We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy for the tube but not for the larger guest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #600 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Handy for the tube but not for the larger guest!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed for two nights in March, chosen for proximity to the tube. Ideal for theatre visits and a good base for most London "attractions". Good service and facilities but the room was tiny, had to shuffle sideways around the bed and really pleased that we hadn't brought a cat to swing!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlook an inner garden area but ask about size; standard may mean "tiny and cramp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_thetallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreLondon_England, Deputy General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Mike
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We always welcome all feedback and use them to improve our service.
I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations regarding our room size but some of our rooms are smaller due to the design and layout of the property.
On your next visit please contact the hotel direct and we will make sure that you get a room in a different part of the building.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    539
    280
    141
    72
See reviews for
167
605
84
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 8 days from March 15 to 22 and fully enjoyed my stay. I wish I could stay even more. Staff is very polite, friendly and helpful, hotel rooms are very clean, tidy, accurate, nice and comfortable. The location is just great. Tube station is so close to the hotel. Hyde park, High street Kensington, famous museums, all famous shops, very nice cafes and markets, Boots drugstore are all around, extremely close to the hotel. you don't need to go far for anything. Everything is just next to the hotel. So helpful for a tourist who comes to London for the first time. Most famous sightseeing places are very close to this hotel and for most of them you can just walk for 10 minutes and you will be right there. I didn't have any problem with anything because this hotel was just amazing with perfect location. Very safe location indeed. You can walk around your hotel late in the evening and noone would ever bother you. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I personally will stay there during my next trip. The prices are not that cheap but it is worth paying that money. You won't repent :)

Room Tip: I prefer the room on the first floor. Close to reception and exit :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreLondon_England, Deputy General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Gunel
What a delight to read your comments about our hotel!
Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and use them to improve our service even more!
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any future reservations. Our team will be happy to assist!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I will always remember my stay here at The Cromwell hotel and cherish the memories. Stayed here for 2 weeks because my flat was under construction. Staff were very helpful and accommodated well most of requests (I am very Demanding and was in a lot of stress due to the delay in my flat getting done). Thank you all

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_rashid06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreLondon_England, Deputy General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear Mr Rashid
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and our staff. It was only a pleasure to look after you and to have you in our hotel.
Our staff are thrilled about your comments and about the way you treated them whilst staying with us!
We do hope to see you back soon! It is always a pleasure having guests like you staying with us!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had a few nights there on business and while it was perfectly functional and good for the tube (Gloucester Rd just around the corner), it was drab, uninspiring and not without the odd issue - the shower was more like a garden sprinker, the "on offer" wine was corked, the checkout process was interminable. But the wifi worked, everything was clean, and breakfast was absolutely fine. All the staff were great too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that we met your expectations with regards to the breakfast and cleanliness.

I am pleased to advise that we do have plans in place to upgrade our public areas later this year. This will have a positive impact on the hotel and for our guest staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Nicki Ristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

find it strange why anyone would say anything negative about this hotel. the staff were all
first class, the hotel was spotless, we stayed in room 410 on the top floor which is no
problem with the lift. the room is an average size but tastefully decorated and the bathroom
was sparkling clean. breakfast was superb, the hotel is situated a few yards from the tube
station and the museums are a 7 minute walk away. will definately be staying here again.
many thanks to all the staff, you are a credit to the hotel industry

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for your glowing report of the Hotel. It is very motivational for the team and I to see such positive comments.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards,
Nicki Ristow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#363 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#415 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#493 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Property: Best Western The Cromwell
Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,758 - ₹ 16,337
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing