We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, just a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Ranked #500 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The hotel itself is very lovely and in a very convenient location -- although it's worth noting that the area directly around Gloucester Road station has gone downhill, fast. The lobby is beautiful and well-appointed. The lifts are fast, but useless -- all but one time when we boarded we were taken past our floor and had to ride all the way to the top, and then ride all the way back down, stopping at every other floor, to collect more passengers. The door sensors need to be checked as the lift doors slammed shut on me one time even though we'd only just arrived at ground floor level and were still in the process of getting off. The room was well-appointed although they've opted to lock-down TVs so all you can do is look at a few TV channels (very annoying). The hotel has a chronic problem with their use of slider-doors in lieu of real doors in the bathroom. Having stayed here in the past and dealt with a noise-issue related to them, I was disappointed to then experience the problem of the door falling off the rail and not being able to shut properly. When we called through to have this replaced, first Concierge was rude to us, and then when maintenance came to complete it, they were rude to us as well! The door was ultimately fixed. We noted with frustration that the cleaners had been to our room but had only added a bottle of water to the room, and did nothing else -- they did not clean, tidy, empty the bins, refresh anything at all -- so we had to track down a cleaner and ask for more supplies for the room. Overall it was a real let-down from our previous stay which we rated as 'Excellent'. I can't say it was Average in terms of all hotels, but for an IHG property, this was a real let down, and management should be aware as we were treated poorly by your staff on a number of occasions. The lifts need to be looked at/sorted, and a refurbishment to remove the ridiculous bathroom doors should be a top priority.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank londongal796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Claude M, Manager at Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

However I would like to apologise for any shortcomings you had experienced whilst staying with us. We do thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we will most certainly address this issue.

Please be assured that this is not indicative of our usual standards and we do hope you will return to visit us again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 4,297 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

To those of you who regularly visit London I suppose a 12.5% service charge is no surprise but it was a shock to me, up from the country, to find myself paying £9.01 when I walked up to the lounge bar and bought a pint and a half of (lousy) lager. Shocked at the price I asked the barman for a receipt (I thought he was defrauding me) only to find that a service charge of £1.01 had been added to the actual price of £8.05. Broken down, it was £5.25 for the pint and £2.80 for the half meaning that on the half I had been charged the equivalent of £5.60 per pint for not bordering a full one. That's an increase of 6.6% for nothing!
On top of that rip off I was charged another £1.01 for his "service" which took about 90 seconds to complete, including taking my money!
incidentally, the small writing on the table menu describes this as a discretionary service charge but does not make it clear that the discretion is at the behest of the hotel and not with the customer.
Other than that the hotel was very good and served an excellent breakfast.
But if you order anything in the bar (food included) be ready for that 12.5% extra for service plus another 7% if you just want to drink in moderation.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank exkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Claude M, Manager at Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we will address this issue with our Food and Beverage Director.

We hope you will visit us again very soon.

Kind Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Ok hotel but a bit overpriced - even by London standards. Facilities pretty standard but with adjoining pub (which wasn’t that inviting so didn’t use).

1000 airline staff staying (according to one pilot) which made everything a bit busy / noisy, but not sure if that’s normal.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Claude M, Manager at Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Stephen M

Thank you for submitting a review of our Hotel, we do value your feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Excellent for Hyde park, short walk to Kensington gardens and tube just round corner (Gloucester road). Good check in and room ready on morning. Great views as there are 27 floors. Lifts very quick. Clean room and ideal size for one or two nights. Breakfast good value and plenty of space especially if dining early. Pub attached and bar and coffee shop on site. Gym also on site. Plenty of shops and restaurants near. Late check out was free as offered to join the holiday inn club which gave us another two hours for free. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Wi if was fine.

Room Tip: Floor 14 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paul155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Claude M, Manager at Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and we enjoyed reading all your positive comments.

Please come and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The Holiday Inn Kensington Forum facility is the nicest, most convenient, and well staffed Holiday Inn that I have ever stayed at in all my years of travel (and I am a Spire Elite member). It surpasses most of the Crowne Plazas that I have stayed at in virtually all aspects. I will ALWAYS stay at this Holiday Inn whenever I am back in London. It sets "the standard" for which all Holiday Inn properties should aspire. Also, easy access to a nearby Tube Station and wonderful restaurants and cafes within walking distance if you do not want to eat at the Hotel (which otherwise has a good restaurant and fantastic Pub).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean Claude M, Manager at Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience we are indeed flattered! We take great pride in offering extraordinary experiences to each and every one of our guests. With that said, thank you again for letting us know how we’re doing.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#339 of 1,081 in London
2,295 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,081 in London
3,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum

Address: 97 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: ₹ 8,555 - ₹ 14,971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum 4*
Number of rooms: 906
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect option for business or leisure the Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum sets the standard for hotels in Kensington. Stroll to Gloucester Road Tube Station, your gateway to the sights of the city. Enjoy the hotel s close proximity to Harrod's, the Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres, the Natural History, Science and V&A Museums and Kensington Palace. As the tallest Holiday Inn Hotel in Europe, our 27-floor and 906 bedroom hotel offers modern bedrooms with stunning views of London from our higher floors. The hotel also offers a choice of suites and accessible rooms (one with hoist). All rooms are equipped with high speed Internet and Wi-Fi connectivity is available in the public areas. The hotel's carpark has 76 spaces and there is a 24-hour fitness room. Holiday Inn Kensington Forum offers its guests a choice of three restaurant and bars whether you want to relax with dinner, grab a quick snack or enjoy a pint of traditional British beer. The Academy offers 13 meeting and event rooms for up to 300 people, all with natural daylight, high-speed Internet and unlimited Starbucks tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum Hotel London
Holiday Inn Kensington Forum
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing