the bathroom waste fittings have been removed and replaced. We had no subsequent complaints or remarks.

Once again we are grateful for your comments and look forward to welcoming you to the Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    131
    32
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
171
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently for 2 nights and really loved the hotel - lovely friendly staff, beautiful deisign/interior/furnishings, amazingly comfortable beds with great linen, exceptional cleanliness, free internet, fantastic location.

Was allocated a room on the 3rd floor facing the back area therefore no street noise at all. Room was small but have stayed in smaller rooms in London hotels. Very clean room and bathroom.

However, the only down side which I am very sorry to have to comment on is the noise between the rooms - could hear ALL activities going on in the room above, as well as talking/sneezing/coughing, etc of guests in rooms next door. When people are in the corridor talking it seems as though the room door is open. This is a real shame as other than this the hotel is perfect!

If the possible interuptions at night are not a concern to you then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Pros: The location is great. 5 minutes from South Kensington Tube station. Lovely area in Kensington-Chelsea. Friendly, helpful but non-intrusive staff. No teamaking facilities but they offered to put a kettle in my room for hot water. Very clean. Very comfortable bed and linen. Home-like sitting room at lobby, with travel books and restuarant guides. Really feels at home. Free Wi-fi.
Room very small but for a solo traveler who likes to feel cosy, it is just fine.
It is a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, not facing Sydney St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a quick 2 nights, left to Paris and then came back for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful throughout, and kept our bags while we were away. The room was comfortable, albeit a touch tight for 2 girls and all of their "stuff". the bathroom was clean and the shower was heavenly after a full day out and about. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_heart_Paris_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We use to come on this lovely hotel.it is close to everything:tube station,Weitrose ,Waitrose,Patara My beloved Butler&Wilson.Chelsea is the most beautiful aerea of London.amazing breakfast and friendly staff.kids are welcome.the white company toiletries.wooden floor....go there you will be satisfied!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyvalery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#416 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#101 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#30 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#158 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#37 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham Hotel
The Pelham Hotel
#161 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,151 - ₹ 28,432
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing