We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basically a Dormitory Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #598 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Basically a Dormitory Room”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

You'll feel young again and like you're back in university, because unless you are very lucky this will be the smallest room you have ever been in. It is a college dorm room- not a 4 star experience by ANY stretch of the imagination.

One must turn sideways to walk between the bed and the wall. The hotel itself is a rabbit warren of endless hallways. We saw a few people taking pics of their tiny rooms for the sheer novelty value. Perhaps they are submitting them to the Guinness Book of Records people?

Positive reviews of this hotel deny all logic. They must have been from the very few who had normal sized rooms. Stairs leading to these postage stamp sized rooms also present a big problem for hauling luggage. My Partner fell down a flight of said stairs leading to our room, vowing never to return.

On the positive side- we did see Pippa Middleton shopping at the Waitrose across the street, so the location is good. (However I do believe our room was likely the size of Pippa's loo.)

Be forewarned! There are much better choices in the area. There was a Crowne Plaza and a Holiday Inn near by.

Room Tip: Lose weight and luggage before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiltboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always welcome feedback - both positive and negative and use it as a tool to improve our service and facilities.

I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations regarding our room size but some of our rooms are smaller due to the design and layout of the property. Unfortunately most London hotels face this problem.

I do hope you would consider staying with us again. Should you decide to visit, please contact the hotel direct and we will make sure that you get a complimentary upgrade.

Kind Regards
Nicki Ristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    541
    280
    142
    73
See reviews for
168
606
84
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We got a free upgrade to the garden room, which was lovely. The room was nice, but it was freezing cold, as the aircon turned off every time we left the room. It also lacked mini bar and a minimum of bathroom amenities. The room was VERY clean.

Some of the staff were very service minded, whilst others not (i.e. We were told to wait 15 minutes to check in because they were too few persons working at check in time, we had to wait 10 minutes to get breakfast served the last day, even though we came at opening hours). The breakfast room was a little claustrophobic and the breakfast options were few and boring.

The location of the hotel is great. If going back to London on a travel budget, I'll definitively stay in the area of the hotel again and will consider staying at the Cromwell.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to read that you will consider staying with again. I apologize on behalf of the team for the wait on arrival and in the breakfast room. The hotel has been extremely busy, which is good for us however this is not an excuse for poor service.

Our Breakfast Room is due to be refurbished shortly and these plans are currently being finalised. Your comments regarding the variety of items has been past onto the breakfast chef to review.

With regards to heating/air conditioning in the bedroom, please leave the key card in the slot on leaving the room. This will ensure the temperature is kept to the set requirement and on your return the bedroom will be to your comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Take care,
Nicki Ristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed at Best Western The Cromwell for a weekend in mid april 2012. I got a spacious room, with great bathroom. The hotel seemed well maintained and it was clean. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

This hotel is arpox 100 meters from the Gloucester station on the Piccadilly line. This line takes you to the Piccadilly cirkus and to the Heathrow airport. I had a perfect stay here and will not hasitate coming back. Nearby the hotel there you will find both traditional English pubs and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your stay with us. It is really nice to receive feedback from our guests and I will pass this on to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location is great... Plenty of restuarants within a couple of minutes walk and tube station literally across the street. Rooms are very clean and very functional which is fine by me because I only need a place to sleep. The staff was very helpful anytime we needed anything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing report of the Hotel. It is very motivational for the team and I to see such positive comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicki Ristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night with our twelve year old grandson and our room was very clean and the reception staff, friendly and helpful. Our room was in the basement and as an extra bed had been made out of a settee for our grandson we found the room rather cramped, having to squeeze between his bed and ours to get into bed. During the night we could hear walking up and down in reception above us and whistling and talking at around 2am. Despite the ideal location for the Natural History Museum which we visited the hotel was only average. We could not use the free internet access as there was no way of connecting due to being in the basement.

Room Tip: I would have preferred to use the Holiday Inn next door but they were unable to provide a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilymary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#362 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#417 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#488 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Property: Best Western The Cromwell
Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,462 - ₹ 16,254
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing