We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
Ranked #597 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location is great... Plenty of restuarants within a couple of minutes walk and tube station literally across the street. Rooms are very clean and very functional which is fine by me because I only need a place to sleep. The staff was very helpful anytime we needed anything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing report of the Hotel. It is very motivational for the team and I to see such positive comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicki Ristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    532
    275
    140
    72
See reviews for
166
598
84
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night with our twelve year old grandson and our room was very clean and the reception staff, friendly and helpful. Our room was in the basement and as an extra bed had been made out of a settee for our grandson we found the room rather cramped, having to squeeze between his bed and ours to get into bed. During the night we could hear walking up and down in reception above us and whistling and talking at around 2am. Despite the ideal location for the Natural History Museum which we visited the hotel was only average. We could not use the free internet access as there was no way of connecting due to being in the basement.

Room Tip: I would have preferred to use the Holiday Inn next door but they were unable to provide a family roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilymary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresh Meadows, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

None of the rooms have safety bars in the showers (no tubs). Some of the rooms are accessible at the top of a stairway with the door right at the top leaving the client reaching up to push open the door while holding luggage. Very limited bellhop service; slow small elevator. Climate controls did not seem to alter conditions in the rooms. Only breakfast is served in the "dining room", it is quite adequate in spite of filler tasting sausages. Chef Eric prepares excellent fried eggs on request, they are a better choice than the buffet table scrambled. The dining room staff are friendly and attentive; the desk staff vary in manners. Many of the staff have limited English ability, knowing another language helps. The building entrance has steep steps without a bannister, and they are slippery when wet. Clearly not a recommended hotel for older guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karamelized1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always strive to exceed customer expectations and I am sorry that we let you down on this occasion.

Due to the layout of the hotel, our rooms do vary in size and location. There are a small number of bedrooms that are located "in between floors", however a Hotel Porter is on duty 24 hours to assist with luggage and to provide any assistance needed. Access to the hotel is via a few steep steps. This is an area we are looking into and hopefully we will be able to improve the access to the hotel.

I am glad Eric and the breakfast team looked after you in the early mornings. Having a good breakfast always helps the day start on a good note!

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments. I do hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Recently spent 10 days at this hotel and only continued staying there because the booking was prepaid through a 3rd party - it would have been a real hassle changing accommodation. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in during my global travels - the bathroom was poor and the toilet cracked. The shower (over the bath) did not reach garden hose strength and the bath was not adequate for a 6 footbtall man. The sheets had evidence of historic stains and remained unchanged for a number of days and did I mention how small the room was!!!!! This was a single room masquerading as a double because it had a double bed - there was no room for the luggage, so we were required to pack up our clothes every day. And we could only access three TV channels which were all news channels, and noone gave me a satisfactory explanation why i could not access the 12 channels indicated in the Room booklet. Housekeeping was generally poor and primarily consisted of making the bed. On the positive side the staff were generally ok with good service from Martina at breakfast, which was also generally good. Proximity to Gloucester Road Tube Station was a redeeming feature.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RonandLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. I am especially concerned that you found the housekeeping standard poor. We take extra care in ensuring the cleanliness of our rooms and public areas. For long stay guests, bed linen is changed every third day unless requested more frequently. All bedrooms are fully cleaned daily unless a Do Not Disturb Sign is placed on the door.

Unfortunately due to the digital change over, we did experience problems with our televisions. This matter has now been resolved.

I would like to apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay with us. I do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneseo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent 6 nights there in March and enjoyed our stay. The staff was SUPER FRIENDLY and very accomodating. The hotel was in a terrific location, seconds from the Tube, a grocery store, Starbucks and plenty of breakfast options right on the street. One thing i wouldnt do-stay on the bottom floor-its noisy and smells like toast due tothe breakfast room being on the same level. If you are looking for value, service and location while you travel to London-this is your place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crown929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

What can we say! The team and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your comments with regards to the Breakfast Room. The Breakfast Room is scheduled for refurbished later on this year, and all comments both positive and negative can be taken into account when making the final decisions.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#373 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#410 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#345 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Property: BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #597 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,465 - ₹ 14,938
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing